We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid hotel, great food, witj lots of variety, nice personnel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mombasa Continental Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mombasa Continental Resort to your Saves list
Mombasa Continental Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Shanzu Beach Malindi Rd, Shanzu, Mombasa, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shanzu
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Splendid hotel, great food, witj lots of variety, nice personnel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Although a little bit out-dated, a splendid hotel with very nice prsonnel

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
27
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our tour operator, Joyce from Asili Adventure Safaris suggested we might need a break during our 24 day safari, and we agreed to be booked into this resort for a few days. I have learned that Joyce is an experienced, knowledgeable, professional and that she is pretty much is right about eveything!!! We left the wilds of Tsavo East and West and were driven through Mombasa to the Continental by our sweet, gentle, encyclopedic guide, Joseph (yes, I am still a little bit in love with you, Joseph!). The hotel reception is quite beautiful... airy and breezy and, considering the hot, humid coastal weather, very welcome! The decor is very nice mix of tropical and African themes. Our room was on the 4th floor with a remarkably superb view to the somewhat weedy beach ( I saw it being raked manually evey day!), the soothing roar of the off-shore reef and the endless expanse of aqua Indian Ocean beyond! As we were warned ahead of time, the balcony doors should NEVER be left open or you may be marauded by the resident vervet monkeys, looking to grab anything they think might be edible! There also may be a visit or two by the numerous lizards and geckos, but it's my understanding that they eat the bugs...a good trade off, really! The staff were quite attentive, and even moved the dining area to the other side of the Hotel for guests, when they were hosting a rather large conference contingent. They moved 2 beach chairs to the shade of some huge palm trees when I expressed concern for my white Canadian skin in the equitorial sun, and continued to place them there for the duration of our stay. We were able to get some laundry done at a reasonable price(at least I think it was reasonable-I've never had laundry done for me in Africa before!) I certainly never had an issue with valuables going missing, but then, I did lock everything up in the safe as the hotel suggested! All in all, a restful place to spend some time being pampered in the middle of a long safari.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher levels...all the better to see who has left their balcony doors open and wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Having visited many hotels,i have to give it to the management for they have managed to re-brand after the place was dropped by intercon.

The beach is cleaner and less crowded than other hotels in the Kenyan N.coast...

The downside of this hotel is that you may loose your valuables in the rooms; means you may have to move aroud with your cameras phones....laptops.... :-(

Lost an IPOD from the room and management took no responsibility

Room Tip: Ask for a beach-front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacoas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I spent 3 days at the hotel. Not an extraordinary hotel. Breakfast was average, but lunch was good. So was dinner, with a large variety of foods , properly labelled for the information of those who have diet restrictions. The staff also was very helpful. However, the rooms were very average , with the tiles placed roughly. The remote control was not working and you had to press hard for it to function. In any case,it could not be called remote since for it to work, you had to be close to the tv. Not surprising for an old 20 inch tv. The number of the floor was not numbered, so all the time, you had to do guess work.To crown it all,I was resting ,with the balcony door open when a monkey appeared and stole some sugar.Fortunately ,it was not my passport. There are better hotels than this one,I am sure.

Room Tip: Go there only if you have to
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The reception is nice and airy. The lifts don't work and the stand by generator is out of order. The rooms, although aged, are adequate but thye bathrooms are very dated. The sanitaryware has been reglossed but is peeling especially in the basins and lavatory bowls. The food in unimaginative.

Overall the property is very depressing. The staff uniforms are unimaginative and generally look shabby. The staff themselves remain, despite this, fairly cheerful and pleasant. The restaurant service is sporadic. Rooms take forever to be cleaned.

Overall very depressing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I went there for a three-night stay, and all my expectations were surpassed! The staff are so welcoming and eager to help, and accomodating. All the rooms had a view of the ocean, and the food you can't get enough of! Will definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed with my fiancee and my son, we arrived early and were checked in early. we were given a room overlooking the beach and the view was wowoooolicious! the rooms are big enough but must say the cleaning staff are not very keen. The pool.......... i loved it and my baby could not have enough of it............. hey did i mention it was the weekend of my son's birthday and the Chef was kind enough to bake my son a cake "THANK YOU VERY MUCH CHEF" though i forget his name... lol! God bless you! overall i like the hotel and would recommed.. am going there this weekend!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mombasa Continental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombasa Continental Resort

Address: Shanzu Beach Malindi Rd, Shanzu, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shanzu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mombasa Continental Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Mombasa Continental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mombasa Continental Hotel Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mombasa Continental Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.