We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grounds but extremely poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diani Beach Road, Galu-Kinondo Beach, Galu Beach 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Galu Beach
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice grounds but extremely poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The pros: Very nice grounds - the pool and beach areas are lovely, and the rooms look quite nice from the outside. The staff in the restaurants and by the pool are quite friendly.

The cons: First, they did not have enough beach towels, so we were only able to get beach towels on 2 of our 4 days there. This is atrocious - this is a BEACH resort. Everyone wants a beach towel. There is no excuse for running out of towels. Once, the staff instructed us that they were out of towels so we should just use the bath towels from our room. This would have been okay, except that we were unable to get clean bath towels afterwards. We requested clean towels from four or five different staff members. Finally, a day and a half later, we were provided with one clean bath towel (for the two of us to share, I guess?)

Second, in general, the staff seems to say yes to any request but never carries through. In addition to the towel debacle, we had to make multiple requests for pillows (the room only came with one pillow, and it did not even have a pillowcase), someone to fix our telephone (which only mattered because we kept having to walk up to the reception to make multiple requests for towels and pillows), and help using the safes in the room (we eventually gave up here, as they were clearly broken and no one came to help us).

Third, I was quite underwhelmed by the food, which is very starchy and fried, with almost no green vegetables to speak of. Breakfast (eggs to order) was certainly the highlight, although the pasta station at lunch and dinner is decent.

Fourth, the toilets in the rooms don't flush properly and the hot water is intermittent at best.

I most certainly will not be staying here again - Diani has many places with nicer amenities and a much better value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune-Hotels, General Manager at Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Jessica,
Greetings from Neptune Hotels!
At the outset thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with at the Neptune Village, South Coast!
Do accept our sincere apologies that your stay was not enjoyable and you had multiple issues with towels, linen, telephones, quality of food etc.
Your feedback is being taken very seriously and all efforts will be made to correct the shortcomings so there is no repetition of the same. I acknowledge there was a problem with the towels which we managed to sort out but a bit late..
I would like to get in touch with you personally to apologise and understand some more details regarding your experience and would appreciate if you could please send me your email address. My email ID is vkorla@neptunehotels.com
Thank you and kind regards,

Vickram Korla
Regional Director of Operations
Neptune Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    68
    20
    14
    3
See reviews for
44
78
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

In the meantime a couple of years ago (March 2009) but still have good memories of our Mombasa-Ukunda & safari trips in Kenya.
Nice hotel with beautiful surroundings & very helpfull staff.We could even use bikes for free.
We made some safari-trips for a couple of days starting from there toTsavo East+West and Amboseli N.P.(beautiful Kilimandjaro views)
We also visited a school in the neighbourhood which is also woth doing.
Still a nice vacation with memories never to be forgotten.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune-Hotels, Manager at Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Will_7777

Thank you for finding time and reviewing our resort.
We take pride on the well manicured gardens which of course are well taken care of by our staff.
The bikes are there for guests who would like to take a slow ride while at the same time touring Galu beach on their way to visit the nearest shopping centre.
We are delighted to note that you have fond memories and you are welcome once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for one week in Nov 2013 as we wanted to compare it with Neptune Beach resort, Bamburi, north Mombasa.Overall it gave value for money but I am of the opinion that the extra cost for the Bamburi hotel was worth it. What I did like about the Village Resort was the extensive beach front which enabled one to get away from the Animation Team for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

It was already my second time in Neptune Sentido and I was again amazed about this resort.
Nice and clean rooms, very friendly staff, good food and a nice view are all ingredients to enjoy a pleasant stay.
I was here the second time with 80 clients and all of them were very enthousiastic. Hope to get back there more than once in my life

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights in October 2012 - We thought that the hotel overall was lovely.

The rooms were clean, the only problem we had was with a few bugs getting under the door at night, but nothing that a towel couldn't fix - we were on the ground floor so I would imagine that you wouldn't have these problems if you were on the first floor.

I thought the food was of a really high quality, the portions in the pool restaurant were small, so we stuck with the buffet.

The only downside really is the locals on the beach, they are friendly but really don't leave you alone, it would have been nice to spend some time on the beach or in the sea but they literally don't leave you alone.

If you travel to Kenya make sure you take sweets and pencils for children you may come across on day trips, we also left all of our toiletries with one of the local guys, what seems like not very much to us, they were so so grateful for.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, we are hoping to go back to kenya in a few years time and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Drove to Diani from Mombasa with the family for the weekend.Diani is approx 50 km south of Mombasa Island.The road is tarmac throughtout Mombasa To the Hotel.Guest check in was swift with a welcome drink and warm reception.Porters were around to assist in carrying luggage.We checked in on an all inclusive arrangement.Food quality and variety was good considering the low season bargain all inclusive price of Usd 90 per person.Soft drinks,snacks ,meals unlimited throughout the stay.Rooms were comfortable with functional aircon and wifi with strong signal during my entire stay.TV was also provided in the room ,though not a flat screen.The rooms consited of circular cottages which was rather creative.Each cottage had a solar panel for its water heating.The pool area also had strong wifi signal.Nice local evening entertainment with a live band.Hotel animators took good care of the children who also had a childrens separate activity area.Children here would never get bored. In summing up I intend to visit this hotel again with my family.

Room Tip: Choose the cottages next to the pool area if you intend to sleep late.Otherwise choose the rooms nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were visiting Kenya for my son's wedding; on the beach at a nearby hotel. We picked this hotel as the majority of the reviews were good and above. We found that it more than lived up to its reputation. From the start staff were all friendly, helpful and always greeted us with a ' jambo jambo' (hello,hello). The rooms were spacious,air conditioned and more than adequate. Food service was always buffet style but plentiful and with varied choices.There was always a cook to order section as well for those that preferred it. A good supply of fresh fruit at every meal which my partner loved but beware of the local monkeys if venturing out of the restaurant with banana in hand!! Facilities were excellent with large pools,a large central bar and sun lounges in abundance dotted around well laid out, palm tree covered grounds. You are protected from the blue sea and white sands by a wall but a trip along beach is well worth it. However, just be aware of the 'beach boys' who are eager to do business ( just trying to make a living) though a polite 'no thanks' does the trick but some have good story's to tell. There are plenty of activities and entertainment laid on throughout the day to help you keep that holiday 'spread' at bay if wanted and many of the evening shows are excellent, especially the dance shows put on by the animation team and choreographed by 'Superman Ken'.
My sons wedding went exceptionally well and we also went on a 4 day/3 night safari with JT Safaris ( orange hut over road from hotel but a new office now on Diani Beach road). We had pre- booked it before going out, again due to fantastic reviews, and we were not disappointed. The whole experience was amazing from start to finish and we were extremely well looked after by Julius Nzumbi and his safari driver 'Tito' , a top man .Excellent value for money as was the whole holiday experience and we would all fully recommend all of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Galu-Kinondo Beach, Galu Beach 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Galu Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Galu Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the beautiful Diani beach. It is here that you can experience African hospitality up close and at its best. Perfect match between resort and nature thanks to makuti roofs on rooms, restaurants and bars and the very large tropical garden. One of the widest beach front hotels of Mombasa. Enjoy the All Inclusive concept. Ca. 40 km south from Mombasa, ca. 45 km from Moi International airport and only ca. 8 km away from the nearby Ukunda Airstrip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.