We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gazelle d'Or

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taroudant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Gazelle d'Or
Save Saved
You added La Gazelle d'Or to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route d'Amezgrou, Taroudant, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

La Gazelle D'Or is the perfect place to get away from it all. We visited over Christmas to get away from the full on, commercial, in-your-face bore Christmas has become in the UK.

It is close to Taroudant (but not close enough to walk in my opinion) so that you can absorb the melee of the souks and markets with Moroccans going about their daily business and about 45 minutes from Agadir which is far more commercialised. If you are travelling from the UK, BMI now offer a twice service from Heathrow so that you don't have to travel by car for 3-4 hours from Marrakech.

The hotel is located in grounds of a couple of hundred acres. Much of the land is farmed and the end results can be sampled in the restaurant! The grounds are very well maintained by an army of gardeners wearing bright orange jump suits, vaguely reminiscent of Guantanamo Bay. They do a grand job and are very smiley and appreciate you taking time to admire their work.

There are about 30 villas in total. One line of about 16 (closer to the restaurant and main building) overlook vast lawns. A second row behind them (separated by trees and an access road (used by horses and the occasional donkey)) have their own 'back garden' shared with a pair - great if you have children as each pair of villas has an interconnecting door.

The villas themselves are huge with a great open fire and seating, a large and comfortable bed, a dressing area and massive bathroom with walk-in shower and two separate sinks.

I liked the fact that it had its own front garden too, complete with lemon tree. There was also a lovely terrace at the back with built in seating which was covered in white roses and jasmine. This is where breakfast was served. A quick call to room service and breakfast was upon you in a matter of moments. The standard breakfast included wonderful fresh clementine juice, pancakes, muesli, pastries, fruit and yoghurt - definitely enough to see you through until lunchtime!!

If you don't fancy the walk up to the pool area, each villa has two comfortable sun loungers where you can read and soak up the sun in privacy. You may even be joined by the hotel's old and arthritic dog - Timo - who lurches in and tends to stay with you all day if you are around. The garden is big enough for a game of croquet which helps pass the time and isn't too strenuous an activity to be going on with.

The pool is a real boon - particularly because of its size - good for lengths. So many of the pools in Marrakech for example are just plunge pools. The only problem was that it wasn't heated very well (at all??!!) and it felt like you were swimming in icy waters for the first few days. The owner soon realised and got the heating turned up and it got more bearable!

Lunch - a buffet - is served poolside and offers very similar salads and tagines every day, so a bit of a disappointment if you are expecting variety. Dinner is served in the restaurant and although perfectly edible was not stunning and we did expect more. Unfortunately, there was no escape from Christmas even here (the French influence) and we had to endure a gala dinner on Christmas Eve, for the French and a gala dinner on Christmas Day, for the Brits. Christmas trees were also placed on tables in the centre of the dining room as well as strategically around the bar area.

One of the more permanent staff fixtures at the hotel is Adam who is very friendly and a great piano player to boot, so it was great to have an aperitif while he was 'tinkling the ivories'.

Talking of staff, the service was excellent. All of the waiters were very attentive and keen to ensure that you had everything you wanted. They were also keen to practice their English and the longer you stay the better the rapport.

While we were staying, the owner (Rita) was also there and she was keen to ensure that everyone was enjoying themselves and encouraged people to tell her if there was anything amiss - sometimes difficult for us Brits to do - much easier to moan about it behind closed doors!!

The one criticism that I do have about this idyllic hideaway, and it maybe just because of the time of year we were there, is that I felt that we were intruding on a regular gathering where everone knew each other. It was a tad cliquey and those people who had not been to the hotel before were a little marginalised and easy to spot. That said, the staff did not differentiate between those guests who had been there before and those that hadn't.

It is without doubt a real 'away from it all' place - restful, peaceful and beautiful. It has an atmosphere and environment where you can recharge your batteries, regroup, read all those novels you haven't got round to or even write your own! All in all a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    12
    2
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have just returned from a months stay at the Gazelle d'Or. We go there every year because it is unique. The hotel is bungalows set in the most beautiful garden. The staff are attentive and helpful to the nth degree. The cooking seems to have improved, with a high standard offered and plent of alternatives, so one can choose to eat Moroccan or European, or have your order something special within reason.

