We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to come back to!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dar Zitoune

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dar Zitoune to your Saves list
Hotel Dar Zitoune
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boutarialt El Barrania | P.O Box 313, Taroudant 83000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A great place to come back to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were here for four days last year and enjoyed it so much we extended our stay to seven days this year. Dar Zitoune has not changed it is the beautiful and friendly place we remembered.
To sit by the fantastic pool under the shade of trees laden with fruit is as near a perfect holiday as I can imagine. We asked for and got the same room as before just a few paces from the pool. Everyone on the staff is so friendly, nothing is ever too much trouble. The food is brilliant, there is always something interesting on the menu and it is excellent value. The orange juice at breakfast is heavenly. There is something about this hotel that makes you feel more like a house guest than just a client. Well managed, beautifully clean with modern fittings, I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    76
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
117
267
16
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is the perfect place to relax - the 'bungalows' in the grounds are beautifully designed (in traditional Moroccan style) and very well-equipped. The gardens and pool provide a lovely setting and the staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

A beautiful entrance and main building awaits you when you arrive at Dar Zitoune, it is a wonder to behold. A beautiful very well maintain garden leads to the plush self contained bungalows. The rooms are equipped to the highest standard, with an amazing bathroom and shower suite. The pool side is peaceful and the attendants were friendly, bring towels and drinks. A lovely place to spend a few days, we had a wonderful time staying. It was a delight having breakfast brought to our terrace outside the bungalow, make certain you are hungry – the portions are very large. The local orange juice they serve is very delicious. By far the highlight of the stay is the exceptional food, a strongly French influenced menu awaits hunger diners. The expertly prepared 5 course meals were a delight, and worth going to Dar Zitoune for it alone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed at this lovely hotel for only one night, will definatly stay longer next time. Charming rooms in a garden full of orange and lemon trees the smell was beautiful and the bird song in the morning exotic.
Very pleasent, helpful staff. Breakfast served in room at no extra cost. We ate ours on our very own patio.
The food was very good. Only slight complaint was that there was a small tour group of English people saying the night we were there; always a bit of a disappointment for the independnt traveller.

Room Tip: all good depends whether you prefere to be naer the pool or prefere a more secluded setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We spent the first two days of our Marocco trip in that beautiful riad, coming from Agadir Airport it was just an hour drive. The garden is beautiful, full of orange trees and colourful plants, even though we were not lucky with the wheater, we enjoyed the garden and the pool area. The staff is super friendly also with kids, very helpful and relaxed. Dinner was excellent (we booked half board), the bungalows are nicely decorated, with a wonderful shower and there is space enough for a little family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We only had two nights here, but the hotel is excellant. Stayed on a half board basis.
Breakfasts are simple continental, but the dinner was superb. Start with an amusee bouche followed by five courses including soup, starter, main,cheese and desert followed by coffee or mint tea. we both found it impossible to eat so much. All courses were delicious, the best food we have had so far in Morocco.
The gardens are beautiful - the roses were in full bloom and the air was full of their perfume. I was pleased to hear that water is recycled to be used on the garden to keep it in such good order.
Didn't try the pool as I had a cold and the weather wasn't at it's best, but the heated pool felt really warm to the big toe.
The staff were without exception helpful, cheerful and smiling.
Taroudant doesn't have an awful lot to offer, but our run through the Atlas mountains via Tizi n' Test ( at 2100 metres) was worth the effort. Don't believe all you hear about the mountain pass - yes the road is only tarmaced in the middle but there is more than adequate space for passing and there was very little traffic. You are not likely to be dashing along at high speed anyway so it is safe.
The rooms are small 'cottages', not luxurious but comfortable, only complaint I would make is that they are dark, so difficult to read unless right under the lamp.
We felt it was very good value for money at 1800 dirhams (about £140) per couple per night dinner, bed and breakfast

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINT MARTENS LATEM BELGIUM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel has a very typical moroccen character from the point of view of decoration. The reception was excellent, high standard and personal. The assistance is friendly and professional, good advices. The rooms are big and well perfectly equiped, clean and fresh. Perfect big bathroom. The garden is a dream : plenty of marvellous roses, well taken care of.
Quiet swimming pool area. The kitchen is marrocan/international with high standard and friendly service. The owners were making a regular tour to check if everything was according to our wishes. You can easily stay there for a couple of days and make trips to taroudant, to the east and south region and every night come home in a heaven of piece !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dar Zitoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Zitoune

Address: Boutarialt El Barrania | P.O Box 313, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar Zitoune 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zitoune is located just a few miles from Taroudant. It was created in Berber style using local materials and consist of 14 bungalows and 8 suites, set in 4 acres of landscaped grounds with olive, papaya and citrus trees. The restaurant prepares an excellent choice of Moroccan and European meals including vegetarian options. Amenities : a Spa with Hammam, massage, sauna and other beauty treatments such as manicure, pedicure...Only half an hour from Agadir airport, Dar Zitoune is ideal for clients seeking peace, calm, comfort and luxury. We are so pleased to announce the extension of our hotel of a deluxe Berber village . It's located on the back of the existing garden and composes of 8 tened rooms all equiped with a separate WC and a shower , air-conditioning, TV , satellite wireless, safe and wifi. All the tented room are surrounded by palm trees , roses and olive trees. There is a private swimming pool with a Moroccan restaurant. Tented room are built using local materials in Berber style to make you feel as if you are living in a traditional Moroccan setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dar Zitoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudant
Riad Dar Zitoune Taroudannt
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudannt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dar Zitoune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.