We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little spot of heaven at the coast.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Twenty South Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Twenty South Beach Cottages
Four Twenty South Plot | Diani Beach Road, Galu 80401, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Galu B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little spot of heaven at the coast.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have been here 4 times in the last year and a half, and it does not disappoint. Lovely cottages set in well kept grounds on a pristine beach that offer plenty of privacy. The cottages are very well managed, with the aim of making your stay as relaxing as possible; a few days before, just email a shopping list to Jane and the food is waiting for you on your arrival. Fresh fish is then brought to the cottages each day by the local fishermen. You get an appointed chef for your cottage who cooks your meals and will nip to the shop to buy extra ingredients as needed; both Michael and Mohammed cook fantastic dishes, making meal times something to really look forward to! Having tried other places at the coast, this remains our firm favourite. If you are looking for pure relaxation in stunning surroundings with amazing food and friendly staff, look no further than 420 south.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I came here for our short honeymoon. Hilary and Jane helped us arranged for airport pick up and drop off - the driver Gabriel was great! Our entire transit went perfectly smoothly!

We stayed at the Tsulini cottage for 3 days and had a very relaxing time. Our chef and maid were very attentive and friendly, yet perfected the balance of giving us plenty of privacy. What we love the most about Four Twenty South is that it distinguishes itself from the rest of the typical resorts along the beach. It removes you from the touristy crowds and provides a tranquil and private environment just for you and your company. Additionally, each of its cottage is spaced in such a way that you rarely see your fellow guests on the compound. (We are coming from Manhattan so when we travel, privacy and "personal space" are very important to us).

I would consider another future visit next time I am in the area!

P.S. We did notice some bar/club music late at night from a distant - might be from the bar further down the beach. It didnt really keep us awake but just a note.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a great time - arrived late at night and were welcomed by the guards and owners. The whole stay was perfect, the cottage was really comfortable and well designed. We had an excellent chef and very nice maid. The location was great on a not busy stretch of perfect sand. No faults to find and we would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Actually 4.2 degrees South of the equator, hence the name, these lovely cottages nestled on Diani beach are just a heavenly place for a holiday. We have been here 3 times now, taking a different cottage each time- there is a choice of sizes and prices depending on your needs, and it just gets better every year.
I have mixed feelings about reviewing it as it is really a secret I want to keep all to myself. It is at the quieter, more relaxed end of Diani beach but everything is within easy walk. The fisherman bring their catches in next door and can come over to the houses if you wish to buy the freshest fish and seafood you can imagine. Fresh fruit and veg also arrives this way if you ask. The cottages come with adorable staff who will cook and shop for you and keep the house clean and tidy. Even when it is very hot there is always a breeze and the rooms have lots of fans to keep you comfortable at night.
Hilary, the owner, arranged Yoga for us everyday and we kite-surfed a little further up the beach. We have also had weeks here where we have done little but read and relax and swim in the ocean at your feet. It's up to you but one thing is for certain 420 South is very special.

Room Tip: Dzumbe cottage is recently modernised and hence a little more expensive than the other cottages, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

411 south sits in front of a beautiful beach and is great in concept- self contained cottages where you enjoy privacy and a sense of having your own place on the beach. Unfortunately it is a little too private, where you may seldom or never see a manager until its time to pay the bill. We arrived with kids to a cottage with a broken cooker, broken toaster and broken hot water heater and a serious mosquito problem. The appliances we could manage but even with bednets, Doom srayed throughout, repellent on skin and two fans, my newborn, 4 year old and myself awoke to serious bites. When this was raised with the manager she then only offered an electronic mosquito zapper which helped but somewhat late as i will spend the next month anxious as to whether my kids will comedown with malaria from this exposure. Once the manger showed up 48 hours later and only to present our bill she seemed entirely unaware of the condition of the house and unsympathetic to any of our concerns. It seems her job only involves bill settling which was somewhat infuriating as when we asked to speak to the owners we were told that they were sleeping (at 10am). The owners never bothered to show up to address any o our concerns and it was that tht led us to write a review. This could be a great place if there was somebody onsite to care for guests andwho actually cared about more than collecting money.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My husband and I and our toddler stayed in Chikore House for nine nights and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The house was beautiful and comfortable, the staff was truly amazing and we were only steps from the most gorgeous beach we've ever set foot on.

Our chef, Uhuru, was amazing, and we had some of the best seafood meals I've ever eaten made with fresh seafood carried by the fishermen straight to our doorstep.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhorn, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

What a fabulous, enchanting spot. 6 cottages on a beautiful piece of property, right on the beach. This is a small, authentic resort, on the best stretch of Diani/Galu beach. Away from the crowds in Diani, but close enough to everything. Hilary is a warm, efficient host, taking care of details in the background, and our cook prepares the most delicious fish and seafood every night. The cottages also include daily housekeeping. All the staff are friendly and accommodating. What a beautiful place to spend our holidays and get to know the south coast of Kenya.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Twenty South Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Twenty South Beach Cottages

Address: Four Twenty South Plot | Diani Beach Road, Galu 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Galu
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Galu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Twenty South comprises six colonial cottages surrounded by three acres of beautiful tropical gardens bordered by an unspoilt dazzling white beach lapped by the aquamarine waters of the Indian Ocean. The houses are right on the sea overlooking a sandy lagoon where swimming is safe at any tide and a breeze gently cools the heat of the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Four Twenty South Beach Cottages Hotel Galu
420 South Beach Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Twenty South Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Four Twenty South Beach Cottages to your Saves list