We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel with a special atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Salam

Save Saved
You added Palais Salam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais Salam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Moulay Ismail, Taroudant 83000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Taroudant
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unique hotel with a special atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Don't book this hotel expecting modern luxury. However, do book it if you want a place with a special atmosphere, lots of history, and charming gardens to explore. We stayed in one of the new rooms and it was very big, clean and quite comfortable but a bit anonymous, but the gardens of the hotel were our favourite bit of Taroudannt and we loved walking around in them, finding a quiet table to sit down between trees and flowers and listen to the birdsong... If we return to the area I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    61
    35
    18
    23
See reviews for
21
61
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This a difficult review to write. The hotel has so many problems that I cannot award more than 3 stars, but we loved it.

It is an old palace built within Taroudant's city walls, with the walls actually forming one side of the hotel. There are numerous small gardens, fountains and the like, full of mature trees and shrubs.

We were advised to ask for a room in the Banana Court and as a result we got one of the old palatial rooms. This was essentially a suite, with a huge bedroom and sitting room, beautifully decorated with painting and carvings. The ceilings were about 7 metres high!!

The swimming pool looked uninviting, but it was November and all the outside furniture was a little tired, to say the least. Everything outside the rooms was a little grubby.

The breakfast consisted of large piles of stale croissants, with only the bread being fresh. We only ate there one night, and the food was very average.

In summary if you want a modern, formula hotel or a top notch chic riad, forget Palais Salam, but if you want a hotel with some history and character and are prepared to put up with a down at heel feel, ask for one of the big old rooms and enjoy. We certainly did and if we stayed again in Taroudant this would be where we would choose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Banana Court, to get one of the palatial suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife and I have stayed several times at the Palais Salam over the past 10 years. For us, its setting in an old pacha's palace in Taroudant's city walls, the fading older rooms and its wonderful gardens give it a special charm. However, we sense it is on the decline due to management neglect and that it has become dependent on whistle-stop visits by tour groups bringing noise and buffet meals. The former private and informal atmosphere around the pool in danger of being spoilt by non-residents, mainly male Moroccans,using what has become a public bar and breakfast, an unimaginative buffet indifferently presented,is well below par for a hotel of this standard. Dinner by the fountains,however, remains a very pleasant experience when there are no groups about. Still a green oasis and refuge from the heat and dust but at risk of irreversible decline.

Room Tip: If you like a traditional Riyadh-like atmosphere, go for a room in the original palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed as part of a small group tour with VJV. On arrival the place looked great – built just inside the city walls with pleasant public areas.The gardens looked lovely with a variety of plants interspersed with pools and sitting araeas. However, the rooms are very dated – clean and tidy, but about what I would expect from a 2-star place – poor quality tiled floors, spartan furnishings (not even a chair to sit on), ancient TV, noisy old-fashioned fridge. Bathroom equally dated – last renovated 30 years ago, I should think. Restaurant very disappointing. Although we were booked in for a set meal, we waited ages for an indifferent semolina soup, followed by a pasta dish of indeterminate character, and a main course which would have been OK if it had been served fifteen minutes earlier when it was hot! The restaurant wasn't particularly busy, but service was very slow. Breakfast buffet equally disappointing..
There must be better places than this in Taroudannt! It's a real shame because this could be a real gem!
martyngs

Room Tip: I think they're all fairly quiet (apart from the local mosque!) but very dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taroudant hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Nothing but praise for the garden setup, the old almost medieval charms of the palace walls and corridors (kind of supercharged Riad), the friendly staff. And the nice main pool, despite some maintenance problems with a pigeon plague.
Restaurant was a bit more mixed: quite limited B'fast, decent dinner, but constant pestering by a crowd of begging cats. Our 'patio room' (ground floor) also showed the extremes. Quite spacious and luxury, with suite-like size and a lovely plush bed. But a bathroom that had not seen overhaul in 30 years at least; too small, and aging plumbing with noise and capacity constraints. Still great for 1-2 nights stay on a tour, also seeing the lovely Taroudant traditional city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We enjoyed a delicious meal of the day at this beautiful hotel in Taroudant

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Hotel Palais Salam is created out of old Colonial buildings, so the architecture, mood and detail of the buildings is like stepping back in time. There are seats around fantastically detailed decoration, plus lost of little hidden places and guest rooms opening onto planted courtyards with old water features. Beautiful.

The rooms however are a little tired. My room had a galleried balcony sleeping area and the downstairs area was wonderfully decorated with its own stained glass window. Lovely except the Hotels Heating/Hot Water system can cause a drumming sound in the room late at night. Something the hotel staff know, tell them and you get a different room - I did.

The Hotel does have a charm all of its own, just don't expect up to date modern facilities.

Evening meals were OK; the Staff did their best to be helpful, well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Old rooms have charm, galleried sleeping area in some, bet for charm. Modern rooms better for facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palais Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Salam

Address: Avenue Moulay Ismail, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Salam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Palais Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Salam Hotel Taroudant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.