We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gazelle d'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Gazelle d'Or to your Saves list
La Gazelle d'Or
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route d'Amezgrou, Taroudant, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our Second Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have been staying at La Gazelle d'Or for twelve years, latterly twice a year and repeatedly meet the same people who choose to stay at the time of year that we choose. We are both well travelled and stay, where possible, in good hotels which provide what we need depending on the type of holiday we have decided to take.

La Gazelle d'Or provides exactly what we need every time we go back. Unobtrusive but attentive staff, a beautiful suite (all rooms at the hotel are suites, some larger than others), divine bedding, enormous bathroom with a separate shower and separate loo and a basin each with a large amount of space to spread out toiletries etc.

You may ask what it is we need? Rest, relaxation, good food/wine and sunshine. The hotel cannot guarantee the latter, although late May/early June and late September/early October are usually a good bet in our experience. We have done all the excursions which can be achieved in our early years of visiting and so these days rarely leave the hotel. I occasionally pop into Taroudant using an hotel car, the driver of which will find a good and reliable guide as it’s easy to get lost in the souk! If you do fancy the odd day out the places you can visit are beautifully and faithfully described in the hotel details in your room. Rest, is easy, relaxation somewhat depends on the individual but we find the peaceful surroundings help enormously and the food is lovely. Almost all of it comes from the hotel farm and vegetable gardens and is very healthy. There is a selection of local wine and French wine – both are very drinkable!! We have yet to find another hotel anywhere in the world in the middle of the countryside that has a pianist playing exquisitely every evening whilst you enjoy aperitifs and dinner in the outdoor restaurant. It’s just magical. The fact that you do not need to get dressed to “go down” for breakfast is a bonus. All breakfasts are served on the terrace of your suite and arrive a few minutes after you pick the phone up to order.

I don’t want to repeat in detail what some of the best reviews on this site say as we would agree with what they have said but if you’ve never been and fancy a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle of daily life the La Gazelle d’Or is the place to go. The flight from London is less than four hours to Agadir and the journey time from the airport to the hotel is forty five minutes. It has become our second home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    14
    2
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We spent a day on the spectacular and dizzying drive from Marrakesh through the Atlas mountains to Tarroudant. As we drove close to the hotel we were almost blinded by a brief dust storm, but the grounds are beautifully landscaped with gardens and other plantings - really an oasis in a dry land. No dust except when we went into town.

My wife favors "casita" style accommodations - your own bungalow with privacy, opening directly to the outdoors. That's exactly what they offer here, and the rooms were perfect. Dark and comfortable when you wanted to sleep or nap, bright and cheery for sitting and reading, with a delightful patio for breakfast, reading and relaxing. Many hotels these days have "rainshower" shower heads, but never so perfect as this large and inviting round shower with its very attractive modern tiles. The patio let on to a large lawn shared among the guests, and a short walk across the lawn lead to large and inviting swimming pool.

The staff was warm and accommodating, never overbearing or in your face.

Breakfast was served every morning on our private patio and was very good. The other meals were not quite as good as we would have hoped for a destination resort, but this usually seems to be the case for us. We were much happier with the Moroccan dishes than the European (I'm a vegetarian so never that big on continental cuisine). Not sure we'll ever make it back to Morocco, but if we do we'll also return to Gazelle D'Or for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The staff was so much fun yet very professional.
Breakfast on your private terrace in the comfy robe was soooooo relaxing.
Lunch enjoyed around the pool was fun and delicious followed by a spa treatment.
Relax and walk around the lovely gardens.
Cocktail hour then off to the dinning room to be wowed by the dinner.
The evening cools and someone comes to light you a cozy fire.
Enjoy a good read from a great book from the library and softly doze off. EXQUISITE.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This exquisite hotel was recommended by the two friends who came with us and who have stayed there twice before. If you need a week of relaxation and being looked after by kind attentive but unobtrusive staff in glorious surroundings, then this is the place.

Needing some winter sun, we made a late decision to fly to Agadir and spend a February week lazing about in southern Morocco. We were met at the airport by the hotel car and driven the hour or so back to the hotel, where we were met by a kind staff member with glasses of sweet mint tea...just the thing for a tired thirsty traveller.

Our suites, bungalows in the grounds of the hotel, were absolutely charming, a sofa and armchair beside a fireplace in a huge room with a comfortable bed - separate dressing area with tons of storage, room safe etc, and vast bathroom with sarcophagus bath, tiled walk-in shower and separate loo with its own window..The excellent soap is locally made with olive oil and not drenched with artificial scent.

Outside our French windows was a charming terrace with bourgainvillea and a lemon tree groaning with fruit. The decor is put together with an un-erringly artistic hand - polished plaster walls, Berber rugs and a kind of gentle hip luxury. It entirely avoids the hard edged over-upholstered mistakes of the luxury chains. Charming touches abound, external paths and steps outlined by candles in lanterns (as well as efficient discreet electric lights), a beautiful collection of local pottery jars on the centre table in the dining room, comfortable loungers by the pool....Ah, the pool. Large, pretty and heated, with the surrounding area planted with olive trees to provide shade over lunch tables. A daily buffet lunch with interesting and unusual salads and tagines and one day a celestial seafood paella makes a high point for the day before another nap! `you can go for walks around the organic farm, visit the horses and a camel with a new curly-headed baby. The hotel will provide transport for a visit to the Taroudant souk, (charming again, and best visited with a nice guide), as well as the co-operative where local women make argan oil products, Morocco's answer to dry skin.

The dinners in the pretty dining room were excellent, quite simply cooked using organic food from the farm and kindly served by more well-rained helpful staff.

