We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still doing what it does best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gazelle d'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Gazelle d'Or to your Saves list
La Gazelle d'Or
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route d'Amezgrou | B.P. 260, Taroudant 8300, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taroudant
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Still doing what it does best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The Gazelle d'Or is a classic! The hotel, pool and cottages are perfection. One reviewer noted lax management. Things are changing. When we were there at the beginning of March, the new manager, Ziad, was really on top of things. The whole place has changed since we came here over 30 years ago and Ziad is continuously making improvements. For example, we went with him when he went shopping for some new carpets.
The restaurant was excellent. The Menu changes each day rather than having a core of dishes and one different per day. One unlikely highlight was ordering breakfast. It is worth going to the Gazelle d'Or for the pleasure of having your breakfast order taken by 'phone by Fatima. She is a real star! And breakfast turned up at our cottage very quickly.
Another star is the pianist, Adam. He has an enormous repertoire - as well as a fund of stories.
We had a day trip to Essouira to the Coast. A three hour trip each way but well worth it.
The little town of Taroudant is delightfully calm after Marrakesh but the Soukh was just as interesting. It is 20 dirham (£1.33) 5 minute trip from the hotel.
We stayed in Room 17 which was huge and perfect.
I would definitely recommend the hotel

Room Tip: Room 17 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    17
    4
    5
    8
See reviews for
12
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Axbridge
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

This hotel is situated in beautiful gardens with orange and lemon trees, roses and bouganvillea. The rooms are spacious cottages scattered amongst the grounds, each with private terraces and sunbeds. Our room on first sight looked large and pleasant. It was spotlessly clean but little things let it down. For example, the door did not lock properly, the windows were going rusty, the huge bath took so long to fill that we gave up and used the shower, the heating was not adequate for the size of the room. However, it was nice to have a separate dressing room with plenty of cupboard space, the bed was large and comfortable and it was certainly quiet and peaceful.
When we went to the main building for dinner the staff were noticable by their absence. Eventually someone came to serve drinks. We had no idea where the dining room was as we hadn`t been shown this on arrival. The food was very good and the staff quite friendly by then. At the end of our meal a superb pianist was playing in the bar which rounded off the evening very nicely.
The next morning we went for breakfast around 8-00 to find the place deserted yet again. The whole place seemed to be lacking in atmosphere and in my opinion needs a good manager to bring it altogether. Perhaps there was a certain laxity while we were there as there were only 7 guests in total during our one night stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

I would loved to have given 5 stars, I give 4, but if I wanted to be critical its actually only 3.

It is a shame, this place has a lot of potential. The villas, the park, the setting is amazing, it really is. Some design elements are a true delight for travelers who are fan of the 60ties (Maroccan stile).

But the management does not pay too much attention to detail (it used to be different, we stayed here before). There are unfortunately too many imperfections to be able to put this place up where it aspires to be.

Food is OK, there were very good dishes, some not really (suggestion to the kitchen: if the hotel is not too busy, ask the guests in the morning what they would like for dinner and at what time, so the food does justice to the products used and the love put into the cooking. Suggestion to the management: Don't be too shy to talk to your guests

Staff is great, Hamam is a real treat!!

We really love this place and will come back but a bit disappointed here.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Everything about La Gazelle D'Or was superb. Coincidently, a grand march was playing as we left the lobby for our room. The service was outstanding. The gardens soothing. The bar and restaurant areas are grand with classical music playing. We were assigned a spacious suite which was most comfortable. We would have been happy to stay for a week but unfortunately our schedule allowed for only one night.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there are any second class rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Was beautiful! Everything was magical! I felt as if i was in a 1001 nights. The new management has been great and made our stay as pleasant as possible. Hopefully we will be back soon to enjoy another wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

a unique hotel of its kind...
helpful staff, excellent service, great food and wonderful gardens.
a place where you can really disconnect...
the rooms are very spacious and very clean. the fire place makes it very cosy.
the restaurant and the piano-bar decorated in a majestical taste.
i really recommend you to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

very luxurious gardens, privacy assured, gorgeous surroundings. had a fantastic massage with the male masseur...my dressing room was the biggest I've ever had in my life, and I left the hotel after a few days feeling wonderfully relaxed and invigorated

Room Tip: i think they all must be good as they all enjoy private gardens and terraces and/or direct access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Gazelle d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gazelle d'Or

Address: Route d'Amezgrou | B.P. 260, Taroudant 8300, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taroudant
#5 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Gazelle d'Or 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel La Gazelle d'Or, a unique and blissfully peacefully retreat, is one of the last few private-owned places in the world where you can find complete quiet, tranquillity and serenity. Although it is only a short three-hour trip from major European cities, you will still find a vibrant exotic culture, bright colour and beautiful weather. In less than half a day, you can leave behind the stress of modern life, and nestle into the comfort and peace of this sunny corner of the world. Only 30 suites in stone cottages in an organic country estate of over 125 acres, boutique hotel La Gazelle d'Or is a place which will leave you steeped in the mystery and magic of the orient, while cosseted with all the latest modern conveniences. The real world seems a million miles away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Gazelle d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gazelle d`Or Hotel Taroudant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gazelle d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.