We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing holiday ever, a stress-free existance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maynards, BB26011, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book now and save 30%
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The most relaxing holiday ever, a stress-free existance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I visited Sugar Cane club for two weeks at the end of June. We both work in jobs in city and the aim of the holiday was to have a stress-free existence and recharge our batteries. Based on the fantastic reviews on trip advisor and the fact the resort was child-free (very important for a stress-free holiday) we decided on Sugar Cane.

I can safely say that I have never felt so relaxed in my entire life. By the end of the first week, I felt very relaxed, but by the send of the second week I was more relaxed than I ever knew was possible!

Highlights in no particular order:
1. Staff - every single staff member was incredibly friendly, and very genuine - gardeners, waiting staff, salon staff - everyone! Very few hotels can say that. Sade and Neil stood out as real gems and made our trip that extra bit special. Peter Charles the hotel manager is a very friendly man, who made the effort to greet each guest personally when he arrived. His warm-mannered approach clearly filters down to the staff at Sugar Cane.

2. This is the first time I have ever been to a hotel which is so genuine they don’t try and rip you off at every possible moment. Example: we were given a free couples massage, there is a free minibus service to Speightstown and Mullins beach, free trip for swimming with turtles - amazing experience especially as you go with other Sugar Cane guests in a little boat as opposed to those huge catamarans of 100 people bobbing around in the water wearing matching life jackets....) Also the staff don’t expect tips or linger around for tips, which is so rare at a hotel. Finally when we cleared our bill at the end of our stay, there was no service charge added.

3. The evening entertainment is not classy not tacky. We have stayed at hotels with karaoke, magicians (80's style complete with cape and "assistant in a box") and found it was a bit naff for our liking. The barbeque nights are accompanied by live music by the pool - very beautiful and atmospheric at night. We enjoyed the steel drums, especially the lively duo who played a mixture of bob marley and modern songs!

4. The gym is 24 hours (big thumbs up) and this was very appreciated. Air con. Two treadmills, one bike, crosstrainer, weights machine, mats and some free weights.

5. The food is delicious. All fish is chargrilled on the BBQ - i ate fish every day as a result! Enjoyed the evening a la carte menu which was tasty and classy. As for the bbq - watch out for the pork ribs on BBQ night - they are heavenly! A word of warning, as mentioned in a previous trip advisor post which i read before going on holiday - you will put on a few pounds here! The food is tasty and we ate healthily (lots of veg options, fish, rice, soups) - however the food is so good it is impossible to stick to just one course!

6. The tapwater is drinkable in Barbados (saving a fortune on bottled water)

Now every holiday has it's "negatives".... i am trying very hard to think of some and this is all I can come up with.
Both cross-trainers in the gym feel a bit unsturdy compared to the ones I am used to. One also cut out part way through use (resistance reset to 0 after a few seconds) as i think the battery was dead.
I ordered soft boiled eggs for breakfast on a number of occasions but only once did they arrive soft boiled (the rest of the time they were hard boiled).
The wifi in our room wasn’t very good at kept cutting out. I understand an engineer was called but it didn’t really rectify the problem. Wifi in the communal areas was good.
As petty as that sounds –the only negatives I can think of! Not bad eh!

We have recommended our friends to Sugar Cane and I am sure we will be back to visit too!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the bungalows and we enjoyed the extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear VS_london, Many thanks for taking the time to post this fantastic review of your recent stay with us at SCC. It is always a pleasure to read such great reviews as yours on the service provided by our members of staff. Guarantee your comments have been relayed to the entire SCC team. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Best Regards......Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    91
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
44
459
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I can only echo the comments below - the Sugar Cane Club is an amazing hotel. The food is without doubt the best I have ever had on all inclusive - the choice was huge and the food always presented beautifully. Service was fast, i must mention Ryan and Sade as they were both wonderful at their job and made dining teams even better. Roy on the bar was also lovely, presenting us with some of his home made marinade to bring home. There are a wide range of drinks and the staff were willing to make you those not on the menu too for no cost. There is a bbq night, two buffet nights and whilst we were there, we were lucky enough to eat in the 2nd restaurant one night where we saw fire flies and a shooting star.

We were lucky enough to see the monkeys several times, loved snorkelling with the turtles (and a giant stingray!), and also attended the hotel's mixology class on a Sunday afternoon - and all these activities were free from the hotel - a wonderful touch. As others have mentioned, there is also a shuttle bus that will take you to the beach for free too.

We were very lucky to be upgraded to room 102 which was lovely - clean and very close to the pool and restaurant/bar. If you wished to self cater that would be no problem, as the kitchen and living space were big and well equipped and there is a supermarket located in Speightstown. The staff are willing to help in any way and make it feel very homely as they remember your name and are always so friendly and polite. I also visited the spa for a free massage which was wonderful - you would expect to pay at least £50 for the same thing in England.