Oh dear, I forgot to mention the breakfasts. The latest we asked for breakfast was 11 am, we rang room service and it arrived in 10 minutes, served on the terrace looking over the garden, porridge, Moroccan pancakes and pastries with huge thermos pots of coffee.

This is a hotel where you can be very private as as such is attractive to celebrities - yes there was one staying there and no I won't say who it was, but he was quite unbothered by the other guests and was able to enjoy his time with his family party.

We flew back to London from Marrakesh and had a stupendous day's drive over the snow-tipped Atlas mountains to get there, with a pause for lunch,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

La Gazelle d'Or is lovely little resort, in a beautiful and exotic Berber town. Our "Jacaranda Suite" was exceptionally tasteful in design, with a particularly impressive bathroom (see photos). The staff is most gracious and attentive. Do not miss the poolside, lunch buffet, one of our best meals in Morocco. La Gazelle d'Or does, however, requires some improvements. The pool should be heated in cooler weather. One should be able to swim at a resort year round but we could not here, in February. The public areas could afford updated decor, especially better art on the walls.
I noticed that the clientele tends to be older. A younger crowd might be enjoy a "Canyon Ranch" like concept, including yoga classes and an alternative spa menu. The resort grows much of its own organic produce, enjoys clean air and a salubrious climate. Such a transformation would be natural, in the most literal sense.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

La Gazelle D'Or is the perfect place to get away from it all. We visited over Christmas to get away from the full on, commercial, in-your-face bore Christmas has become in the UK.

It is close to Taroudant (but not close enough to walk in my opinion) so that you can absorb the melee of the souks and markets with Moroccans going about their daily business and about 45 minutes from Agadir which is far more commercialised. If you are travelling from the UK, BMI now offer a twice service from Heathrow so that you don't have to travel by car for 3-4 hours from Marrakech.

The hotel is located in grounds of a couple of hundred acres. Much of the land is farmed and the end results can be sampled in the restaurant! The grounds are very well maintained by an army of gardeners wearing bright orange jump suits, vaguely reminiscent of Guantanamo Bay. They do a grand job and are very smiley and appreciate you taking time to admire their work.

There are about 30 villas in total. One line of about 16 (closer to the restaurant and main building) overlook vast lawns. A second row behind them (separated by trees and an access road (used by horses and the occasional donkey)) have their own 'back garden' shared with a pair - great if you have children as each pair of villas has an interconnecting door.

The villas themselves are huge with a great open fire and seating, a large and comfortable bed, a dressing area and massive bathroom with walk-in shower and two separate sinks.

I liked the fact that it had its own front garden too, complete with lemon tree. There was also a lovely terrace at the back with built in seating which was covered in white roses and jasmine. This is where breakfast was served. A quick call to room service and breakfast was upon you in a matter of moments. The standard breakfast included wonderful fresh clementine juice, pancakes, muesli, pastries, fruit and yoghurt - definitely enough to see you through until lunchtime!!

If you don't fancy the walk up to the pool area, each villa has two comfortable sun loungers where you can read and soak up the sun in privacy. You may even be joined by the hotel's old and arthritic dog - Timo - who lurches in and tends to stay with you all day if you are around. The garden is big enough for a game of croquet which helps pass the time and isn't too strenuous an activity to be going on with.

The pool is a real boon - particularly because of its size - good for lengths. So many of the pools in Marrakech for example are just plunge pools. The only problem was that it wasn't heated very well (at all??!!) and it felt like you were swimming in icy waters for the first few days. The owner soon realised and got the heating turned up and it got more bearable!

Lunch - a buffet - is served poolside and offers very similar salads and tagines every day, so a bit of a disappointment if you are expecting variety. Dinner is served in the restaurant and although perfectly edible was not stunning and we did expect more. Unfortunately, there was no escape from Christmas even here (the French influence) and we had to endure a gala dinner on Christmas Eve, for the French and a gala dinner on Christmas Day, for the Brits. Christmas trees were also placed on tables in the centre of the dining room as well as strategically around the bar area.

One of the more permanent staff fixtures at the hotel is Adam who is very friendly and a great piano player to boot, so it was great to have an aperitif while he was 'tinkling the ivories'.

Talking of staff, the service was excellent. All of the waiters were very attentive and keen to ensure that you had everything you wanted. They were also keen to practice their English and the longer you stay the better the rapport.

While we were staying, the owner (Rita) was also there and she was keen to ensure that everyone was enjoying themselves and encouraged people to tell her if there was anything amiss - sometimes difficult for us Brits to do - much easier to moan about it behind closed doors!!

The one criticism that I do have about this idyllic hideaway, and it maybe just because of the time of year we were there, is that I felt that we were intruding on a regular gathering where everone knew each other. It was a tad cliquey and those people who had not been to the hotel before were a little marginalised and easy to spot. That said, the staff did not differentiate between those guests who had been there before and those that hadn't.

It is without doubt a real 'away from it all' place - restful, peaceful and beautiful. It has an atmosphere and environment where you can recharge your batteries, regroup, read all those novels you haven't got round to or even write your own! All in all a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have just returned from a months stay at the Gazelle d'Or. We go there every year because it is unique. The hotel is bungalows set in the most beautiful garden. The staff are attentive and helpful to the nth degree. The cooking seems to have improved, with a high standard offered and plent of alternatives, so one can choose to eat Moroccan or European, or have your order something special within reason.

Everyone loves the piano played every evening by Adam, who also doubles up as a genial host

Most people who visit the Gazelle return over and over again and always get a warm welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gazelle d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gazelle d'Or

Address: Route d'Amezgrou, Taroudant, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taroudant
#4 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Gazelle d'Or 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Gazelle d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gazelle d`Or Hotel Taroudant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gazelle d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.