We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Gazelle d'Or surpassed our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gazelle d'Or

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taroudant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Gazelle d'Or
Save Saved
You added La Gazelle d'Or to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route d'Amezgrou, Taroudant, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“La Gazelle d'Or surpassed our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

My wife and I are obsessed with fine hotels and for many years we had heard of La Gazelle d’Or as one of the great hotels of the world. Finally we were in a position to travel to Morocco and we made our booking. Quite simply it was everything we had expected and more. From the moment we stepped out of the airport we were in the care of their staff and it did not stop until we went back to the airport.

Having traveled extensively it is easy to find a hotel with consummate service, and also a hotel with bad service but it is very challenging to find a hotel where they know exactly when to offer service and when to leave you alone. La Gazelle d’0r had the exact balance.

We arrived late from London in the early hours of the morning and we saw very little of the hotel on arrival apart from of wonderful antipasto that had been left compliments of the hotel. So the next morning my wife drew the curtains and what we saw took our breath away. The mountains behind a sea of roses and manicured gardens…..

We spent our days by the pool (and there were some very famous guests close by), and the lunch is extensive and then in the afternoons we walked around the grounds and our advice to future guests would be to enjoy the massage and Hammam. ( We left it to the second last day which we regretted)

We were introduced to the owner at dinner one night and she explained the history. Her drive and passion for La Gazelle d'Or were clear.

We did venture out to Taroudant the local town and were relieved to find that bit had not been affected by tourism to the same degree as Marrakech and other areas and there were some wonderful things in the souk …. But look carefully as they are sometimes hidden away in the backs of the shops.

The best way to describe La Gazelle d'Or is to to say that it is understated, exclusive very stylish and that it remains one of the great hotels of the world. We have booked again for the Autumn.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    12
    2
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

I can't rate this hotel highly enough, it really is an oasis of luxury with stunning grounds and charming staff. The food is truly excellent and the feeling of relaxation is unsurpassed. If you have the chance to go, you should take it. We stayed for five days during our honeymoon and hope to visit again one day.

  • Liked — Comfortable and spacious, with luxurious room service
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2007

After hearing about this place for so many years I looked forward to going with friends.

Arrived after a very long drive (7 hours from Marrakesh with lunch halfway) to need the ladies room while rest of friends checked in.

Eight of us.

Ladies room. No lights on, had a hard time finding light switch, and loo rolls all over the top of it where the flush knob was. This is one of the top places to stay in the world?

Not a good start.

Joined my friends at check in. Friendly reception but insensitive to the fact we were tired and just needed our rooms and not all the blurb about facilities etc.

Large bungalows with lovely balconies, except for bare bulb hanging from fixture, but not welcoming as all cushions were not in place and unswept. I put cushions back on chairs, went and had a shower and back to balcony to relax to find my cushions stacked again.

My front door was right opposite my dressing room that had no privacy and front door had glass panels on both sides so that anyone at my front door could see me.

Soap horrid. Smelled like carbolic. Creams etc not up to standard one would expect from a place of this calibre.

Off to dinner. Drinks in bar first where cans of drinks came with alcohol. Not good enough. Surely they should come in small carafes.

Dinner good but dreary dining room. Staff seemed upset that we were dining late. Staff did not even open cheese trolley when presenting it. By this time we had seen enough.

Our host and hostess decided we were all leaving the next day even though we had prebooked for 3 days stay there.

Organised a lovely breakfast next morning on balcony, but view of a very tired garden did not lift spirits, but golden labrador did.

This is not an hotel to go and luxuriate . It needs maintenance and training before they can charge what they are at the moment.

We had just come from absolute luxury renting a house in the Palmeraie in Marrakesh and this was to be a follow on.

Extremely disappointing.

  • Liked — the golden labradors
  • Disliked — lack of sensitive service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

Eight of us recently booked into this Hotel for a three night stay.
Sadly, it does not live up to it's past reputation.
The Hotel needs a serious overhaul. It is dreary and uncared for. The gardens could be glorious but are unwatered and rubbish littered the flower beds.
The pool area is dirty and many of the tiles are chipped and broken.
No clean towels and the staff are not helpful and welcoming.
Coke tins and plastic water bottles on the dinner table for a Hotel of this calibre is not acceptable.
We did not stay the 3 nights.

  • Liked — Large area
  • Disliked — For the space it had little charm or luxury!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

We had already booked the hotel when we read some of the not-so-good reviews posted here, but pleased to report that we found the hotel a beautiful and peaceful place to relax. We stayed for a week in one of the bungalows a short stroll from the stunning swimming pool. To say we didn't lift a finger all week is an understatement-we were thoroughly looked after and the staff were fantastic (the owner runs a very tight ship!). Breakfast on our terrace and lunch by the pool were excellent, dinner was slightly over-ambitious on a couple of evenings but on the whole very good.

  • Liked — The room and terrace
  • Disliked — Dinner was disappointing on a couple of evenings
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2007

We stayed in this hotel at the end of two weeks travelling in Morocco. The hotel charges premium rates and first impressions were good. The hotel and grounds are lovely and the accomodation excellent but be warned. We stayed for two nights and the quality of food in the evening was awful. We had better meals in motel stops around Morocco. Service was OK but not up to standard for a hotel of this type. Another gripe I would have is with the a/c in the room this was not sufficient and at night even in September it was uncomfortable to sleep.
I believe this was once a fantastic hotel and is living on a past reputation with the patronage of loyal guests. I,m afraid to say it is not worth the money in our opinion.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

This is an amazing property, and the owners are very lucky to have such a space. Before we travelled people had said that this was 'the best hotel in the world', and to be honest, I'd hate to know where they'd stayed before, as La Gazelle d'Or is extremely flawed. Perhaps it may have been 'off' season, and certainly, it was not full during our stay (perhaps 1/3 capacity). However, for a hotel with such a reputation and price, I expected much more. We stayed 3 nights, and had a very relaxing stay, as the accomodation and common areas are extremely pleasant and spacious. During those three days, Madame approached us once, on arrival, and did not come near us after that, although it seemed that she was very chummy with the rest of the guests. 2 out of 3 dinners were of very basic chalet-standard level; thankfully, the last one was quite nice. Soup, entree, main, cheese, desert, tea & coffee are served, and it would perhaps be more economic (and satisfying) to serve fewer courses and substantially better food? The savoury courses were very substandard. Room service and pool side meals were OK, although on three occassions lunch / breakfast arrived cold (when they should have been hot). This was rather slack. In the 3 days we were there, the shop was not open once, despite the staff claiming that it would be open each morning and evening. The spa is very pleasant and services are reasonably priced. The fitness room is basic but is apparently only temporary. The 'croquet set' was incomplete and clearly many many years old. However, the last straw was being charged around £20 for one hour tennis court and ancient racket hire. We were not aware of this charge in advance as we had naturally assumed that use of tennis courts and old rackets would be part of the serivce, as they are lauded as a big part of the 'facilities available'. I can see the charm of this place, but at these prices, unless the management pull their socks up and desist from sharp practices like charging for racket hire, I will not return and would not recommend anyone go there. I have stayed at many more pleasant, better run hotels than this one. If this really was off season they should lower their rates.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gazelle d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gazelle d'Or

Address: Route d'Amezgrou, Taroudant, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taroudant
#4 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — La Gazelle d'Or 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
La Gazelle d`Or Hotel Taroudant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gazelle d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.