We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem in the Caribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maynards, BB26011, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Barbados
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Little Gem in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have just spent two days at this delightful hotel, tucked away in the North of the island. I live in Barbados and fancied a couple of days away with a friend who was visiting and we were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious, all with their own kitchenette, sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. It was spotlessly clean and the attention to detail was remarkable. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The pool and surroundings are beautiful and as it is a lovely place to go and relax. There is also a spa offering lots of treatments with staff who are friendly and welcoming. If quiet, peaceful and relaxing is what you need, this is definitely the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Glynis H, Many Many thanks for your kind words of your recent Barbadian experience right here at SCC. We have been working really hard during the past 5 years to make SCC a very special place for food service and facilities, and most importantly our "Star Team" who we are truly proud of and they deliver exceptional service. I am glad you felt we were able to provide you with an experience that you may only get at SCC. We are all delighted that you had a really great time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Regards from the entire SCC team!!!
Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    103
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
50
514
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our fifth stay at this wonderful hotel says a lot for the place. Such friendly welcoming and attentive staff. Exactly the place to stay for a relaxing, peaceful holiday in the sun and how wonderful to have not just a bedroom but what is really an apartment with a lounge, fully fitted kitchen, bathroom and terrace or balcony. Congratulations to the management on such high standards of food and accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear BrianRW, We appreciate that you have taken time after your stay to write this positive review on you recent visit to SCC. We are all thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us and our team members in particular provided excellent service to you and yours.
We are very proud that on your Fifth visit to SCC you still enjoy a relaxing and peaceful holiday and we hope to welcome you back for your sixth visit.
Best Regards.... Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay IF you want a quiet, peaceful and relaxed stay in pretty and friendly surroundings (which is EXACTLY what we wanted!) This ISN'T the place to come if you want nightclubs, fast paced serviced and fast broadband - in fact that is true of Barbados as a whole so chose your location carefully before booking, finding it disappointing and then giving it an unfair review!

Myself and my fiance are in our early/mid thirties and spent 10 days all inclusive from 12th-22nd Oct through a local travel agent with Virgin.

Location is beautiful and quiet but we still had a decent air con'd Gym and a Squash Court to use between breakfast and lunchtime, complimentary shuttle service to local town, Mullins Beach (beautiful). Grounds are kept very clean, rooms are spacious abd kept clean, staff are friendly but please accept you need to relax - this is Barbados not McDonalds so if you are going to get stressed when things aren't served quickly enough maybe chose another country to stay in! The sign as you come through the Airport reads "Relax, You're in Barbados" - take that advice!!!

We had 'Island All Inclusive' Vouchers given to us on our arrival worth $400BDN each to spend at numerous outlets, initially we thought this was a con but sure enough a booking at a posh restaurant called 'Daphne's" (- WOW!!) with numerous cocktails and champagne that cost us NOTHING proved this government incentive to get folks out of their hotels is a GREAT idea and a real bonus for the holiday maker!

We also had complimentary massage and glass bottomed boat ride through the hotel - both really good!

Average age of couples was in their 50's I would say but a lovely atmosphere and really friendly! Food is good and cocktails made by Neal the barman are excellent! Neal as well as David the Chef and Julie the Receptionist and Sade the Waitress are all a credit to the establishment.

Thanks for an unforgetable stay!

Oh and one last thing - this is rainy season and there is plenty of sun but the rain can be heavy and its cloudy on occasion so if you want arid with constant sun you may want a diffferent country!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are sea view but sea is in the distance not in the complex so if you want to save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Daave77, I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa. I agree with your comment concerning our staff they provide excellent customer service. Again thank you for recognizing that our staff provides unforgettable holidays. They are some of the warmest, friendliest, and certainly have a great sense of humour! We hope to see you back soon.
Best regards.....Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Does what it promises in the brochure and delivers it well
If you want peaceful quiet, very quiet and no disturbance whatsoever, then this is it
Food simple but acceptable , nothing fancy just bajan dishes cooked really well
Not much evening entertainment and finishes at 10
Bar serves local booze on all inc, you pay for premium spirits
All closes at 11, so not a place to stay if you are a night owl
If you just want relaxation, book it, you won't be disappointed
If anything else, then not for you
All staff are friendly and helpful and nothing seems to be any trouble
I would recommend if you want a rest from the crazy world we live in
Free bus to beach every day, plus free boat ride and turtle trip
Rooms clean and functional, lounge, bedroom and fully fitted kitchen , bath with shower,plus own patio or balcony
Nice pool with bar, that closes during meal times, so if you want a drink you then use lobby bar,
Dinner in 2shifts 7 and8.30 but no queues

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Davegirling, Thank you for taking the time to posting this review on your recent visit to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa. We are so delighted you had a lovely time with us. I am glad you felt we were able to provide you such an experience.
We appreciate your staying with us and please let me know if I may ever be of service.
Best regards Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is our 7th visit to the Sugar Cane Club. There is a very good reason for this. It's simply amazing! We have just returned from 10 nights here and have already booked for next year! The hilltop setting gives you lovely island breezes in manicured gardens and spotless pool. We have done beachfront and frankly prefer this inland location. If you like the beach there is a regular free shuttle serveice from the hotel.

