We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Good Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Little Good Harbour to your Saves list
Little Good Harbour
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Shermans, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2006

After an extensive trip advisor search for a honeymoon in barbados we chose 2 hotels. the first little arches- absolutely amazing- and for our second week little good harbour.

The reviews of LGH ,( except one) are spot on. If you want the glitz and footballers wife type hotel this is not for you. If you want to be away from it all in the real old barbados right on the sea front and with excellent service...this is for you.

One reviewer rather nastily said tiny beach..noisy road....typical person who clearly wants to be in all inclusive boring hotel!!

It is true there is hardly any beach now due to storm damage..but not LGH fault. There are still little gazebos to lie in on the beach front and then straight into the water which is so clear! swim out to the diving platform and sunbathe to your hearts content! As for the road...it is a normal road...really not busy at all!!

We stayed in the 2 bedroom fort suite! It is fantastic. It is over the fishpot restaurant and has a huge living room and kitchen...looks exactly like on the website..wooden floors....you can hear the ocean below...has a wonderful veranda so you can watch the sunset..even has a cooling outdoor shower! 2 bedrooms with 1 four poster and mosi nets and fab bathrooms with powerful showers!

You will need a car at this ened of the island....but then that is what is so good you have the freedom to explore barbados and see the caves..go to lots of restaurants (or get a cab so you can drink!)

You must drive down the east coast and see all the deserted beaches too!

The fishpot restaurant at LGH is amazing...the best fish and steaks anywhere. It is right on the sea and has amazing views and the service is top. Also a fab selection of wine and cocktails. SO if you dont want to leave LGH you dont need too!!

We found the staff at LGH so helpful, we got a late checkout with no problems.

As for beaches you can walk to 2 in 30 seconds...no one on them at all!! Or if you like sunloungers and watersports a quick 5 min drive to Port St charles.

As for restuarants near by...you must try The Tides in Holetwon...excellent..and Daphnes in St James...v expensive but worth it....be prepared for a large hangover though as the cocktails are just too good!!

SO to sum up...if you want a peaceful beautiful quiet hotel where you can be very self sufficient, fab food. great swimming in clear sea and really away from all the west coast hustle and bustle this is for you. If you want all inculsive hotel with multiple pools and lying on a busy beach with hundreds of others , i suggest you try sandy lane!!

It was the best holiday we have ever had!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    37
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
91
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

We stayed at LGH in February 2006 and it really stands out as a friendly, welcoming and generally lovely hotel. The room was fantastic - 2 floors, great bedroom with fan and air con, front terrace and upstairs balcony, well equipped kitchen (not that we cooked, but the fridge was handy for keeping the champagne cold!)

The staff were so friendly and didn't mind at all when we kept popping into the Fish Pot for bottles of wine or coca cola and accidently disturbing their lunch!

You will need a car, but why on earth would you go to Barbados and not want to explore? - that's half the fun!

The pool was fine, and the warm carribbean sea is over the road if you want a bit more space.

Other good restaurants - Le Mer (pricy but worth it), Lone Star, Tides (fantastic food and really friendly staff), Sandy lane Golf Club (go for a glass of champagne at sun down), Round House and Bajan Blue at Sandy Lane. The secret to enjoying Barbados is to relax, chill, smile and a whole world of friendliness and fun will open up!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

We have just returned from LGH after spending a very relaxing 10 days in Barbados. We chose this hotel for its charm and being on honeymoon we didn’t want a big brassy commercial hotel. This is what we hoped Barbados would be like.

From the moment we arrived we received excellent personal service and were looked after very well. The owner, Andrew met us as we got out of the taxi, took our bags and ordered up a couple of drinks from the bar! During our stay he couldn’t have done more to make us feel welcome and we felt more like we were staying with friends than being in a hotel.

LGH is not in the middle of everything but if you are willing to do a bit of exploring (and let’s face it you’ll miss out if you don’t) you’ll have an excellent time. The cottage was lovely, well maintained, kept spotless every day with a kitchen full of equipment that (hopefully) you won’t use because you will be in the Fish Pot.

We loved it and hope to return soon…

Andrew – thanks for your hospitality!

Kathryn & Ian Gadd

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

My Family and I were first-time guests at LGH the week preceding Easter 2006 and had an absolutely wonderful getaway from NYC's madness. From the moment we arrived and until a very sad goodbye we found the place to be very peaceful, private, welcoming and well-appointed. The intimate beach was inviting and clean and the cabanas were an excellent spot to sit and enjoy the magnificient sunsets or the full moon. There are two rafts afloat about 50 yards offshore one of with a chaise longe, which made a perfect spot for an afternoon nap. Our villa was very comfortable, tastfully decorated and adorned with work from Bajan artists. Andrew and the staff were extremely attentive and helpful, and yet not overtly conspicuous. And do not miss dinner (or breakfast or lunch) at the Fishpot restaurant...the food and service are fantastic.
I highly recommend LGH.
We cannot wait to return...
James
New York

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

The property needs a lot of work. The pool is small and not clean; the beach is VERY small and it is across a busy road from the property. On the beach you can see, hear and smell the traffic.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2006

Have stayed twice (Feb 04 and Feb 05) - and am regretting big time not returning this year!
If you want luxury - great accomodation, fantastic restaurant (on the beach) but don't want to be one of thousands in a resort - this is the place for you!
First year was in a one bed villa, but last year was in the 2 bed flat (in the fort above the restaurant). When Andrew opened the door to the flat to show us in (with Rum punch...) we honestly thought we'd gone to heaven. Full height plantation shutters with views west over the sea....... it could not be better. Fully equipped? - its better than home! Only downside is the huge american fridges are showing their age (and use!)
True the beach is not large, and the road is inbetween the villas and the restaurant - but its like a country lane at home - its not busy. If they could get the concrete trucks to take another road there would be no complaints at all.
This is 'real Barbados' chattel houses on the same road, Rum shop and fishermen - and into Speightstown for the supermarket to stock the fridge (via a beer in the Fishermans pub.....)
Andrew, Graham, Margaret - thank you for 2 fantastic holidays! We will be back

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Good Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Good Harbour

Address: Shermans, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Good Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Little Good Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Good Harbour Hotel Saint Peter
Little Good Harbour Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Good Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.