We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No management to be found here but beautiful location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Twenty South Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Twenty South Beach Cottages
Four Twenty South Plot | Diani Beach Road, Galu 80401, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Galu B&B and Inns
brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No management to be found here but beautiful location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

411 south sits in front of a beautiful beach and is great in concept- self contained cottages where you enjoy privacy and a sense of having your own place on the beach. Unfortunately it is a little too private, where you may seldom or never see a manager until its time to pay the bill. We arrived with kids to a cottage with a broken cooker, broken toaster and broken hot water heater and a serious mosquito problem. The appliances we could manage but even with bednets, Doom srayed throughout, repellent on skin and two fans, my newborn, 4 year old and myself awoke to serious bites. When this was raised with the manager she then only offered an electronic mosquito zapper which helped but somewhat late as i will spend the next month anxious as to whether my kids will comedown with malaria from this exposure. Once the manger showed up 48 hours later and only to present our bill she seemed entirely unaware of the condition of the house and unsympathetic to any of our concerns. It seems her job only involves bill settling which was somewhat infuriating as when we asked to speak to the owners we were told that they were sleeping (at 10am). The owners never bothered to show up to address any o our concerns and it was that tht led us to write a review. This could be a great place if there was somebody onsite to care for guests andwho actually cared about more than collecting money.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My husband and I and our toddler stayed in Chikore House for nine nights and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The house was beautiful and comfortable, the staff was truly amazing and we were only steps from the most gorgeous beach we've ever set foot on.

Our chef, Uhuru, was amazing, and we had some of the best seafood meals I've ever eaten made with fresh seafood carried by the fishermen straight to our doorstep.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhorn, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

What a fabulous, enchanting spot. 6 cottages on a beautiful piece of property, right on the beach. This is a small, authentic resort, on the best stretch of Diani/Galu beach. Away from the crowds in Diani, but close enough to everything. Hilary is a warm, efficient host, taking care of details in the background, and our cook prepares the most delicious fish and seafood every night. The cottages also include daily housekeeping. All the staff are friendly and accommodating. What a beautiful place to spend our holidays and get to know the south coast of Kenya.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

You couldn't find a nicer spot in Kenya for a quiet beach holiday. I woke up in a four poster bed looking onto the Indian Ocean. It is complete peace and quiet. These are beautiful cottages with history, not a fake-feeling resort. They are literally in a garden on the beach so the sea is spread right out in front of you. The staff will spoil you with mouthwatering fresh seafood or cook anything you want. You can even buy fresh oysters to have with fresh lime juice. Best of all it has a classic unspoilt beach shack restaurant next door so you don't have to put your flipflops on for your entire stay. You can have a cheap massage or pedicure on the veranda. Hilary the owner has always been here, knows Kenya inside out, and makes you feel very welcome. You can even get clothes made from beautiful Indian cotton in the little supermarket at the end of the track. Thoroughly recommend Four Twenty.

Room Tip: Ask for a four poster bed looking onto the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I came back with two friends and a small kid, and we couldn't have had a lovelier time. No worries about cooking or housekeeping, the beach is one of the nicest I've ever been to, and Hilary runs the proper quietly in the background with much love and attention to detail.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I booked one of the cottages for a long weekend with my parents and it was an all-around perfect stay: The cottages are cute and comfortable, the view of the (picture-perfect) beach is stunning, a housekeeper dealt with all the housekeeping issues, and Alex the chef cooked amazing food - plenty of fresh seafood available. The property is quiet and Hilary, the owner, sent a taxi to the airport and found out the number of the place a bit further south where I could go horse riding. Loved it and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

if you are looking for the perfect quiet and relaxing spot to spend your holiday you can find it at twenty four south...the beautiful cottages have a wonderful sea view, you can basically roll out of bed und jump into the ocean! there is enough space between the cottages so you don´t even notice there are other people around.
as there is a cook and maid there is no need to take care of anything... the staff is friendly and helpful, there is nothing we could complain about...we´ve never felt more at home while being on a holiday...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Twenty South Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Twenty South Beach Cottages

Also Known As:
420 South Beach Cottages
Four Twenty South Beach Cottages Hotel Galu
Four Twenty South Beach Cottages Hotel
Address: Four Twenty South Plot | Diani Beach Road, Galu 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Galu
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Galu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Twenty South comprises six colonial cottages surrounded by three acres of beautiful tropical gardens bordered by an unspoilt dazzling white beach lapped by the aquamarine waters of the Indian Ocean. The houses are right on the sea overlooking a sandy lagoon where swimming is safe at any tide and a breeze gently cools the heat of the day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Twenty South Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Four Twenty South Beach Cottages to your Saves list