We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Holiday of a lifetime"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Palm Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanzu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Palm Beach Hotel
Save
You added Coral Palm Beach Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shanzu, Mombasa 81443, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shanzu
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"A Holiday of a lifetime"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here in September 2007 when we arrived in Mombasa the sight that met us was the poverty so very sad, but the people are always smiling and happy, the children seem to appear from nowhere and they are most happy just to have pens, paper, pencils and maybe the odd sweet now the adults love socks, any clothes, medical tablets asprin. paracetamel etc most things really that we have to offer,when arriving at the hotel the staff greeted us with singing and dancing made us feel very welcome, the hotel was very clean and tidy and the food great, but don,t expect chips ,we found a lovely bar called the cha cha in shanzu there we meet Francis who in turn introduced us to the masi warriors and the chief, they took care of us in the evenings and became our body guards and gave us loads of information about the surrounding areas of mombasa and who to go with, because you had to be very careful, the Kenyans themselves are lovely people very poor, but will help you out we had a fantasic holiday there and when we have saved up enough money we would like to go back there for a longer period of time maybe 6 months or more just have to wait and see

Room Tip: Maybe a higher one so that the monkeys don,t pay you a visit and pinch all your belongings, we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    0
    1
    8
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I was there in the spring of 2007 with children, three weeks of top entertainment and leisure.
In addition to two multi-day safaris (Tsavo East and Amboseli), we went on excursions to the nearby Mombasa, in Mtwapa Creek,and other places with their taxi who called tuc-tuc.People are friendly and polite, generally happy ..
The hotel is really old and need renovation at the time, but whatever shortcomings we felt comfortable ..
The choice of food was excellent, tidy restaurant
Staff friendly and attentive(with an expected tip)
Beautiful beaches, warm sea, the hotel complex is associated with other hotels and all together it seems as if walk in the Garden of Eden.
Mainly to recommend for couples or families

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Okay so when I stayed here it was a good few years ago, 2001 to be precise. So either the hotel and resort have change HUGELY, or as usual the bad reviews have come from ever unsatisfied Brits; who expect chips for dinner and eastenders for their evening entertainment!
We had the most amazing time in Kenya. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The food was great with a huge choice. Pools and beaches were fantastic. My memory fails me on the entertainment, however when you have such beautiful surroundings and a drink in hand, what more could you want?

A few tips, don't book excursions through the hotel, go and see the friendly locals on the beach! They wont bite and it will cost you a fraction of the price. Remember, these people rely on you coming home and saying exactly what I'm saying now. So they will garentee you have a good time.
If poverty upsets or offends you then do not go to East Africa! If you are open to a life changing experience then definately do! If you do not want to be giving out money left right and centre, take some bic pens with you (the old yellow/orange biros) they are the equaivilant to parker pens here. The kids will love them. Why not save a bit of room in your suitcase and take some of your unwanted clothes! Something as small as a bottle of nail varnish would mean the world to one of the maids at the hotel.

So that I don't sound completely bias I will state some bad points, although I would say they are more to be expected than 'bad'.
BUGS! If you have a huge phobia of bugs be prepared. Cockroaches are part of being in a tropical climate, and nothing to do with the cleanliness of the hotel. And when I say cockroaches, I mean the huge ones people actually put collars on and use in adverts. Millipedes are pretty disgusting, but they are important to the local environment. Those are the two main things. Lots of moths too, which I have a huge phobia of, but hey I survived two weeks. I nearly forgot the snakes, none poisenous so don't worry! They are call spagetti snakes (you will see why if you go) they often linger under trees.
Having said all that I was there just before rainy season started, which is when all the bugs come out to play!
Outside of the hotel you do get lots of children following you, hands outstretched - my advice? These people are poor so it is to be expected. Like I said take 'things' with you to give to them.
The last bad point is that Africa is very popular with Germans, and I'm afraid the stereotype of them reserving sunbeds with towls at 6am is well and truly alive.

So if you want great holiday with varied experiences then book now! It's well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

The room we stayed in was damp, hotel was unclean, swimming pool dirty and the food repetitive . The club was eager to keep you in the hotel however we ventured out several times and met lots of really nice people so don't be swayed into staying in the hotel the whole time. Also the beach has lots of interesting sealife so I would recommend a walk down to see it. Overall the hotel wasnt up to much but for what we paid we didnt expect much!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

I didn't stay at the Coral Palm Beach Hotel, but was down the road at the Dolphin. We went walking around Shanzu and came across the Coral Palm Beach Hotel. It was completely deserted, like the Marie Celeste. We were able to walk around it as if it were a ghost town. It's such a shame, as it looked like it could have been a nice hotel in it's prime, but has now been left to ruin. I gather the closure must have only been recent, as we were able to walk into areas and see paperwork left lying around, dated April 2009.

The recession has hit tourism badly, especially for long-haul. Also, I believe the war in Kenya at the beginning of the year, leading up to the elections have put tourists off. Thankfully those troubles are over. Sadly it has hit the resort hard, as the locals rely on tourism for their business. Hopefully things will pick up soon and someone will take this hotel into hand soon and renovate it. it's in a prime location on a fantastic beach. I assume it still belongs to African Safari Club. Maybe the fact that they have not been paying their staff at the other hotels is because all monies are being retained for the renovation. Who knows..

