We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue cooley. A wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maynards, BB26011, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Offer 2015
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sue cooley. A wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have just return from a fantastic 10 night stay at the Sugar Cane Club and what can I say! The staff and food were exceptional. We have stayed in many 5* hotels and this exceeded them. The hotel is tucked away in a peaceful location and the shuttle bus is more than adequate if you wish to visit the beach. It is safe to travel around the Island, car hire is a great way of sight seeing along with the many excursions available.We will definately return next year and I would like to thank all the staff for giving us a wonderful holiday, especially the rum punch party's ! See you all soon x

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your to the point review Sue S! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
We love hearing that Staffs are friendly and made your holiday. Our team impresses us each and every day and we are so happy when other people take a moment and share their compliments. The team could not be more worthy of them.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again to SCC!
best regards....Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    122
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
53
564
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
barbados
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff at this spa are unprofessional, unreliable and glacial in their manner. Best left alone. In general spas in Barbados are not remarkable but this deserves its own category of unappealing. The staff are entirely uncommitted to keeping appointments and when they do one has the impression that one is troubling them. No-one needs to pay to feel like a bother.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Shanoa, Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for this unfortunate experience at the Spa as this is certainly not our usual standard. We have taken your remarks very seriously and corrective action has been taken to correct such. We are not always perfect, but when we let down we try to fix what went wrong, a policy that has served us well in the past. I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our Spa!
Best Regards.......Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had our second trip to the Sugar Cane Club at the end of May, and once again - we just didn't want to come home! We were welcomed like old friends by the lovely Michelle and quickly got back into the SCC vibe with the help of a delicious rum punch! The food once again was outstanding, only overshadowed by the fantastic staff team who's relaxed yet attentive service made you feel like part of the family. Peter Charles continues to lead his team from the front, by being the most 'hands on' manager I have ever come across; demanding a very high standard of service for his guests. He is such a nice bloke too - he makes you feel so welcome and you just know that his only agenda is to make sure you have a fantastic holiday! This place just spins some kind of magic around you, and is truly a 'chill out' and relax place!
Met some great people once again, and still spent far too much time just relaxing by the pool & having a few laughs, rather than doing the many things we had planned to! Went to Sandy Lane for afternoon tea - just organised it ourselves rather than doing 'the trip' and had a fab time! A quick tip - if you book a taxi, ask reception to ensure its a decent one as we had the most 'clapped out' old van turned up for us, which was a really embarrassing way to arrive at one of the most famous, glamorous hotels in the Caribbean! We had a good laugh about it afterwards though - it could only happen to us!
So - back to the SSC - if you want to stay in a chilled out, relaxing place with great (friendly) service and fabulous food, then book up at the Sugar Cane! If you want limbo dancing competitions, activities around the pool and cabaret shows, then it won't be the place for you - so pick wisely! To us it's just heaven on earth and we can't wait until our next trip there! Please don't change anything SCC and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Room Tip: We have had a sea view room both times we have stayed, but I am told that the garden rooms are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Mad4Italy, Many thanks for visiting SCC for the second time for a well relaxed holiday. It’s truly remarkable that you have taken the time to let Tripadvisor readers know your point of view on SCC. We do offer a wide range of services that are intended to exceed every guest expectation. We are all very proud of the hotel and have a passion for entertaining guests at our well loved property. Barbados is still the best island in the Caribbean to experience amazing restaurants however our offerings at SCC give good reason never to leave! We have much in store in the coming Months as our chef and his Team continues to refine our menus with local delicacies and feedback from our loyal guests.
Best regards
Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Barbados has always been my idea of paradise, so surprising my wife with a new holiday experience and her first flight in an aeroplane was a bit of a worry. The thought of choosing a hotel that fitted our idea of paradise took some time and it was important to get it right. We didn't want to stay in a normal hotel on the beach as we believed it could be noisy in the evenings etc.
The Sugar Cane Club looked idillic in the brochure and fitted our needs almost perfectly, adult only, quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of the beach and towns, what more could we want?
We arrived after the long 9 hour flight and were met by Damien, a really bubbly fun fella who promptly served us our first taste of the local Rum, wow! Certainly woke me up!
The hotel sits in absolutely gorgeously manicured gardens, with palms trees and coconuts all around, the sounds of the bird song was lovely, the sun blazing down and the gentle soft fluffy clouds rolling by.
Every single member of staff at this gorgeous hotel were amazing, from the housekeepers to the Gardeners, everyone always had a smile and said hello. We instantly felt at home and immediately relaxed into the Barbados mood, chilled to the bone!
Breakfasts were lovely, sat in a stunning restaurant overlooking the pool with the small birds making their presence known looking for little titbits that happened to be left around, or cheekily given to them when the staff weren't looking ;)
The food at lunchtime was simply brilliant, from fresh fish to the Sugar Cane Club Sandwich, everything was just great.
The evening dinner was something I always looked forward to, every dinner felt very special and in such a romantic setting, the food again was superb and top quality and beautifully presented.
Being all inclusive was the icing on the cake, drinks in abundance served by bar staff who clearly enjoyed being there, Roy, Neil and the rest of the gang are great fun and make for a really enjoyable time around the pool or in the bar.
The gully walk was brilliant, seeing the local trees and plants, being told what they are and at the end getting to taste the fresh coconut milk just about made our day, humming birds are all around, getting a picture of one is a real challenge!
The pool is lovely and clean, always warm and very inviting on a hot day.
The complimentary Massage at the Spa was amazing, I have to be honest and admit I didn't want to do it, my wife persuaded me to go and all I can say is Wow, I didn't want it to end!
The shuttle bus to the beach or Speightstown was really good, it's only a short walk to the beach but the bus is the way to go.
The beach was lovely, warm water with excellent snorkelling, very quiet and a lovely place to chill out, if you're all inclusive drinks and food are free as well, sorted!
The island tour is a must! You'll learn so much about the island from a real character, Damien's enthusiasm is infectious!
A surprise bottle of bubbly was left in our room on the day of our wedding anniversary too, a lovely touch and greatly appreciated, thank you :)

