We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maynards, BB26011, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have been home almost three weeks after two relaxing weeks at this lovely hotel.
The staff are really lovely (especially so after you have made the effort to engage with them) over the entire hotel. The restaurant staff are excellent, especially making sure your water and drinks are topped up! The food was excellent whilst we were there and we did not have one bad meal. The eggs freshly prepared at breakfast were always delicious and cooked perfectly, always with a smile.
The gardens are immaculate and the 'Gully Walk' with Rodney was a real treat, hearing all about the plants etc. The freshly picked coconut cut down while you watched and prepared for each of us to drink at the end was refreshingly welcome.
The glass bottom boat trip was also very enjoyable, having all the celebrity villas pointed out along the coast and then the magnificent sight of the turtles, which you could then get in the water with to see up close.
We met some really nice people whilst there and can understand why people have been there more than once. If you like small (under 50 rooms) hotels, good service, good food with great staff then this should be on your list.
Even though not on the beach (they do organise a shuttle down to Almond Beach) it did not detract from the enjoyment of our holiday.
The antics of the green monkeys around 7am are great fun to watch whilst sitting on your balcony/veranda with a cup of tea/coffee.
We hope to return again sometime.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    103
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
50
514
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a beautiful and peaceful hotel, We visited this hotel in first weekend in September 2014.

The hotel manager greeted us with the warmest smile that automatically said you are welcome. Our room was so clean and lovely. A king size comfortable bed that hugged you throughout the night. We were so lucky, our room was directly opposite the pool. The pool clean, blue and sparkling.

Breakfast was good, evening meal choices were a little disappointing, the steak I had was just ok it was a little bland - but the service from the staff was really good.

The restaurant ambiance was relaxing both morning and night, looking out on such beauty, and being watched back by the beautiful monkeys. Surreal.

We even were given the opportunity to go to Almond Hotel, transport provided. We spent a lovely afternoon sunbathing, jet skiing and was promptly picked back up.

I would certainly go back back to the hotel it was so peaceful so different to the common hustle and bustle of beach hotels, st James / the gap! I certainly would recommend this hotel to young middle and older aged holiday people.

Room Tip: Go for a suite that is opposite the pool -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside Basingstoke
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the welcome to the departure, this was a delightful experience. We had a cabin down by the woods, totally secluded. Lounge with fan, dining area and kitchen, balcony, bedroom with AC and bathroom, all beautifully equipped.

We ate both in the restaurant and in our room - Speightstown has a good supermarket and the kitchen is well equipped.

The free shuttle to Speightstown and the beach runs regularly and the hotel offers free trips as well as reasonably priced ones.

Of course, it's isolated and very quiet, doesn't take kids so not everyone's choice, but as a peaceful getaway in lovely grounds, it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was my fourth time to the SCC and as before it is a home from home, all the staff are very friendly and welcoming, a lot of repeat guests as well. It is a quiet relaxing place so if you are looking for lots of night life this is not the place for you, but that's why everbody who goes there likes it. I stayed in room 117 down by the gully so be prepared to be woken by the green monkeys. The hotel is small with one pool, 2 restaurants, 1 bar but this means everybody talks to everybody else. It is not on a beach but is on a hill which provides a nice cooling breeze, a free shuttle will take you to the beach at Haywards bay if you want a dip in the carribean sea.
As you are in the carribean the service can appear a little slow at times, but if somebody comes to the bar and orders 4 different cocktails it is going to take time to make them!
Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from our first visit to Sugar Cane – as with others we found this a delightful hotel with lovely staff. The rooms – or in fact suites as this is what they are, every room having a large sitting room small kitchen and a dressing area as well as bed and bath – are lovely and comfortable with a nice balcony or terrace. We had a sea view – not a full head on view but across the grounds to the sea in the distance but very nice with great sunsets. We did not find our room tired at all as some reported although not brand new they are very nice and comfortable, lots of storage and the very large bed was very comfortable. Also the air con in the bedroom was very welcome. Linen changed regularly, with pool towels and dressing gowns. You could take pool towels down to the beach as well. The hotel was absolutely spotless throughout the staff have to be congratulated. We had good Wifi but not all rooms did and some had to go to public areas.
The hotel is not on the Beach but there is a shuttle bus down several times a day. At the moment this is to Almond Beach Hotel which is being managed on a short term basis by Sugar Cane. This gave the great option of using the all inclusive facilities there including lunch, and a lovely long wide beach. This w may cease in future years as Almond Bach Hotel is being sold by the Government. If so Sugar Cane will then presumably take you to another beach as they used to and provide a packed lunch in a proper cool box – we noted if you went out for the day they would also provide lunch then.
The grounds are beautiful and well maintained by Rodney and his team, there appeared to be a full maintenance team on site at least once a week – with small works keeping everything nice. The Pool is lovely and large and always clean. The only thing we noticed was that on some days when there were a lot of people staying at the hotel rather than going out, sun beds could be a bit short. This is made worst by people reserving them first thing even if they were not using them until later in the day. I mentioned it to a member of staff and he was going to feed back to the manager. I think a few spare in store might help.
The hotel has a small gym which is really useful if you want to keep up a bit of exercise and the SPA was very good, with lovely staff.
We found the cocktails excellent and the quality of the drinks very good for all inclusive and the wine was more than acceptable – it may have improved as a friend had said the White was not so good from a previous year, but in the event we found the Italian on arrival and the Chilean later in the holiday were quite acceptable. Food was OK – some days were much better than others. We feel the only thing the hotel could do to lift it up even higher would be to review some of the food options. I would have preferred Salads such as the Caesar to have a dressing on side option, and a little more undressed salad on the Buffet nights. Although there was always a special on AL La Cart days – I think for a fortnight it might also help to have a change to the core menu. This might be picky as there was a wide choice it was just that some of the options tended to be things I would not choose when trying to keep calories down. The restaurant is small but this makes things friendly, and the evenings on the poolside were always nice. The little Chattel bar made a nice option a couple of nights a week.
All the staff were helpful and friendly so difficult to pick anybody out– quietly getting to know you. Lovely extra touches included the complementary Glass Bottom Boat trip, the twice weekly guided walk along the hotels own gulley and a very understated managers cocktail party. The evening entertainment was quiet and restrained but the signing duo who came in Saturday Nights were excellent, all classic numbers but really well done and she has a lovely voice, sorry did not get their names. The Christmas decorations were very tasteful particularly compared to the Sandy Lane Hotel where we had Tea theirs were a rather yucky pink. This is not a hotel for you if you want to be in the thick of it, or if you want to nip out to shops and bars, it is quiet; although Speights Town is near by this is a small quiet place, it is a long way from most of the Island attractions. There are restaurant options in Speights Town and you can get taxis and the bus (from Speights Town getting the shuttle down ) Also for shopping hop on the bus at Speights town and go down to Hole Town 30 mins down the coast due to Traffic. If you want to chill out get to know others around the pool and you like nice gardens this is for you. Also this was a child free hotel.

