We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maynards, BB26011, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book now and save 30%
thurso
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a fantastic small A/I hotel - brilliant value for money - food was exceptional - absolutely delicious and beautifully presented!! BEWARE - you WILL put on weight!!!! Very clean hotel - in a lovely setting - staff very accomodating, friendly and helpful - nothing too much of a problem! Rooms spotless!! Gardens lovely and well maintianed - no children - Great for a chilled out time!! If this hotel was on the beach - without a doubt it would be double the money!!! Spa brilliant!

This is not a hotel for folk looking for a beach hotel however they shuttle you back and fore to Port St Charles and Heywoods Beach, Speightstown and Mullins Beach - bascially whenever you want - although they do have set times but they are flexible with that too! just a couple of minutes down the road!! They will make you packed lunches as well!! Nothing is a problem with this hotel!! Credit to the staff too - they are fantatstic!!! - would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    90
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
44
458
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went to Barbados for 10 days just to relax - being 7 months pregnant and not so mobile we weren't after and action packed holiday!

The hotel is not on the beach however is close to Heywood beach and although there is a free shuttle bus even I managed to walk back up the hill from Speightstown to the hotel and the midday sun without any problem at all.

The meals at the hotel were fantastic - buffet breakfast, al a carte lunch and a mixture of al a carte and buffet nights throughout the week so a good selection. Keep your eye out for chocolate brownie and coconut ice cream - if you can squeeze it in! It is worth going all inclusive as prices at the hotel and surrounding restaurants are UK (London) prices.

The rooms may be a little dated and could do with a little updating, however we spent so little time in our room it really didn’t matter.

Most guests disappeared off to their rooms after dinner and so it got very quiet at night. When we arrived there were only 22 guests staying at the hotel, which was ideal for us as we wanted quiet - we even had the pool to ourselves for a whole morning - and on the other days only a handful of people were around the pool. As I understand it from the staff they are due to pick up over the next few months and possibly full throughout December and January.

Lots of guests hired cars for a few days to go off and explore the island which was really easy to do and can be arranged from reception, the roads are fine to drive on. We hired a car with a driver for a day and had picked out a couple of places to go (Andromena Botanical Garden - is excellent and well worth a walk around $12USD pp and Flower Forest $10USD pp).

The only downside was the early morning wake up call from the cockerel at 4am, 6am and again at 7am - I was dying to see cockerel soup on the menu one day! Eventually I got used to it and slept through.

Thank you too all of the staff for making our holiday so relaxing and to the guests that were there at the same time as us, you all made our holiday memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar in layout and it really doesnt matter if you have a sea view or not. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ordino, Andorra
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Sugar Cane Club is close to Speightstown on the west coast of Barbados. Our room had a sea view, balcony, lounge, kitchen, bedroom all to a good standard. The gardens were lovely, surrouding a large pool and sun patio. Other facilities included the spa, gym, squash court, shop, art gallery, walks and a free shuttle service to the beach.

When we arrived, we were urged to sit down, relax and enjoy a welcome drink. Having rested, we checked in from our armchairs and received our key and a short briefing. The key to our wonderful stay was the friendliness and efficiency pf the staff. There was a family atmosphere and a willingness to help, even if it was not their specific job. Nothing was too much trouble.

Our only disappointment was when our stay came to an end. We would gladly have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was our first visit to the hotel so not sure what to expect. We could not have been happier with the facilities and more importantly the amazing service from the staff. The food was exceptional and always beautifully presented. It is a very quiet spot but the hotel offers free transport down to Mullins Bay which offers the traditional Carribean beach experience and the $2 Reggae buses are easily accessible.The highlight for us and our daughter was swimming with the turtles-The General's local knowledge made the trips all the more enjoyable.
We hope to return.

Room Tip: As there were three of us, we had a chalet style accomodation comprising of a large double room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

2nd time in a few months here with my husband. From meeting the owner on the British Airways flight, a real gentleman, just like his staff at the hotel, we never wanted for anything, I understand no one else did either while we were there. There was only between 16 to 20 guest while we stayed. Food 1st class, rooms are spotless, pool crystal clear and drinks to enjoy slowly while resting in the grounds or around the pool. No loud music. No noisy kids here. Guest like us who have stayed before. You will understand why once you stay here. If you need you wifi it's free all over the grounds and in your rooms. Go, enjoy, but please, don't tell every one, hubby and I want to go back without the "loud crowd".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhr
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Came back 3 months later

We came here 3 months ago and have now just returned again
Came via British Airways in their club world cabin great as always and the guy next to us helped my wife with her cabin baggage. We met him again a few days later at the Sugar Cane only to find he was the MD of the hotel group and he like his staff was as courteous then as on the plane, so are 99% of his staff!

