We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous overnight stay in transit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetfield Manor Historic Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sweetfield Manor Historic Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Sweetfield Manor Historic Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Britton New Road, BB14027, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous overnight stay in transit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelling back to the UK from St Vincent we stayed at Sweetfield Manor having booked it online. It was definitely the best hotel or apartment that we have stayed in in Barbados. Beautiful building and rooms and the pool ..... well it was idyllic. Hotel was very stylish and low key.
As others have said a really unusual and 5 course delicious breakfast.
Will definitely return and recommend to others.
Staff were all very pleasant and helpful, especially as we arrived on a bank holiday and there wasn't much open. The young man on late duty really helped us out with something to eat.

Room Tip: We had a room by the pool which had its own verandah and swinging lounge bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
28
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

I'm the one who goes for the big resort with 3 pools and a large sweeping staircase, and in-house shops of all kinds. I do like that but not in barbados anymore. This traditional house is so quaint and upmarket. For the discerning traveller and those who want peace, a boutique hotel.
They go out of their way to help you and the 4 course breakfast is a world away from a shoddy buffet that i've had nearly everywhere else. its very glamorous dining. The sitting spots, lounge and dining are very pretty.
We got free rides into town whenever we wanted them !
The people are all lovely, as are all locals.
The bed was to my liking and believe me i'm the fussiest bed critic you have ever met. My own bed at home is a bespoke , all natural Vispring bed, the UK's best brand. so if i like the bed its really a very safe option .
Oh and Michelle the manager is keeping my coat kept safe until i return, as i left it there.
Love this place xx

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Thank you for everything Michelle! It was a pleasure staying at Sweetfeild! You were most gracious, arranging my taxis to even taking me to my destination when I was running late. The place truly gives a home away from home feel. I thoroughly enjoyed my 5 course gourmet breakfast! Would definitely be recommending Sweetfeild Manor to my friends! And hope to visit again soon.
Only problem I had was the fact that there wasn't a phone in the room other than that it was a pleasant stay!

Cheers!
Sabrina France

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

The Sweetfeild Manor is a lovely old great house with lots of charm. The rooms are comfortable and the couple who run the B&B, very gracious.

Breakfast is outstanding! The chef's breakfast menu changes daily, has 3 courses, and is delightfully indulgent! And the setting was perfect too.

The Manor is just a few minutes drive from Carlisle Beach which has public parking and restaurants on the beach.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We had a very nice three-night stay. The service was excellent and friendly. The three course breakfast was superb every morning! A short walk away from a very nice beach. We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

The team were amazing! They went above and beyond to make our stay fantastic. The breakfast is incredible, and well worth a slow start in the morning. We were very impressed with the management team as they not only helped us order pizza in the evening and then went and collected it themselves for us. They also personally took us in their car to our desired destination and helping us with security. We stayed in the Captains quarters which huge! With lovely views towards town, the pool and waterfall area is beautiful and very tranquil - wish I had time to do some yoga down there, perfect spot!.....so if you are into that - take your mat with you! And look out for the resident peacock, he is beautiful!

Room Tip: We staying the captain quarters, but all rooms on the upper floor of the main house looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

My wife and I stayed in the Mignonette room for five days for our honeymoon.

The Sweetfield manor is nestled away in a community about 1 mile away from the beach. After the 20 minute drive from the airport, we arrived at the gated Sweetfield manor and found a beautiful "great house" style house with breezy verandas and a tropical garden. We were greeted by the manager, Michelle with rum punches. We were then taken by Kurt, a porter, to the mignonette room. The room had beautiful, high ceilings, hardwood floors, a nice queen bed and a renovated bathroom.

Each morning we were greeted by the staff, instructed to a new location on the property where we would have our breakfast ( from inside the house to a table surrounded by a fish pond and waterlilies to a lookout perch). The breakfast started with a smoothie or cereal, then a fruit course, then a protein-heavy course (salmon quiche, bacon and an omelet, omelet pizza) and then dessert (yes, dessert for breakfast). It was delicious and changing each day.

The beach is a mile from the house so an easy walk downhill. There is also a "deli" just outside of the manor that you can walk to get rotis and other Bajan staples for lunch. We definitely recommend renting a car if you plan on staying here for more than one day. It is the best way to explore the island and taxi fares add up quickly. The staff is very kind and accommodating.

The only draw backs are that the wifi is a bit spotty and there isn't any way to get snacks or drinks after breakfast outside of hot tea. There also isn't any staff on the property at night. You will need to drive or taxi to the more popular areas for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sweetfield Manor Historic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetfield Manor Historic Bed & Breakfast

Address: Britton New Road, BB14027, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Michael Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetfield Manor Historic Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple and fun bed and breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Regatta Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sweetfield Manor Historic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetfield Manor Historic Bed And Breakfast
Sweetfield Manor Historic Hotel Saint Michael
Sweetfield Manor Historic Bed & Breakfast Barbados/Saint Michael Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetfield Manor Historic Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.