We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good vacation spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dover, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good vacation spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

First time at Turtle Beach Resort and in Barbados. The resort is excellent in customer service, the premises are very well maintained and up to date, it is pleasantly laid back and quiet overall, rooms are spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view if you like the sound of the ocean. This also is further away from the evening en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    649
    191
    103
    53
See reviews for
717
787
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was one of the most expensive hotels I've ever stayed in, but certainly not one of the best. Great rooms though, beautiful beach, very relaxing experience... food was a little behind expectations, especially the breakfast, lunch was only okay, dinner very good on most days.

Unlike other reviewers we found the staff to be a mixed bag. Some very nice & attentive, others such as the front portal staff quite rude, some quite bored or unprofessional. And I am not really a difficult guest.

While having had a good time, I'd look for better value next time.

Room Tip: Try to avoid getting a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our second stay here, on all-inclusive basis, this time with our two daughters. Felt very welcome with efficient and friendly service from both restaurant and bar staff who seemed well-motivated and good fun. Good mix of themed evening meals and barbecues. Some v.g. mealtime entertainment, notably 'Fire and Ice' and lunchtime steel drummer.

At breakfast, the wild small birds - sparrows, blackbirds, and yellow-breasted ? chats - could be a pest as they are quite cheeky in drinking your fruit juice if you look away: recommend one of you stays on guard while the other one goes for the buffet food. Also good fun !

On the beach, Captain Sam and his great team made sure we were all safe and enjoyed the facilities. The family went on the resident Hobie cat(amaran). The team worked really hard to give the guests a chance to have a go as soon as the sea was less choppy. The girls took a jet ski with one of Sam's team to see, and snorkel with, the giant turtles offshore at Oistins.

The beach is very sandy and kept clean. Great place for a good walk along the beach past neighbouring resorts before breakfast, or at any time, for that matter. Plastic drink cups are frequently filled and collected quickly before they could possibly become a nuisance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The staff at Turtle Beach are excellent. Extremely helpful and friendly.A very relaxing holiday and all needs were quickly catered for. The food was great with plenty of choice. Bar staff were wonderful in particular Elizabeth. The 'Beach Boys' and Maradonna were very attentive and made our safety one of their main tasks. There is no doubt the management and staff at this resort are a true credit to Elegant Hotels. Especially Crystal and Julian. Thank you all from the Bartholomews.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at turtle beach for the first time and it was great. There was a variety of restaurants and virtually every single one of the staff was curteous and polite and very helpful. The room was fine, probably better to get two with two older kids , but it had a great view onto the pool and sea.
the bar staff and water front staff were all excellent , we never had to wait a long time .

We'd been to antigua twice before but the staff were definitely more helpful at turtle beach. We had a few problems with issues with the toilet but they came straight away even at 4 am !!!

So can't be faulted in terms of service really - great relaxing and pampered stay.

Sue and Keith and family

Room Tip: For teenage kids you really need two rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've stayed in a number of all inclusive resorts around the Caribbean, and found Turtle Beach up with the best. It was clean, friendly, and welcoming. It isn't for the young looking for a night life, but for the young at heart, who want to relax and enjoy the sun, with great food and good service then its ideal.
There is plenty to do if you want to be busy, with activities available, but if you want to watch the sea, then the beach is beautiful.
Good value for money, with good food and plenty of variety.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for a week in october 2012 and got a good deal £1200 all in with Virgin atlantic flights and private transfers.
Having recently been in the middle east in a luxury 5* hotel it was difficult not to compare the 2 experiences, however if you focus on the fact this is a 4* hotel then you won't be disappointed.
The hotel is not really 'all inclusive' as you might think, more like full board with free drinks because food was not available at all times during the day, which meant you had to eat at certain times. The drinks were always flowing though and the bar staff will make up any cocktail you want.
Start with the negatives; the room wasn't the cleanest we have stayed in and the large gap under the door meant we had a few 'unwanted guests' that appeared on several occasions. Although our room opened out straight on to the beach, it wasnt cleaned daily as you might expect, but rather every couple of days which i have never experienced before. So the bed wasnt made up, towels werent changed etc.
Then there was the birds....... if you are afraid of birds then you will not want to stay here. They dont bother us usually however it did get a bit too much at times. Because all the food is served al fresco, the birds join in. They are very brazen and will come to your table and pinch food, drink your water, leave droppings on the lids of the buffet food, and i even noticed one bird with its head in the porridge at the buffet breakfast!
I guess you just have to be on your guard and cover up your drinks, dont leave food unattended etc and you'll be ok.
Apart from that the standard of the food was good, with plenty of choice to cater for every pallet, the staff were friendly and heplful, the complimentary watersports were a nice touch.
The beach is beautiful at this hotel, although the sea is rough due to the location on the island. As there are no private beaches in Barbados, you should beware of sellers who approach you whilst sunbathing, we were even offered drugs by one man, and when we declined (i was 3 months pregnant at the time), the guy still persisted, which made us feel slightly uneasy.
Overall this is a 'good' not 'excellent' hotel but you should still give it a try and judge for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
7.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#3 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
0.7 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#8 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crystal Cove
Crystal Cove
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.