We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little touch of luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Barbados Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Barbados Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Barbados Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25%OFF + $50/daily credit
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little touch of luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Not one of your mega-sized Hiltons, the Barbados Resort is ideal for businesspeople and tourists alike. An upgrade to the executive floors is well worth the additional charge, and the breakfast-time views show a little touch of paradise - making every business traveler rather jealous of the holidaymakers that make up the gross majority of the hotel's residents.
Of course, the staff are both delightful and professional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    648
    200
    70
    33
See reviews for
433
777
78
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in October 12. We took a suite which had a living room for our two young kids. Overall the stay was terrific, with lots of positives and only a couple of very minor irritations, which didn't impact our overall enjoyment of the resort.

Positives
The biggest positive was the staff - everyone (and I mean everyone!) was friendly, approachable and without doubt the biggest asset of the hotel. Little did we realise until a few days into our trip that in fact nearly all Barbadian people are like this, but it's still a joy to be in such company.
A large, bright and very clean room.
Plenty of facilities for all guests, although itshould be noted that it was a quiet time of the year, so the hotel wasn't full.
The executive lounge was a nice place to spend some time and chill out from the heat of the day.
The food was OK, although not cheap.

Negative
The week-end breakfast buffet was completely overrun from 9am onwards. It's seemingly a regular spot for locals to go at the week-end and it meant that there were long queues at the egg station and supplies of juice were often running short. It wasn't a big deal for us as we usually ate earlier when it was quieter, but worth bearing in mind if you like to lie in.

Overall there was a lot to recommend this hotel and next time we are in Barbados, we'd absolutely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your detailed comments and I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed the facilities and services especially our suites. I look forward to welcoming you back to this beautiful island again. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of the top 3 locations to rent in Barbados. For the extra few $ stay on the executive floors. The paint is somehow more pleasing and the rooms slightly upgraded. What truly makes it worth it is free internet and access to the top floor executive lounge with included continental breakfast. The lounge is bright and airy overlooking the ocean and a great place to relax, surf the net or have a meeting.

Room Tip: Choose the executive floors - best view and lots of extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and it was our pleasure to have you with us on the beautiful island of Barbados once again. We look forward to having you back with us in the future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel in beautiful Barbados! The ocean in front of the hotel offers great swimming, and the beach area was a good size. The pools were also very nice and lots of room. At least when we were there this past week the pool area never seemed crowded. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My only negative comment would be about the bed in the room - the mattress was a little hard and uncomfortable. Otherwise, the room was very nice with a gorgeous ocean view. We also were there for a family wedding on the hotel grounds, and it was a breathtaking experience. Gorgeous setting for a wedding!!

Room Tip: The Lighthouse Tower offers breathtaking ocean views - we were up on the 4th floor, which had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Service is excellent. Rooms are spotless, very comfortable. the food is delicious....breakfast and dinner.We stayed in an ocean view room with a picturesque view of the beach. No complaints what so ever. I got married at the hotel in the summer of 2011 and my husband and I returned in 2012 for our 1st wedding anniversary. The pools are nice and clean. They have activities for children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Congratulations on your 1st wedding anniversary, it was a pleasure to have you back with us once again. See you again next year? Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Visited here 7 yrs ago will definitely go back. Absolutely everything from breakfast, room service, menu selection, beach all amazing. Beautiful beach and views. Loved it. The pool staff were fun, there was an on site scuba diving school and the wrecks to dive around are right by the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality for a second time. We look forward to seeing you soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Hilton Barbados in a wonderfully clean and modern hotel with great facilities and very friendly staff. I make no secret of the fact that I am an HHonors member and always enquire about room upgrades. We paid extra for a King suite on the 6th floor - Rooms 677/679 right on the corner. This included a continental breakfast in the Executive lounge. This is well worth doing as food can be dear in Barbados. The lounge also provides free wifi access and a computer. Throughout the day you can also obtain free soft drinks and home made cookies and afternoon cakes. In the evening you are provided with a wonderful array of freshly cooked hor d'ourves and there is an Honor bar for alcohol which is good value. This hotel is 7 years old so I find some previous comments strange about the pool and state of some of the rooms. They are constantly cleaned and there were a team of decorators dealing with cosmetic issues all the time. In short the hotel is very clean and tidy. There were conferences there all week, but again these did not interfere with our comfort in any way and it was easy to get poolside beds and parasols. The same can be said for the beach and there was no hassle from anybody. What I and my family found particularly pleasant was the lack of people smoking and this is actively discouraged - so be warned if you like a smoke. The waterside restaurant was great for lunch, serving a tasty Hilton Burger, fish and nacho type dishes for around £40 including drinks for two adults and a child for which there is a 50% discount for the under twelves - a nice touch. However - the little beach secret........If you walk along the beach about 5 minutes to the right, you will find a little shack selling marlin, egg, cheese and lettuce rolls for just under £3 each. A Banks beer here is £1 and the rolls are something else. This is called 'Cuz's' and is famous in the Caribbean. I recommend it and it is very popular with the locals and Cuz is something else! Don't expect service with a smile! The hotel is in a great location for all the restaurants along the south coast and a taxi costs a consistent BBD $20 each way (around £7). Go to the fish fry at Oistins on Friday - great fresh fish and a great focal point for the locals and some of Barbados at its best. Finally do try a restaurant called 'Naru'. This is a kind of Asian fusion with some Bajun variety too. Look out for the guy with the unusual bracelet and ask about its anecdotal creation. This was the best meal we had all week. A special mention to Jocelyn at Hilton Guest Services who arranged our room upgrade - Big Respect and thank you for a memorable stay in your lovely country.

Room Tip: Go for executive lounge upgrade and become a HHonors member to smooth the path!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your detailed comments and I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed the facilities and services especially our lovely suites. I look forward to welcoming you back to this beautiful island again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Barbados Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barbados Resort

Address: Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Michael Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Barbados Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Hilton Barbados Resort, winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, boasts a prime location on the lush tropical peninsula of Needham's Point in Barbados. Each of the 350 beautifully-appointed rooms & suites offers a private balcony and beautiful ocean views. Hilton Barbados Resort offers amenities tailored for couples, families, and all kinds of travelers, plus it's 100% non smoking and fully accessible, becoming versatile paradise for all. Conveniently located, the resort is just five minutes from the island's capital, Bridgetown, 20 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport and walking distance to the newly listed UNESCO World Heritage site of The Garrison. Some of the facilities include a sparkling pool complex with whirlpool, on-site scuba diving center, three tennis courts, four restaurants and a Fitness & Health Centre with spa treatment rooms overlooking Carlisle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Barbados Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barbados Hotel Saint Michael
Hilton Hotel Bridgetown
Hilton Bridgetown
Barbados Hilton
Bridgetown Hilton
Hilton Barbados Resort Saint Michael Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Barbados Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.