The hotel was this time with even less people than 3 months ago which meant on a few days it was waiter services at breakfast!
The Spa treatment and the manager with her staff were even better than last time, bliss....
The pool area, the grounds the rooms the front of house as well as the cooking staff and gardeners all 1st class. Puts lots of 5 star hotels to shame, and no we do not work for this hotel.
The 2nd restaurant which is only open on certain nights was just so laid back the cook and the waitress we had to ourselves as there was no one else booked in!!! 5 star services all the way, and the drinks so good. Try the crab.
The glass bottom boat with the general is a must do.

To the Duty Manager Peter, the MD of the SCC and all the staff of this very well run hotel thank you for such a warm welcome, a well run hotel and the best macaroni on the island of Barbados.
Photos attached.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is definitely not a hotel for ravers. The fact that it is a short distance from the town and the beach really makes it the perfect ‘get-away from it all’ holiday.

My husband and me, and our two friends, were thrilled to be allocated semi-detached bungalows overlooking the gully. They are a real “forest” experience. In fact, we all felt we could live in them permanently.They are well-equipped and maintained, and our bed was unbelievably comfortable. Our friend has a back problem and housekeeping made several attempts to make his bed more comfortable but to no avail. After a few days he asked if he could have a mattress identical to ours which they installed the same day, and he had no more problems throughout the entire holiday.

The grounds are immaculate due to the hard work of the lovely gardeners, a couple of whom became our friends: hi Lavall (sorry, not sure how to spell your name) I hope you’ve still got my friend’s hair-tie in your cap, and thanks Rodney for the great gully walk and delicious coconut water. The entire pool area is equally immaculate and has tables with parasols as well as plenty of loungers. It is also a very relaxing place to sit for a night-cap and a chat after dinner. Most of the guests seem to disappear to their rooms at this time and it is so quiet that all you can hear is the sound of the tiny whistling frogs – it’s almost magical.

I had two visits to the spotlessly clean and peaceful spa. Thank you ladies for your very soothing attention. The gift shop is very well stocked, and this should be borne in mind when shopping in Speightstown as there is very little down there by way of souvenirs, although the town itself is a great place to visit with lots of clothes shops if you need anything extra.

The main restaurant and bar are cool and very pleasant with a magnificent view overlooking the pool area and gully right out to the sea. Sandy’s Chattel House down by the gully is also a great place to eat.

All the food at Sugar Cane is very good, but as many other visitors have commented, perhaps the menus could benefit from a more frequent change, especially for guests who, like us, are there for two weeks or possibly more. However, I can definitely recommend the creme brulee - oh yes! Buffet breakfast is excellent and with the exception of scrambled, the eggs and omelettes are cooked fresh to order.

The hotel runs a regular shuttle bus service to Speightstown and return. Just book your seats at reception and away you go. We also hired a Suzuki Jimny from Drive-A-Matic which we booked through the hotel at a very reasonable charge. We had it for three days and it was totally reliable. The hotel-run turtle trip is a must whether you swim with them or not. It was an experience I appreciated once I was back on board. The General who is in charge of the boat loves his job, he slows down over the coral to show you other interesting things and he just never stops smiling.

It's two weeks since we left and sorry I can't remember everybody's name, but there are a few members of staff I would like to say hello to: Neil the ever-smiling barman; lovely Debra (again, spelling???) in housekeeping; Michelle on reception – she was a great help in getting our boarding passes sorted; Roy the barman, thank you very much for the delicious Bajan seasoning, and a big smackeroo for Ryan. And what can I say about ‘Bo Jangles’ – not his real name, that’s McAlistair, but we liked to call him Bo – he’s a lovely waiter in the restaurant for whom nothing is too much trouble and always gives service with a big smile. To the lovely young ladies in the restaurant, please smile a bit more and show us just how beautiful you are... Last, but definitely not least, Peter, the manager, is an extremely welcoming gentleman who makes all his guests feel special: hi Peter, and the lovely lady who also works alongside you - so sorry, I'm useless at remembering names.

A big thank you to you all at Sugar Cane. The entire holiday in Barbados was wonderful and the more time that passes since I left, the more I wish I was still there. It was a dream that became reality.

Room Tip: The bungalows are brilliant but could be awkward to reach for anyone with walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Regatta Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.