Everyone loves the piano played every evening by Adam, who also doubles up as a genial host

Most people who visit the Gazelle return over and over again and always get a warm welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is a beautiful spot in the middle of nowhere, ideal if you want to relax, read a good book and enjoy the marvellous surroundings. The rooms (really suites) are very large and well-equipped with excellent bathrooms, wood burning fireplaces, garden terraces etc. Nothing more to wish for! The grounds are surrounded by orchards and beautiful flowers and there is a large pool and a couple of clay tennis courts. Now for the bad news:contrary to what we heard from several friends who have visited frequently in the past, the food was, at best, average and at worst fairly poor (relative to the cost). The Moroccan choices lacked any indigenous flavour and appeared thrown together by an amateur (and non-Moroccan) cook reading a recipe. The western choices were also sub-standard. It may be that the chef was on holiday during our visit, and this was a temporary aberration, but four days of mediocre food really detracted from an otherwise excellent retreat. We spoke with other guests who had been to the hotel many times over the years and they agreed with our assessment. Time for the management to get their act together since this is a destination resort.(As an aside, we enjoyed beautiful weather with beautiful blue skies-hot in the sun, cool in the shade and in the evenings>)

Room Tip: All the "rooms" are actually large suites . We stayed in a "superior" category r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Do not visit Taroudant without to spend a night at La Gazelle D'Or. If you are in love, if you wish to rest or if you like the nature you cannot miss this place, where you will find the serenity. If possible I recommend to rent one suite : you will feel you out of time and away of all the world. The charm of the hotel and the nine hectares of old threes and garden is extraodinary. The service is attentionne with an individual and warm consideration. The food is excellent, using all the resources of the farm. A great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I recently returned from a spectacular stay at La Gazelle D'Or. Virtually everything was pitch perfect - beautiful decor, excellent service, delicious food. This hotel gives you the chance to truly get away from it all - whether it's relaxing by the pool or going for a walk on the hotel's sprawling organic farm - there's an incredible sense of serenity at La Gazelle D'Or which is second to none. This is thanks to the stellar management and staff who work tirelessly to curate the ideal holiday. I can't wait to go back to be spoilt rotten again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Not long has passed since my wonderful visit to Taroudant, yet I find myself eager to go back to this serene paradise, where you escape in time to an era reminiscent of leisure and timeless elegance. We arrived early enough to witness the ethereal glow one morning, along with the magnificent bougainvillea framing the entrance - this was enough to create a memorable first impression. Surrounded by infinite, lush orange groves, bountiful basil and other herbs; the property is truly a sublime natural haven. Make sure to walk around the farm - the plentiful amount of vegetables and fruits offer hotel guests a true farm to table experience. The staff is non-intrusive and ensures your entire stay passes by with adequate privacy. Formal evening attire is necessary and dining etiquette is second to none. The hotel is often frequented by regulars, who like myself, have discovered a unique destination like no other.
This family run hotel is of exquisite class and rarest opulence. Thank you to La Gazelle d'Or for making it such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I recently returned from another fantastic week at the Gazelle d'Or. It was in fact my fourth stay at the hotel in the last five years. At most hotels such regular repeat guests must be a rare occurrence, yet each year I return to the Gazelle I find myself recognising familiar faces; repeat guests who, like me, are drawn by the charm of this calm, unpretentious and deeply relaxing oasis. It is the personable nature of the hotel, beyond the excellent facilities one might expect from such a hotel (pool, tennis, horse riding, spa etc etc) and the delicious and often home grown food, that sets the Gazelle d'Or apart from the rest. Friendly and impeccable staff, well appointed yet intimate rooms, inviting common spaces and dining room, and the repeat clientele will make you feel like you've just had a fabulous holiday at a friend's country-house rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gazelle d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gazelle d'Or

Address: Route d'Amezgrou, Taroudant, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taroudant
#4 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — La Gazelle d'Or 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
La Gazelle d`Or Hotel Taroudant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gazelle d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.