We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money on a beautiful beach- but very large and not for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diani Beach Road, Galu-Kinondo Beach, Galu Beach 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Galu Beach
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value for money on a beautiful beach- but very large and not for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent four nights at Neptune Village over New Year (29 Dec 2013-2 Jan 2014) as a couple with one child 4 years old. We were very happy with our stay, as this stretch of the Diani beach is beautiful with a large reef emerging every low-tide for hours of walking and searching for shells and life of the sea. Our daughter had a great time, with the kids club very active and she had her first “children’s disco” which she thoroughly enjoyed. The caretakers all seemed very kind and professional with the children and this was definitely a plus.

The place is large, very large. As much as we knew this when making the reservation, arriving to a fully booked hotel the Sunday before New Year care as a bit of a shock. We also arrived in the middle of a fully attended disco water aerobics session in the main pool, looking for serenity.

This is not a critique of the hotel itself. The hotel is very good value for money—the rooms are clean with good showers (even if hot only at night, but really fine), good air conditioning and each room with a nice little veranda. Mosquito nets are available for children upon request (we brought one along, knowing it was high season just to be sure we had one). The food, for such a large hotel, was surprisingly good and diverse especially at dinner. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The grounds are very large and are able to cater to a lot of guests.

By the second day, we found a good balance between using the many facilities, the animation team and kids club offered by the Hotel, and going off on our own along the beach, for lunches in nearby places, and finding more quiet spaces to relax.

The SPA was surprisingly good and again very good value for money. Both me and my husband enjoyed several massages and would highly recommend it.

As a last bit of advice, being at Neptune Village over New Year was an excellent experience and recommended especially to families with small children. It was able to accommodate all our needs, with a very impressive buffet and beautiful fireworks to end the night. Only request would be to have an option of selling individual glasses of champagne (as opposed to only full bottles) to ring in the new year!

Room Tip: As the rooms run along a long stretch vertical from the beach, make sure to book a room closer rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune-Hotels, Manager at Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear NairobiZebra

Thank you for finding time to comment on our resort.
We are glad that you had a wonderful time with your family and we must admit the beach is white and beautiful especially when it is low tide.
The large lawn guarantees ample space for sun basking and enjoying the ocean breeze.
Cris crossing from one unit to the other allows you to enjoy the recreational facilities available.
We appreciate your review which will go a long way in maintaining, strengthening and correcting every aspect of our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    65
    18
    14
    3
See reviews for
41
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent 10 nights at the Neptune village in a big group of 10 adults and 9 children all under 12 years of age from December 23, 2013 to January 1, 2014. The kids had a wonderful time with the kids club attendant- Binti doing a wonderful job by having fun activities all day long. The animation team was also wonderful with fun sports e.g aqua aerobics, water polo, beach volleyball e.t.c. The restaurant supervisors organized a good sitting place for us all at the restaurant and attended to our requirements well enough- kudos to David and Douglas.
However the whole group was sick at one point or another during the trip with running stomach and discomfort for some lasting for days. My wife had to go to hospital where she got antibiotics from the infection. We realized that the vegetable salads at the restaurant were not always fresh even smelling at times and opted out of eating uncooked vegetables. The fish also looked slimey even when cooked and we had to stop eating it especially after a number of us got sick.
The telephone in my room never worked and I had to walk to reception to ask for information or make requests. Towels and bedsheets would not be changed regularly in the rooms and we had to make several requests for extra towels required in our room on daily basis. Pool towels were rarely available for replacement and we had to spend 3 days with the same towels because returning and getting towel cards did not guarantee getting towels on the next day. Some towels were so old that the edges were torn we were left wondering why they could not just have acquired new towels for a facility that advertised itself as 4 star. Some members of our group who went for massage service were disappointed and deemed the aromatherapy poor and not worth trying.
We did not meet any senior management at the restaurant or pool side where we spent a lot of our time during our stay. Senior management were only introduced during new year's eve dinner. My family had an option of spending an extra night at the facility as our flight was a day later but we changed hotels for one night because of our bad experience. We spent our last night at Diani Reef hotel which was quite pricey but at least we felt that it was of much better value.
Although our kids had a lot of fun and we adults enjoyed relaxing around the hotel and beach, this was not value for money and lesson learnt was that we should not spend such a long time at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENTIDO-Neptune, Manager at Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for finding time to comment on your stay with us.
We do value you as our guest and appreciate constructive criticism which will go a long way in helping us take corrective measures.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused during your holiday.
It is unfortunate that you and your party did fall sick and it is my hope that you are well recovered.
Be rest assured that the issues raised will be addressed and corrected
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The pros: Very nice grounds - the pool and beach areas are lovely, and the rooms look quite nice from the outside. The staff in the restaurants and by the pool are quite friendly.