It was a lovely touch to be waved away by Mr Charles the manager and the reception staff and really made me want to visit again. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Room Tip: 102 was great - on the ground floor, close to the pool and restaurant but no noise from other people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Cat 1586, Thank you for your kind comments, it was our pleasure to have you stayed with us here at SCC on the beautiful island of Barbados. Delighted to read you enjoyed all our services with particular mention the food and facilities. We have much in store in the upcoming months as our Chef and his team continue to refine our menus and source local products. I am glad you felt we were able to provide you such a great Barbadian experience. Your comments regarding staff have been relayed to all of them. We appreciate you staying with us and please let me know if I may ever be of service.
Best wishes Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday staying at the Sugar Cane Club Hotel. This was our first trip to Barbados and I believe we choose the perfect place to stay. It was romantic, quiet and tasteful. The staff were marvellous. There were very helpful, always smiling and informative about the whole of Barbados. On arrival it is always helpful to ask for a tour around the hotel and the best places to spot the elusive green monkeys. It is ideal for couples looking for a romantic holiday. The food was fantastic; they catered for everything you need, from continental meals to local cuisine. It is nice to try the local food and learn about how to cook them from the cooking demonstration they had when we were there. The pool area is also nice though the beaches are fantastic and they have vehicles that shuttle to and from the beach free of charge. You even get a lunch pack. The barbecues are great; food and live music that you can dance to if you have the rhythm. The views from the breakfast table is breath taking. If you are going to Barbados and want what I have described above; go to the Sugar Cane Club Hotel.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room that was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear pdread, Thank you for sharing this fantastic review and many thanks for highlighting those aspects of which we take great pride and that is our staff, excellent customer service and the great experience of staying here at SCC. We are all glad you had such a fantastic time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.Best Wishes, Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just returned after spending 2 weeks at the Sugar Cane. Every thing about the hotel is fantastic. The staff really make a hotel and here they do just that. Our daughter came out for our second week when it was her birthday and the hotel made her a wonderful chocolate and banana birthday cake. Yes it was quiet there but that is exactly what we wanted. We saw the green monkeys on the gully walk, swam with the turtles from the glass bottomed boat, and had one of the most relaxing holidays ever. There are too many staff to mention really, but Sadi, Roy and Ryan made our stay memorable. Please don't change anything. We will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Heather S, Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us at SCC.
Our staffs are one of our biggest assets as we try to deliver and maintain a service that is second to none on the Island. It is always rewarding to know that we lived up to every aspect of your expectation, from the food, to the cleanliness of your room. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to SCC in the very near future! Best regards Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sugar Cane Club from the 9th to the 23rd July 2013 and had a simply wonderful time. This was our second visit to the hotel and we had hoped that returning with a larger group that our recommendation to stay at the hotel would be well received, our expectations were surpassed.

The rooms are excellent, the gardens are immaculate, reception staff always helpful and management always available. Sadie, Roy, David, Alex, Neil, Michelle, Priscilla, Ricardo, David, Henderson.... Are a credit

I cannot thank Rod Weatherhead, Peter Charles and their wonderful team enough for the hospitality, care and friendliness that was shown to us all, a group that included my parents, in their 70s and my children in their 20s. From the refreshing cold towel and rum punch welcome on arrival to the sad goodbyes at reception we had a fantastic family holiday at a hotel where nothing was too much trouble.

We would not stay anywhere else when we visit the island and are already planning our return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Peter Y, What an amazing comment re: staff and facilities. We want the rest of the World to know that SCC is a home away from home and all are welcome. All names mentioned will be relayed to the entire team as such comments keep the entire team motivated. We have been working really hard to make SCC a very special place for food service and facilities, and I am glad you felt we were able to provide you with such an experience. We are all delighted that you had such a fantastic time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind Regards----Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent 14 nights at the Sugar Cane Club Hotel and Spa arriving on the 9th July 2013. From the welcome rum punch before our cases hit the reception floor, to the large group of hotel staff waving good bye, wishing us a safe journey home, and to come back soon, this holiday was magnificent. The rooms are comfortable and set in a relaxing and beautiful garden setting. The food was excellent, plentiful and exciting. Although not on the beach, the location of the Sugar Cane Club set on a hill surrounded by lush vegetation and the gully with Green monkeys made this the ideal setting. The staff were the most friendly I have come across anywhere. They were helpful in every way and could not do enough for you from the manager to the gardener's the staff made this a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the main hotel building were best unless you stay in the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Roger W, Many thanks for taking the time to share this amazing review of your recent visit to SCC with us and the rest of the World. We encourage and appreciate all guest feedback as it aides us in our continued efforts to provide our guests with an exceptional holiday experience to remember. We do wish to thank you for your fabulous remarks regarding our Staff, Food and facilities. I will pass your compliments on to the rest of the team.
We are truly delighted you had such a fantastic time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon to experience the wonders of SCC.
Best regards Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My Fiancé and I have been living in Barbados for the past 6 months, and we decided to take a little "stay-cation" last weekend. We chose Sugar Cane Club based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, and the reasonable price. All we can say is, "WOW!!!" I have never been more pleasantly surprised. This quaint 3.5 star hotel has 5 star service!! From the moment we arrived we were more then impressed! First, the lovely lady at the front desk came out from behind the desk to great us. She then offered us a seat in reception area while she organized our check in and brought us our paperwork and hotel information. Of all of the hotels I have stayed at around the world, this is the first time I was not made to stand at the front desk and wait. While we were seated in comfort, we were brought a complimentary drink of choice, followed by cool eucalyptus face towels to freshen up. After we were given our orientation of the hotel, without missing a single detail, we were given a personal tour of the grounds while we waited very briefly for our room to be prepared (we arrived very early in the day, and they accommodated us with no issues). The grounds are very well maintained and the rooms were perfect! I was a little apprehensive due to the fact that the hotel was not located on the ocean, but that didn't even matter! Guest can use bikes and ride down to the beach or Speightstown in less then 10 minutes, which was a fun little adventure in itself...or they provide a complimentary shuttle. Lounging by the pool and enjoying the lush ground and fresh tropical breeze was all we wanted to do anyway! Thank you so much to the staff and management at Sugar Cane for giving us the most perfect stay-cation we could have imagined! We recommend without hesitation!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Coreenacoreena, Thank you for sharing your review and experience of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa with us and the rest of the World. SCC is a very special place for us in Barbados, and we excelled at delivering the best Barbadian experience there is. We do wish to thank you for your fabulous remarks regarding our Staff, Food and facilities. Our staffs are what make this hotel great. We do appreciate you staying with us and please let me know if I may ever be of service!
Best regards Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Regatta Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.