We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - this was good but seriously expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gazelle d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Gazelle d'Or to your Saves list
La Gazelle d'Or
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route d'Amezgrou, Taroudant, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
brighton
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wow - this was good but seriously expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A superb place to spend a few days relaxing (if the weather is good). The accommodation is spectacular, spacious and pampering, with lingering breakfast on the terrace whilst enjoying the splendid view towards the Atlas mountains. One's senses are aroused by the orange blossom and flowers. Walks in the extensive grounds - visit the camels and donkeys. Hammams and massages, huge pool, great buffet lunch. Dinner - a little disappointing - not quite up to the 5 star standard of everything else - but pretty good. Staff all wonderful. The only downside - it's exorbitantly expensive (by comparison to other similar places round the world). 3 nights with meals, hammam and massage etc was £1800 - and that was with a very welcome discount - thank you! If money is no object.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    14
    2
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

When in Taroudant we wished to have one 1st class meal, so we booked an evening meal at this old hunting lodge, just outside the town, (men and women should dress well) the best way is to take your own car, to have a taxi to collect and fetch is a poor second choice Drinks in a wounderful cocktail bar with a roaring fire, then dinner, old fashioned, but solid good food, sad the cheese board was poor they would do better using local cheese what we got was not 5 star. the service was attentive, beware this is an expensive treat but worth it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have just returned from a really lovely week of relaxation and detox at the wonderful Gazelle d'Or. I went on the back of recommendations and was very impressed. It is a stunning setting, with a very traditional feel surrounded by the height of luxury. The service was attentive and friendly, the food was delicious (lunchtime buffet by the pool saw me going for seconds and sometimes thirds!) and the comfort was above all abundant. Dinner in the dining room was very smart with a new menu every evening.
It was a lovely week of lounging by the pool or in our own private little garden (attached to the bungalow) safe in the knowledge that I had been either for a run through the orchards and surrounding fields, or been to the gym. I went to the Spa for Hammams and massages towards the evenings and on one occasion we went for a trek in the foothills of the Atlas mountains. All very healthy and just the break away from London that I was needing.
It is a very private resort with each suite almost its own bungalow. It is a friendly hotel with the staff always ready to offer assistance if needed, but I found myself immersed in the surroundings and in a relaxed state of zen -Thank you!!

Top marks and I cannot wait to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We arrived in a rainy, cold afternoon. The rooms were freezing. The radiators were cold. We turned on the heater/airconditioner mounted on the wall. After 1/2 hour of continuing to shiver, we realized it wasn't working. Called and they sent space heaters. After another 1/2 hour of freezing, we realized they were broken. Called again and went to dinner. An excellent dinner would have gone a long way to redeem the situation, but it was mediocre! What a disappointment. When we finally talked to the manager, affirming that in a hotel like this one, the rooms should be prepared for the guests, he dismissed us and then actually got angry. Nightmare experience. VERY badly run hotel.

Room Tip: Frankly, I would avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a super place to go to get away from everything, on one visit with the family we were the only ones there apart from Conde Nast Traveller photographers, models and crew!
For a couple, it is romantic and secluded. The rooms are suites and huge with their own walled gardens. The bathrooms are amazing and with a wonderfully deep bath, large enough for two.
Breakfast is wonderful, and served on your own private terrace. The fruit veg come from the hotels organic garden that you are free to walk around. The hammam is great and very reasonable. The town is within easy walking distance but the hotel will provide a car to take you there. The walled city and souk is a wonder and we have spent many enjoyable and fun evenings engaged in haggling and drinking mint tea in the souk. Our introduction to this superb hotel was through my parents who have been going there for 30+ years; that alone speaks for a wonder review itself!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have been staying at La Gazelle d'Or for twelve years, latterly twice a year and repeatedly meet the same people who choose to stay at the time of year that we choose. We are both well travelled and stay, where possible, in good hotels which provide what we need depending on the type of holiday we have decided to take.

La Gazelle d'Or provides exactly what we need every time we go back. Unobtrusive but attentive staff, a beautiful suite (all rooms at the hotel are suites, some larger than others), divine bedding, enormous bathroom with a separate shower and separate loo and a basin each with a large amount of space to spread out toiletries etc.

You may ask what it is we need? Rest, relaxation, good food/wine and sunshine. The hotel cannot guarantee the latter, although late May/early June and late September/early October are usually a good bet in our experience. We have done all the excursions which can be achieved in our early years of visiting and so these days rarely leave the hotel. I occasionally pop into Taroudant using an hotel car, the driver of which will find a good and reliable guide as it’s easy to get lost in the souk! If you do fancy the odd day out the places you can visit are beautifully and faithfully described in the hotel details in your room. Rest, is easy, relaxation somewhat depends on the individual but we find the peaceful surroundings help enormously and the food is lovely. Almost all of it comes from the hotel farm and vegetable gardens and is very healthy. There is a selection of local wine and French wine – both are very drinkable!! We have yet to find another hotel anywhere in the world in the middle of the countryside that has a pianist playing exquisitely every evening whilst you enjoy aperitifs and dinner in the outdoor restaurant. It’s just magical. The fact that you do not need to get dressed to “go down” for breakfast is a bonus. All breakfasts are served on the terrace of your suite and arrive a few minutes after you pick the phone up to order.

I don’t want to repeat in detail what some of the best reviews on this site say as we would agree with what they have said but if you’ve never been and fancy a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle of daily life the La Gazelle d’Or is the place to go. The flight from London is less than four hours to Agadir and the journey time from the airport to the hotel is forty five minutes. It has become our second home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We spent a day on the spectacular and dizzying drive from Marrakesh through the Atlas mountains to Tarroudant. As we drove close to the hotel we were almost blinded by a brief dust storm, but the grounds are beautifully landscaped with gardens and other plantings - really an oasis in a dry land. No dust except when we went into town.

My wife favors "casita" style accommodations - your own bungalow with privacy, opening directly to the outdoors. That's exactly what they offer here, and the rooms were perfect. Dark and comfortable when you wanted to sleep or nap, bright and cheery for sitting and reading, with a delightful patio for breakfast, reading and relaxing. Many hotels these days have "rainshower" shower heads, but never so perfect as this large and inviting round shower with its very attractive modern tiles. The patio let on to a large lawn shared among the guests, and a short walk across the lawn lead to large and inviting swimming pool.

The staff was warm and accommodating, never overbearing or in your face.

Breakfast was served every morning on our private patio and was very good. The other meals were not quite as good as we would have hoped for a destination resort, but this usually seems to be the case for us. We were much happier with the Moroccan dishes than the European (I'm a vegetarian so never that big on continental cuisine). Not sure we'll ever make it back to Morocco, but if we do we'll also return to Gazelle D'Or for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gazelle d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gazelle d'Or

Address: Route d'Amezgrou, Taroudant, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taroudant
#4 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Gazelle d'Or 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Gazelle d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gazelle d`Or Hotel Taroudant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gazelle d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.