We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tafilag

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Tafilag to your Saves list
Riad Tafilag
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 derb Taffelaght, Taroudant 83000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were dusty and disheveled after driving over the Tizi n Test. So the cool, inviting and beautiful rooms shown to us after a wonderfully warm welcome and mint tea and cakes was the icing on the cake! The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean (we booked 3 doubles). Some are up several flights of stairs so beware if you have a disability but there are rooms on the ground floor. The breakfast was superb, nothing was too much trouble for the cheery staff we were just disappointed to be there for just one night but would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    47
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
159
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We arrived shaken after a terrifying drive over the Tizi n Test and received the warmest of welcomes, a choice of 4 rooms, tea and cakes and in no time at all were regaining our equilibrium.
The riad is immaculate, beautifully decorated and has lots of places to sit and relax. They serve wine too - what a bonus. The first morning Ben had laid our breakfast in the dining room with a fire as it was chilly, the second day on the roof terrace as it was sunny - so thoughtful.
We could not fault our stay and have never received such genuinely warm and caring service anywhere. Ben, Robbie and the girls, you are a class act and we would like to say thank-you again.
Nicola and Cathy xx

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were two families with child/ren and were very happy to spend 2 nights at Tafilag.
The service was excellent and Rabii was extremely helpful with anything we needed, such as renting a car, getting food late night, etc. It's well situated in the city. I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

Everything very food; ambience, location, breakfast, service just one problem; heating in the room was terrible

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel that-
"the client est roi", which is their mantra.
The staff were attentive and helpful at all times, whilst remaining discreet and never pushy.
They organised and suggested a number of ideas, which made our trip very special.
The location is excellent and allows you to walk freely around the whole town and feel part of the community. Local shop owners started to say hello, as they saw us regularly during our trip.
Even with works going on at the riad, they were on the whole, very considerate to our privacy. Once the pool area is complete, it will look fantastic and we look forward to returning to swim in it.
Just be aware that there are spiral stairs in a couple of the suites, if you travel with kids or have a disability that restricts you using stairs at all.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We decided to go to Taroudant to escape the British winter over Christmas and couldn't have chosen a better location. The riad is charming, with a good mixture of shared and private spaces. We stayed in the Djebel suite on the second floor with a private terrace overlooking the courtyard, and might be a little exposed in hotter months. We ate in the Riad on three separate nights and the food was excellent, I think you need to ask in advance and the staff are also able to provide wine.

The staff couldn't be more helpful, providing a map and an excellent overview of the town and amenities, sorting out the few niggles we had with our room, and arranging a custom trip to the High Atlas for us.

The one minor quibble I would have is the water pressure. On a couple of occasions we had no water for showers when the riad was full, although it always recovered after breakfast.

Room Tip: I agree with other reviewers, that a suite is recommended if you plan to stay more than a night or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Having spent six Christmases in Morocco Riad Tafilag has to be the best Riad we have stayed in. It has been modernised very tastefully to provide a charming and comfortable home from home. We stayed in the Atlas suite on the first floor. It is reached via a spiral staircase which means that the balcony instead of being a walkway as in most Riads is private - other rooms have their own private outside space.The room was large the bed comfortable, modern heating/air con. An excellent combination of modern and traditional.
The staff couldn't be more helpful their enthusiasm is contagious.
Breakfast was taken around a large table and included all the usual Moroccan fair, freshly squeezed orange juice pancakes - wonderful
Sadly we had only booked for one night but we will find a reason to return to Taradout just to stay at the Tafilag.
Many thanks to all the staff
Carole & Roland Dean

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms have private balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tafilag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tafilag

Address: 31 derb Taffelaght, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Tafilag 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Riad Tafilag is located in the middle of the ramparts and the medina of Taroudant, not far from the two central places of the city, always animated and accessible: the places Assarag and Talmoklate. With some lanes from there, Riad Tafilag is in withdrawal and bathes in an environment of peace, calm and serenity. Riad Tafilag will make you discover an architecture combining modernity and Moroccan tradition. A team is with your service to accomodate you and return to you the stay pleasant and rich in discovered... Also you will find at your disposal 6 rooms and 2 suites, a lounge equipped with satellite TV, a hammam tadelakt, a pond, a swimming pool with hot tub and many panoramic terraces. It will be able to propose to you a restoration in the pure Moroccan tradition. It will be able to also advise you on the activities and excursions to discover the Moroccan south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Tafilag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tafilag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.