We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dar Zitoune

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dar Zitoune to your Saves list
Hotel Dar Zitoune
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boutarialt El Barrania | P.O Box 313, Taroudant 83000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taroudant
West Malling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our third year in a row at this hotel and I am sure it will not be our last visit. All we want is here. The management and staff are so helpful and friendly. The cottage we stay in is comfortable and clean. One small point - there should be a wash hand basin in the toilet so that one does not have to walk from the toilet to the bathroom. The food is of a good standard and the dinner menu changes daily. The gardens and pool are beautiful, shaded by palms and fruit trees.

Perfect for a holiday just relaxing in the sunshine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    81
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
123
290
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Off an uninspiring road we found a super garden great staff and a wonderful pool.the rooms were good but not luxurious ,private and secluded in the garden.Not a place to spend a week unless you just want to lie in the sun but a great place to stop for the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Well-managed, small hotel in a good location, with a short, cheap taxi ride into Taroudant. Suites are arranged discreetly around the garden and pool areas, and all are large, if a little rustic. We had a refrigerator in the suite - a plus, not always found in higher grade Moroccan hotels. Food and wine were respectable, and inexpensive, although we found the dining room a bit soulless. We stayed 3 nights, but felt the need to eat out if we could have found an equivalent restaurant in town. The ability to eat on our own terrace was a nice touch. All staff were friendly, and keen to help. Good housekeeping; daily replenishment of the fruit and pastries was a treat. All-in-all, a very acceptable place to stay when exploring Taroudant and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Room 16 is nicely situated, but if you like a soft bed, ask for another suite (no guarantee that any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. Very welcoming and good service. Dinner on the terrace was good - personally, we found the dining room a bit sad. Comfortable room and good pool. Recommended for a short break or stop over.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were at Dar Zitoune in early December, which was, I think, the fourth time we were there. We've also recommended it to several friends who were as happy with it as we are. For us, it is the perfect escape from London - it is less than an hour from Agadir airport so our time is well used. We get picked up from the airport by the hotel, which is easiest, but it doesn't cost much more to rent and keep a car if you want to browse around the countryside. Each day we do the 20 minute walk into town, and browse around the markets - Taroudant is still a quiet traditional town, the opposite of the hurly-burly of Marrakech. We spend the rest of the day sitting around the Dar Zitoune pool (which is unheated, and very bracing in December), reading or chatting to the other guests, and trying to spot the tortoises in the gardens. Mostly we eat at the hotel, but there are now several quite decent restaurants in Taroudant (l'Agence or, to be spectacularly overfed, Riad Maryam) town if one wants a change from the Dar Zitoune menus, which are themselves always good. The main improvement we noticed this year is that they have extended the wi-fi, so that one can now get it in the (simple but comfortable) bungalow rooms as well as in the public areas. The service was excellent - the staff are long-serving, and we have known most of them throughout the six years or so that we have been coming. We stay a week, but if your appetite for chilling out is less than ours, you might prefer to have a shorter time here and then move on. But do try to be in Taroudant for the Sunday market, which is a spectacle well worth seeing, ranging from livestock (sheep transported sometimes by bicycle!) to housewares, food ( and the inevitable Chinese tat).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wonderful. Gardens and rooms. A real treat!
Too bad the dinner was not at the level of the rest
We will most likely return to this hotel but find another restaurant for the dinner.
Service is outstanding.

Room Tip: Dinner. 3 stars. average Gardens. 5 stars wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A lovely place to relax with comfortable accommodation, a beautiful pool and attractive areas to sit in and relax. The standard of customer service was excellent and all the staff had obviously been well trained. DWe took the opportunity to relax and do nothing after a hectic 10 days in Morocco and this was the perfect place for us. We had breakfast on the patio outside our bungalow, lunch at the pool, then drinks and snacks in the main terrace area before dinner. Other visitors were on walking tours each day with a guide, and there is plenty to do in the area if you want to. Monaime, the Manager, and the owner, asked us each day if everything was to our satisfaction.

There is some traffic noise from the road which passes in front of the hotel, but our bungalow was set at the back of the complex which helped, and we couldn't hear anything at night.

Just one word of warning- there is another hotel with the same name, which was in our Lonely Planet guidebook, so check when you book which you are going to!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow at the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dar Zitoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Zitoune

Address: Boutarialt El Barrania | P.O Box 313, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Family Hotel in Taroudant
#2 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar Zitoune 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zitoune is located just a few miles from Taroudant. It was created in Berber style using local materials and consist of 14 bungalows and 8 suites, set in 4 acres of landscaped grounds with olive, papaya and citrus trees. The restaurant prepares an excellent choice of Moroccan and European meals including vegetarian options. Amenities : a Spa with Hammam, massage, sauna and other beauty treatments such as manicure, pedicure...Only half an hour from Agadir airport, Dar Zitoune is ideal for clients seeking peace, calm, comfort and luxury. We are so pleased to announce the extension of our hotel of a deluxe Berber village . It's located on the back of the existing garden and composes of 8 tened rooms all equiped with a separate WC and a shower , air-conditioning, TV , satellite wireless, safe and wifi. All the tented room are surrounded by palm trees , roses and olive trees. There is a private swimming pool with a Moroccan restaurant. Tented room are built using local materials in Berber style to make you feel as if you are living in a traditional Moroccan setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Dar Zitoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudant
Riad Dar Zitoune Taroudannt
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudannt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dar Zitoune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.