We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Oumensour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Oumensour to your Saves list
Palais Oumensour
Borg Oumensour | Quartier Tadjount, Taroudant 83000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taroudant
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

The Palais Omensour is a fantastic place to stay in Taroudant. It's beautiful and well-located in the medina, just a 3 minute walk from the amazing Grand Souk. The 55E rooms are excellent value for money - large, beautifully decorated and very clean. For 75E you can have a larger room with two sofas and a view of the (snow-capped - in January) Atlas mountains from your (extremely comfy) bed. This is the very private Sama room on the rooftop terrace. The staff at the hotel (all women) are exceptionally nice and helpful, especially the manager Miriam (Maryam?). Although the staff don't speak much English it's easy to muddle through with a few words of French. The food is excellent, and the cook prepared special vegetarian meals for us. Breakfast is delicious, especially the homemade fig jam and the orange jam (80-90% fruit content), and the Moroccan pancakes. There's quite a contrast between the Morocco you see inside and outside the hotel. However, we found the people of Taroudant very friendly - and there are enough men around that speak good English if you need directions or help - but if you are women alone take care at night. It's a very male place and even modestly dressed Western women attract attention, particulalry outside the peak tourist season. Overall, a really wonderful town and a superb hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lelpo, Propriétaire at Palais Oumensour, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
thanks again for compliments ,
meryem is a wonderful manager and her team also.
We are aware of the poor english of our team, nowedays Hannan the new assistant manager learn english an soon Meryem will do the same.
Already as you kindly explain with goodwill and maroccan mixed with french it's easy to understand your wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    22
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

This place is quite a find. It is a lovely hotel, done in traditional style and tastefully decorated in the muted tones typical of this part of Morocco. The bedrooms and bathrooms are unusually spacious. Everything is impeccably maintained. There is a charming garden with fountains, abundant flowering plants, plenty of seating, and a large pool. A rooftop area has further space for lounging around, with views over the town. The restaurant offers excellent breakfasts and some very tasty Moroccan dinners with a bit of French flair added. There is free wi-fi service but you may have to go to the downstairs area to get a strong enough signal. There are no TVs in the rooms but a large TV in the main lounge has a variety of western channels and news outlets. The staff are helpful, efficient, and friendly. The location is excellent -- in a quiet residential area right in the middle of the medina, but only a few minutes walk from the busy souks. Prices are low for a hotel of this quality so you get good value for money. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Highly recommended for its attention to detail and beautiful stylish interiors. Hidden away in the centre of the town, the hotel is an elegant surprise, full of beautiful objects and a lovely garden. The staff are all women, which makes a welcome change - as any traveller in Morocco will tell you. Not much English spoken, but all of the staff speak French.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

For a 'small', raid style and priced, inside-Medina hotel this hotel has lots of space and is very good value. The rooms are spacious, stylish, comfortable and clean. The food is prepared by a very enthusiastic if slightly over engaging lady and is tasty and varied. We would not hesitate to recommend this over the allegedly more sophisticated competition out of Medina.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We cannot rate this place highly enough. Large room with huge area for shower, toilet and washing area. Beds comfy, linen and towels great. Petit fours/biscuits placed in bedroom on arrival. Tastefully decorated throughout. Great pool. Two lounges, one with large TV. Alchohol available. Great service. Excellent breakfast. Reasonably priced for what one gets. We couldn't find the place. From the outside there is only a small door. We asked someone, who got on his scooter and whom we followed. We suggest you do the same thing. A small tip saved a lot of hassle. We couldn't find our way out of the medina either. We asked a young girl, who hopped in the back of our car and directed us to one of the exits. It was quite a way, but she was more that happy with the tip and it certainly made our lives easier. We only stayed one night, so we cannot comment on the town, but the riad was like a secret garden, a real gem.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

Well located in the centre of Taroudant we felt right at home as soon as we entered the tranquility of the Palais Oumensour. It really is beautiful and so well cared for in every way. Language was a slight barrier as the staff all speak french but we were able to manage as they were all so helpful and friendly. Excellent value for money! The bedrooms were very comfortable and spacious. The pool and surrounding area was beautiful and very well maintained. We ate in the Riad every night and the food (set menu) was amazing. We would certainly recommend this Riad to anyone travelling to Taroudant. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

The wonderful riad (or "boutique hotel") is a solid top choice in the delightful town of Taroudant.

The rooms are beautiful, the service is perfect, and this place is truly charming.

The hotel was designed with minute care. Every detail was thought out carefully.

This hotel was built with an eye towards beauty and character, an attention to detail, and an open wallet.

Nothing about this place has been done cheaply, from the railings on the stairs to the chairs in the lounge.

The Palais Oumensour is a very high quality boutique hotel that was not just the best of all the places I stayed in Morocco, but would compete on a world-scale with other boutique hotels from India to Greece.

Every guest whom I spoke to raved about this hotel.

One even joked that she would not write about it on TripAdvisor as this was too great "a find" to let the world know about, and that it would probably be full the next time she visited Morocco.

On the last count, she is clearly right: with few rooms and a world-class property, only a very few (very lucky) people get to stay at this warm and inviting place at one time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Hotel Dar Zitoune
#2 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#1 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
4.5 mi away
Riad Ain Khadra
Riad Ain Khadra
#4 of 17 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palais Salam
Palais Salam
#10 of 17 in Taroudant
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jnane Ines
Riad Jnane Ines
#5 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Gazelle d'Or
La Gazelle d'Or
#8 of 17 in Taroudant
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Oumensour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Oumensour

Address: Borg Oumensour | Quartier Tadjount, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house palais oumensour is located 200 m far from the souks of taroudants medina. These tasteful riad surrounded a quiet garden equiped with big swimming pool .The six rooms all with large bathrooms are at the 1st and 2d floor facing the garden and the atlas mountains.The cooking is highly raffined served on reservation for half or full board.The terrasses at the 2d floor is ideal for bronzing with amazing view on the atlas and the quiet garden of taroudant church.Transfert and car reservation can be arranged on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palais Oumensour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Oumensour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.