The cons: First, they did not have enough beach towels, so we were only able to get beach towels on 2 of our 4 days there. This is atrocious - this is a BEACH resort. Everyone wants a beach towel. There is no excuse for running out of towels. Once, the staff instructed us that they were out of towels so we should just use the bath towels from our room. This would have been okay, except that we were unable to get clean bath towels afterwards. We requested clean towels from four or five different staff members. Finally, a day and a half later, we were provided with one clean bath towel (for the two of us to share, I guess?)

Second, in general, the staff seems to say yes to any request but never carries through. In addition to the towel debacle, we had to make multiple requests for pillows (the room only came with one pillow, and it did not even have a pillowcase), someone to fix our telephone (which only mattered because we kept having to walk up to the reception to make multiple requests for towels and pillows), and help using the safes in the room (we eventually gave up here, as they were clearly broken and no one came to help us).

Third, I was quite underwhelmed by the food, which is very starchy and fried, with almost no green vegetables to speak of. Breakfast (eggs to order) was certainly the highlight, although the pasta station at lunch and dinner is decent.

Fourth, the toilets in the rooms don't flush properly and the hot water is intermittent at best.

I most certainly will not be staying here again - Diani has many places with nicer amenities and a much better value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune-Hotels, General Manager at Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Jessica,
Greetings from Neptune Hotels!
At the outset thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with at the Neptune Village, South Coast!
Do accept our sincere apologies that your stay was not enjoyable and you had multiple issues with towels, linen, telephones, quality of food etc.
Your feedback is being taken very seriously and all efforts will be made to correct the shortcomings so there is no repetition of the same. I acknowledge there was a problem with the towels which we managed to sort out but a bit late..
I would like to get in touch with you personally to apologise and understand some more details regarding your experience and would appreciate if you could please send me your email address. My email ID is vkorla@neptunehotels.com
Thank you and kind regards,

Vickram Korla
Regional Director of Operations
Neptune Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

In the meantime a couple of years ago (March 2009) but still have good memories of our Mombasa-Ukunda & safari trips in Kenya.
Nice hotel with beautiful surroundings & very helpfull staff.We could even use bikes for free.
We made some safari-trips for a couple of days starting from there toTsavo East+West and Amboseli N.P.(beautiful Kilimandjaro views)
We also visited a school in the neighbourhood which is also woth doing.
Still a nice vacation with memories never to be forgotten.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune-Hotels, Manager at Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Will_7777

Thank you for finding time and reviewing our resort.
We take pride on the well manicured gardens which of course are well taken care of by our staff.
The bikes are there for guests who would like to take a slow ride while at the same time touring Galu beach on their way to visit the nearest shopping centre.
We are delighted to note that you have fond memories and you are welcome once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for one week in Nov 2013 as we wanted to compare it with Neptune Beach resort, Bamburi, north Mombasa.Overall it gave value for money but I am of the opinion that the extra cost for the Bamburi hotel was worth it. What I did like about the Village Resort was the extensive beach front which enabled one to get away from the Animation Team for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

It was already my second time in Neptune Sentido and I was again amazed about this resort.
Nice and clean rooms, very friendly staff, good food and a nice view are all ingredients to enjoy a pleasant stay.
I was here the second time with 80 clients and all of them were very enthousiastic. Hope to get back there more than once in my life

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights in October 2012 - We thought that the hotel overall was lovely.

The rooms were clean, the only problem we had was with a few bugs getting under the door at night, but nothing that a towel couldn't fix - we were on the ground floor so I would imagine that you wouldn't have these problems if you were on the first floor.

I thought the food was of a really high quality, the portions in the pool restaurant were small, so we stuck with the buffet.

The only downside really is the locals on the beach, they are friendly but really don't leave you alone, it would have been nice to spend some time on the beach or in the sea but they literally don't leave you alone.

If you travel to Kenya make sure you take sweets and pencils for children you may come across on day trips, we also left all of our toiletries with one of the local guys, what seems like not very much to us, they were so so grateful for.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, we are hoping to go back to kenya in a few years time and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Galu-Kinondo Beach, Galu Beach 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Galu Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Galu Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the beautiful Diani beach. It is here that you can experience African hospitality up close and at its best. Perfect match between resort and nature thanks to makuti roofs on rooms, restaurants and bars and the very large tropical garden. One of the widest beach front hotels of Mombasa. Enjoy the All Inclusive concept. Ca. 40 km south from Mombasa, ca. 45 km from Moi International airport and only ca. 8 km away from the nearby Ukunda Airstrip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.