Room Tip: We were in the 2 Storey accommodation not the main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley West Mids
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from our first visit to the Sugar Cane and we had a wonderful time.
The hotel is on a hillside on the north end of Barbados 5 minutes from Speightstown.
It is a fantastic choice if you want to relax and chill out. Peter Charles and his magnificent staff are working tremendously hard to make everyone's stay at Sugar cane a memorable one.
From the minute we walked in we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
We booked two rooms, an ocean view room and a garden view room. These are apartment style overlooking the beautiful gardens and a view of the Carribean sea
All are equipped with a kitchenette, a smart lounge area, bathroom,a double bedroom, and balcony or outside terrace.
The styling is tasteful and kept expertly clean.
The bathrooms are clean and filled with complimentary lotions, as some people have said they are becoming tired now but that really is a small issue to be fair.
On arrival we were given a welcome rum punch and refreshing towel, great after a long and stressful day. We were even booked into the restaurant for evening dinner, another great touch.
The staff are absolutely fantastic, I will mention a few names and apologise to anyone I miss out but beleive me they all deserve a thank you for making our stay a memorable one.
Chantelle, Jennene, Neil, Roy, Raquel, Alex and his co driver. The gardeners, the housekeeping staff including our very own " Gillian" who gave us a hug on our special day when we retook our wedding vows. I wrote quite a few more down on our response form they really were brilliant.
A tip for the moaners. Try getting to know them, talk to them, you will be amazed.
We met some real characters who were guests there at the same time as us, they also played their part in making this holiday memorable.
We were on the all inclusive choice which is fantastic value for money, great food A la Carte or snack menu if you prefer, a good lunch choice, lots of different cocktails and fruit punches to choose from, beer, wine. Soft drinks, brilliant.
They offer a number of themed nights by the pool with music or a steel band, a warning for you party people though it all finishes at 11pm, so no all night raves here. (Thank goodness)
The hotel is not on the beach but they offer a shuttle service to the Almond beach hotel which runs at different times of the day. Easy to do. The Almond is in the process of closing down though but even so we were treated well when we went there..
So we had a great choice of spending the day in the Carribean sea or by the pool at the Sugar Cane,with everything included, very enjoyable.
Sugar Cane also have a managers rum party when Peter Charles introduces himself and you get a chance to talk to him and meet other new guests. It is set on a terrace behind the art gallery and was another great touch.
All in all we have had a fantastic memorable holiday, met some wonderful people and have been expertly pampered by the Sugar Cane Hotel.
We will return. no doubts. Well done to you all.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a fab week (pre-cruise), it certainly lived up to expectations. Our garden view apartment style room was lovely. The food, service and friendliness of all the staff was excellent. We returned for one night after the Carnival Valor cruise and received a very warm welcome back! We'll definitely return here when next in Barbados. Well done to Blue Bay Travel who arranged a trouble free package.

Room Tip: Our ground floor garden view room was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.