Our room was a suite comprising kitchen, living room and bedroom with ensuite. There are also private balconies overlooking the grounds where we were lucky enough to spot monkeys especially first thing in the morning.

The staff really care and were all brilliant. Roy the barman even invited us back to his home on his day off and cooked us lunch as well as presenting us with his homemade spice mixture! Niel showed us cocktail recipes, David the chef ran a brief cooking demonstration and "the general" took us on a free glass botton boat trip to swim with turtles. There is a great spa that we used several times as well as a small gift shop. Other facilities are a well fitted gym and squash court althou why anyone would want to play in that heat is beyond me...but some people did! This is also an adults only resort.

A large number of guests are return custom, some many more times than us. Say no more!

I believe some improvements to furnishings and fixtures in the public areas are shortly to be done. Bathrooms becoming a bit well used and could do with attention in the rooms we have had but served our needs ok.

Room Tip: First floor rooms outside the main complex have tiled steps that can by slippery when wet but these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Colbrown, , it was an honor having you stay with us right here at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa for the 7th time. Our team certainly delivers exceptional service with care and attention to detail. Thank you for letting the whole World knows that we have exceeded your expectation by delivering a true Barbadian experience. I have delivered your compliments to all staff mentioned and they are elated that you have been coming to SCC for so long and have taken the time from your busy schedule to tell the world about us on Tripadvisor. We are working really hard to improve the hotel on every level and are passionate about being the best we can be. We are all looking forward to your 8th visit and many more!
Many thanks from the entire SCC team.
Best regards
Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My fiancée and I spent more money on this holiday than we have ever done so in the past.
We have been here a week already and have 3 more nights.

Though the hotel is small and there is little to do, we knew this when booking and as we were after a break to recharge our batteries, this is not an issue.

What is an issue though is the continuous problem of getting a drink.

There is a bar at the pool and another in the main building.
The pool bar is regularly unstaffed.
The bar inside is hit and miss with service from one of the basemen being particularly tardy.
I've mentioned the issue to the general manager and it has got no better.
I don't want to know that the barman hasn't got any plastic glasses, it's his job to ensure that he has.
I don't want him to tell me Togo to the pool bar when I've waited there to be served and there is no barman in sight!

Oh and the wi-fi is very hit and miss.

Please Sugar Cane sort out these issues!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear ATBird, Many thanks for sharing this review of your recent visit to SCC as we encourage and appreciate all guest feedback. It aides us in our continued efforts to provide our guests with an exceptional holiday experience and it is disheartened when our guests have a less than satisfactory experience as it is our aim to always provide fond memories.

I sincerely apologize for this unfortunate experience at the bars as this is certainly not our usual standard. We have taken your remarks very seriously and remedial action has been taken to correct such. We are not always perfect, but when we disappoint we try to fix what went wrong, a policy that has served us well in the past. We have many repeat guests who do enjoy what we have to offer, and come every year because of it.

I do wish to thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you back one day in the near future, as I’m confident we can far exceed your expectations by providing you with the experience expected in its entirety.

Our I.T department will take a look at our Wi Fi to ensure it’s not an ongoing issue. Unfortunately in the Caribbean we suffer from very slow speeds and low bandwidth.

Many thanks from the entire SCC team

Best Wishes...Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We've just returned from our 7th visit, staying at this gem of a hotel. As always, a warm welcome from Michelle who was armed with cold flannels & rum punch to 'liven' us up after a long day travelling.The new chef, David Yarde, is to be complimented on his culinery skills & we enjoyed every meal that we had at the SCC. For an AI holiday the food,the care & the friendliness of the staff were exceptional.It always feels like home, from the moment we arrive until the inevitable time when we have to say goodbye.This hotel will be on our holiday radar for many years to come (hopefully)!

Room Tip: Aim for rooms on the top to benefit from the quiet/ sea views/privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guests, Many Many thanks for such a wonderful review on your recent stay at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa. Your 7th visit and counting, thank you ever so much for letting the World know how much you have enjoyed the care and attention that you can only experience at SCC.
We are so delighted to know you have enjoyed our food, service and facilities and we do look forward to welcoming you back home!
Best wishes......Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.