The welcome - Lovely smiley faces followed by a Rum Punch... Now we know we're in Barbados!
The room (108) - Clean, great condition, nicely furnished, air con in the bedroom, kitchen, and large bathroom with a shower. A small patio out the front to sit and watch time tick by..
The restaurant - Beautiful, open and cool, overlooking the pool and gardens
The food- A Large selection of locally caught fish. Chicken dishes, burgers, sandwiches, vegetables, pasta. Puddings are sublime, from ice cream to cheesecake they are all gorgeous.
The staff - A true credit to the SCC, every single member of staff was amazing, their smiley faces and lovely warm personalities really made our stay a memory we will never forget.
We'd like to thank Sade, Roy, Neil, Damien and every member of staff including of course the general manager Peter Charles for a really wonderful holiday, our dreams of going to paradise for our 20th wedding anniversary were well and truly met, from leaving Gatwick to arriving back there 10 days later we were made to feel like royalty, I really cannot say thank you enough and we guarantee that we will be back in the future.
Sorry for the long review but I'm hoping you can see that the SCC really is wonderful and deserves a big pat on the back for being 100% perfect!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Rob G, Many thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor in a way that makes our team members pleased that their hard work is paying off. You have captured SCC in every sense of the word in terms of our facilities, food and the entire experience to which SCC has become famous for. We are no stranger to delivering service with exceptional results and an experience to match and rival any hotel on the Island. The care and attention that goes into our service delivery is just astonishing as often heard from previous guests like you. I have passed your compliments to all mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to let Trip Advisor readers know your opinion on Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa!
Best regards
Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stopped off for lunch when on the Island Adventure tour.The lunch was buffet style and was very nice with beef, macaroni, & and chicken on offer. The dinning area was outside and shaded. The toilet facilities are limited tow one cubicle in the ladies and gents so you can expect a queue at times.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear CANDS H, Many thanks for your compliments re: lunch at SCC. We are known for serving delectable dishes with great service to go with it. We are sorry you had to queue for the Toilet facilities however Additional Toilet facilities are located nearby and perhaps your driver did not mention. Many thanks and hopefully your next visit here will be as resident guest to enjoy all we have to offer!
Best regards....Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for lunch with our tour and was fantastic local food: flying fish, beef stew, rice, salad, jerk chicken,macaroni pie and the peas chickpeas I've ever tasted. Great service and clean restroom

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear CANDS H, Many thanks for your compliments re: lunch at SCC. We are known for serving delectable dishes with great service to go with it. Come stay with us next visit to experience true SCC hospitality!
Best regards....Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in late June, toward the end of their season. The staff were excellent in their attitude toward the guests no matter what role they carried out, Front desk staff, restaurant staff, housekeeping, maintenance or grounds staff, every single one was polite and courteous at all times. The restaurant menus may have been a little limited in some regards, however, it is only a small resort, less than fifty rooms, so huge food choices are probably not viable. The biggest attraction is the No Children policy, it truly is quite tranquil and disturbance free. We will definitely be returning for our next holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you Twincam1558, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor readers.
We love hearing that Staffs are friendly, informative and knowledgeable on various topics. Our team impresses us each and every day and we are so happy when guests take a moment and share their compliments with the rest of the World. Our team could not be more worthy of them.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next holiday to Barbados!
Best regards.....Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.