We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dar Zitoune

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dar Zitoune to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dar Zitoune
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boutarialt El Barrania | P.O Box 313, Taroudant 83000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€88 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Taroudant
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have just spent 6 nights in this hotel and it was a perfect break. The hotel is really beautiful, with glorious gardens and the rooms are in little bungalows dotted around the grounds. The rooms themselves are really lovely, styled in a traditional way but with lovely little details (like the alcove in the shower for the shampoo, and even "window seats" in the shower!). The little pastries which arrived daily were much too good and the food was so delicious each night that it wasn't long before my clothes started to feel a little tight... But what is incredibly special about the hotel is the staff. The owner is always visible, making sure that all is well and not at all "high and mighty" - he welcomed us and immediately picked up suitcases, along with the other reception staff. All the staff were fantastic and so friendly, wanting to make sure that everyone was happy - which we invariably were. The pool was a bit chilly (unheated) but that is the only tiny thing that would have made the stay even more enjoyable. The hammam was glorious and there was a nice outdoor jacuzzi. I highly recommend this hotel - I simply didn't want to leave. Will definitely return there at some stage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a little patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    71
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
104
251
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 5 nights based at Dar Zitoune with our 2 children (12 YO and 14 YO).
Beautiful location.
Friendly and helpful staff.
The gardens are lovely - and free-range tortoises great fun.
Easy access to Taroudant itself, and a great base for eg visits to the High Atlas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have been to Dar Zitoune three times now and have always enjoyed a wonderful stay. Whether in the Spring or Autumn, this hotel provides amazing accommodations in a friendly, family atmosphere. The bungalow was excellent and quiet, in a magnificent garden. The food is delicious and the service excellent. The whole staff is very helpful and considerate and the owner is extremely nice and kind. We'll return for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is one of the best places I stayed in Morocco. It's luxury at still affordable prices, though not cheap compared to other places in Taroudant. I like the city and it's at walking distance from this place to the medina/kasbah and fortified walls etc. We had the cheapest bungalow but it was still luxury for us. Breakfast is included and we chose half board as well. The food is very good and there is a decent wine choice. We liked the wine coolers so much and asked if we could buy one...no need to, because after telling this we got one for free! Friendly folks and the pool is heaven (especially in June with 40 degrees!). Great bungalow, with plenty of space to sit, nice details and beautiful decor. It's also nice because of the fact that's it's quieter than Marrakech or the coast near Agadir, but the area is right in between and at the foot of the Atlas, which make for nice daytrips. Love it and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff at the hotel were exceptional,the food was excellent.the gardens were magnificent,the swimming pool was very cold,not heated.large warm jacuzzi though.nowhere better for March weather within 4hours of UK.

Room Tip: Ask to have table and chairs outside your roomg
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here in February 2112 and simply had to come back, although not for long enough, alas. Sadly the weather was not so good as last year so we didn't use the pool. Again we found the service excellent and the staff very friendly. Also the food was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

A peaceful "oasis" with lovely gardens and an attractive swimming pool just a short drive away from tourist friendly Taroudant. Our very nice bungalow was a shady retreat from the hot sun with a lovely private terrace where we enjoyed an excellent breakfast.

Service was excellent from everyone at Dar Zitoune, and the Receptionist even re-wrapped our purchases from the Souk so well that they travelled around Morocco and arrived back home still firmly wrapped and intact.

Eating a lovely meal by candlelight under the stars while hearing evening calls to prayer was a wonderful experience that remains etched in my memory.

I would thoroughly recommend Dar Zitoune to anyone. It is much better than many so called 5 star hotels and good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taroudant
Charming, Budge...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Jnane Ines
Riad Jnane Ines
#4 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Spa, Independen...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Ain Khadra
Riad Ain Khadra
#3 of 17 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Palais Salam
Palais Salam
#9 of 17 in Taroudant
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Taroudant
Riad Taroudant
#7 of 17 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Dar Fatima
Dar Fatima
#8 of 17 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar Zitoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Zitoune

Address: Boutarialt El Barrania | P.O Box 313, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Family Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar Zitoune 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zitoune is located just a few miles from Taroudant. It was created in Berber style using local materials and consist of 14 bungalows and 8 suites, set in 4 acres of landscaped grounds with olive, papaya and citrus trees. The restaurant prepares an excellent choice of Moroccan and European meals including vegetarian options. Amenities : a Spa with Hammam, massage, sauna and other beauty treatments such as manicure, pedicure...Only half an hour from Agadir airport, Dar Zitoune is ideal for clients seeking peace, calm, comfort and luxury. We are so pleased to announce the extension of our hotel of a deluxe Berber village . It's located on the back of the existing garden and composes of 8 tened rooms all equiped with a separate WC and a shower , air-conditioning, TV , satellite wireless, safe and wifi. All the tented room are surrounded by palm trees , roses and olive trees. There is a private swimming pool with a Moroccan restaurant. Tented room are built using local materials in Berber style to make you feel as if you are living in a traditional Moroccan setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Dar Zitoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudant
Riad Dar Zitoune Taroudannt
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudannt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dar Zitoune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.