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

Before going I have read the terrible reviews about the African Safari Club and their hotels, but the 500gbp deal for 2 weeks with flights was very tempting. ..& that was a big mistake.
We booked the Palm hotel, however, as noted by other travelers coral and palm (as well as palm superior as they call it once you are there) are the same one hotel.
the room itself is very basic but ok. the bathroom is really awfull. the worst thing for me was the stink. the towels, the bed linnen, the batchroom stinked so much. the other thing was safe int he room. They advice to keep all valuables in there and pay 2.5 EUR per day for this service. The safe is a thin metal box with a post box lock...Furthermore, in our room it was possible to lock & unlock the safe with a FINGER! So we did not even bother paying for this service (just told the manager, but this was not fixed during the 13 days of our stay).
Air conditioning: it makes noice, but there is no cool wind out of it. nothing out of it, really. so we used the fan, which was good, but very noice: I was waking up some 10 times each night as it felt like sleeping under a helicopter.
breakfast: during first 4 days we did not manage to get coffee...during the entire stay noone ever offered an omlet, we just saw other people eating it. dinners: on the first nights the hotel was more busy, so it was extremely complicated to get food. the waiters kept saying: "you are so many, we are so few" and the staff to guesst ratio in the restaurant was nearly 1 to one.
good it was possible to eat FOC in the restaurants of other African Safari Club Hotels, so Dolphin was where we went ussually (much better service & food, even though far from 4* level).
then we went to safari with southern cross safaries which was briliant. we stayed in Satao Camp and it was amazing. Service & food: noithing to compare to African Safari Club.
Finally, the last day we were settling the bill at Coral Palm hotel and there was an Austrian lad which just arrived for 6 weeks (I hope she survived this concentration camp for so long, we felt sorry for her). She wanted to rent safe key for 6 weeks and was asking for better rate than ussual 2.5 eur per day (in 6 weeks thats 105 EUR, more than a lot for a post box rental). Cashier said no better rates was possible. We just told her about our safe and advised to check it before paying. After she went to manager for a better rate and told her about our safe. The manager said (we were next to that conversation): "who could tell you such things about our hotel?" so lady obviously pointed to us. The manager raised the voice and started shouting on us how dare we talking that soemthng does not work in his lovely hotel and that speach did not end before I started talking on him with all the nice experience we had in there! this was all happenning in the middle of the hotel (which they claim to ahve 4.5 shields) reception. After this naci camp for nearly 2 weeks, we got this as a bonus just before departure. It is a cheap hostel level institution, no more. DON'T GO THERE!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the smell of towels and bed linnen, the manager shouting on the guessts
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

We returned yesterday having spent xmas & new year at the palm beach superior,and have never been so glad to get away from this dreadful group of hotels! It is supposed to be 4+ shield hotel,and was told it would compare with any 4+ star anywhere in the world.
On arrival and going to the room, the wooden staircase had a badly fitting joint protruding on the handrail,i injured my hand.The door to the room had at sometime been broken into and never repaired properly. I reported these minor but important things to the manager,but nothing was done during the next two weeks.
ROOMS :- devoid of - any info about the hotel and area,maps of grounds and site etc - tv radio hair dryer kettle etc - the beds were like rocks- the linen was very old stained with holes and rarely changed - the bathroom was smelly - the shower some times had hot water,and did not drain correctly,probably the cause of the smell - towels were old torn and shabby
RESTAURANTS :- ours was generally waiter service, the food was not good and within 48hrs we both ahd the so called Mombassa express which stayed with us for most of the holiday,as it was for 90% of the other guests. We were allowed beer wine and water with our meals,though we were not allowed a bottle of water on the table. This caused problems for the waiters,while they were trying to serve meals they were expected to go to the bar some 30yards outside and queue for drinks,then keep filling water in very small wine glasses,the service was desperate,due to the system. We were then made to sign a hand written itemised bill for our free drinks.These bills slowed the service down even greater,frustrating guests and waiters alike.
We were allowed to eat at any of the seven hotels, and though some were marginally better, we never had a memorable meal.The Flamingo was ok but never 5star it would push to be 3 star.
Our Xmas dinner was held on xmas eve,because of the German contingent, it was awful and we had by this time lost our appertites. New years eve was a very nice buffet,however there was not enough food to go around, so some of us did not sample the nicer bits of it.
STAFF :- We liked the staff who were fine people though suffered badly from antiquated bureacratic systems.They disliked the management!
MANAGEMENT :- I went to the hotel manager 3 times in week one,with various complaints,one of which was the system of getting a drink of water with a meal. I asked for a bottle to be put on each table, he would not sanction it, using the excuse that the water would get warm too quickly? Strangely the next night he ate there and had a bottle of water on his table?
HE/they are the meanest, ignorant, arrogant bunch i have ever come across.
INFORMATION :- unless you wanted to spend money with ASC there was not any. There was no tv/radio in the hotel or the other hotels as far as i am aware,so there was no way of getting any news etc. There was internet in 2 of the other hotels,of course you had to pay for that. After the election the world new more about what was happening a few miles from us than we did !
EXCHANGE RIP OFF:- the whole group uses the euro as their currency, so if you take sterling, they change it into kenya shillings then into euro. The same if you pay by credit card except you get hit by the commission as well?
SUNBED RIP OFF :- they charge 1.5 euro per day per sunbed, they were old wooden beds some broken. i have never been charged (except on a public beach.)they do not provide towels and you cannot use room towels.
Sadly i cannot find anything posative to say about these hotels.
Palm beach would struggle to make 2star rating anywhere in the world.
I have travelled extensively 2 to 5 star and never written a complaint such as this before,that is the depth of my feeling and i can assure you many others. DO NOT GO YOU WILL BE SO DISSAPPOINTED.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everthing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Palm Beach Hotel

Address: Shanzu, Mombasa 81443, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shanzu
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Palm Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Also Known As:
Coral Palm Beach Shanzu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Palm Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.