We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Sicily's if not Italy's best - beach and city delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to your Saves list
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Third Night
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“One of Sicily's if not Italy's best - beach and city delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A truly stunning setting and a very special warmth of hospitality running through the hotel & its staff. It was our second visit and I seriously think it will end up being our most visited hotel as the years tick on.
On every level it works. Elegant cool rooms ( if you can overlook the bay), immaculate housekeeping, a breakfast team that excelled at service as many descended at the same time to the terrace in no particular rush each morning.
My delight at being able to swim in crystal clear water , snorkel around the rocks and lie on the beach during the day. Then in the late afternoon head up into Taormina (by what would seem to be a ski lift taking just 6 mins) to see the Greek theatre, shop a little and at sunset a cocktail on the vast terrace of the Grand Hotel Timeo looking towards Etna. (it is their sister property and with whom they have a curtesy car dropping off several times a day)
Where Timeo has a really sense of the historical – think the era of the grand tour and films like Room with a View – Villa Sant Andrea is the pretty sister, more playful and casually sophisticated.
On arrival Angela greeted us in such warm way and impressed us with her memory of our last visit. You get the feeling that nothing escapes her notice and along with the GM, Giovanni Nastasi they are a formidable team with huge respect from the team. I liked the fact that the GM was from Sicily and not from another land – his passion for the hotel and Sicily is infectious.

It seems they have done some well thought out work in the last few years: the pool area has been extended and new suites sympathetically built above it. An elegant shop selling linen and accessories had me at the first glance (not exorbitant either) The piano bar is now outside on the terrace next to the very romantic restaurant. Most evenings Carmelo, the Piano Man brings a smile to the sun tanned faces of guests. Really he is an amazing character. The beach area also had new seating and overall the eye for detail is exceptional.

What is really nice about this location is that whist the food is great at the hotel if you are there for a few days you can wander off for a lunch spot further down the beach or a hot tip is the precariously located simple beach front restaurant in the northern corner of isola bella beach on bay over. (down the steps turn left).

We had an anniversary during our stay and they did not disappoint in remembering. I looking forward to returning and can’t think of a better place to feel at easy, spoilt and totally at home.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    30
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
157
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warmington,
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The staff at this hotel couldn't have done enough for us
We came away feeling utterly pampered.
Wonderful location ( though beach itself could be better, rather too pebbly for our liking) but stunning views from hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and to express your feedback.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with su and that our staff played an important role in making your experience a memorable one.

All the staff and myself sincerely hope to welcome you back to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea in a not too far future.

Best regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

This is a classy classic Italian boutique hotel. Everything about the decor is classic and presented with perfection. The service is A+++. This does come at a price ($$$'s). The views from the hotel are beautiful.

The hotel has the best location in Taormina with the beach at your door step. (Beach meaning pebble beach - not sand). The cable car is 20m from the driveway of the hotel and makes access to the Taormina town centre very easy.

The hotel provides airport shuttle transfer in luxury Mercedes people mover vans. Fresh flowers in your room, and high quality toiletries make this hotel something special.

The breakfast is superb with a large choice of breakfast foods, including hot breakfast to your liking.

The Hotel has a great small gym and steam room. The swimming pool is heated and still good for spring / autumn season swimming.

Hotel staff and restaurant staff provide highest service levels you can ask for. This hotel should be proud of their staff.

If you do want a break from the hotel food, their is a beautiful beach side restaurant right next door serving great Italian (Pizza).

Note: The hotel does not supply any iron or ironing board. You have choice but to pay to have you clothes ironed. 7 EUR for a shirt, 10 EUR for a dress. This adds up and was the only disappointment with the hotel.

Room Tip: View the room first as most of the rooms are all a little different. Some have small narrow bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

Your note of appreciation is highly appreciated.

Thank you so much for complimenting the staff. This is our utmost reward.

Thank you again for your feedback regarding your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon from Sunday 19th-Thursday 23rd October. It could not have been a more perfect stay! The staff are all so so friendly, by far the best service we have ever received in a hotel anywhere. The property and location itself are absolutely stunning.. I can honestly say the pictures do not do it justice.. It is just paradise.
Our special thanks go to Angela at the front desk, thank you for being so helpful and informative and helping make our honeymoon perfect :)

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
Dear Guests,

I thank you for your words of praise regarding Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea.

We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and I am truly pleased to hear that you have loved to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Or should I say a Sicily-Ice of Heaven? For months, the fiancee and I weighed several options for where to stay on our honeymoon. Had we known then what we know now after staying at this wonderful hotel, the choice would have been easy.

This place is understated luxury and elegance at its finest. Nearly every part of the grounds -- and the ocean -- is picture-worthy. For our honeymoon, we received a surprise cake. Also, because the restaurant had run out of the bottle of reserve, "special occasion" wine we ordered one night at dinner, the sommelier (without making a show of it) swapped in an even better wine at no extra charge. In fact, we looked it up, and it was one of the best Barbarescos in all Italy. And the best part, at least according to my wife: a major celebrity was at the hotel with us, but received no more staff attention than we did.

This kind of customer service is not easily taught, and this hotel won't soon be forgotten.

Room Tip: Get a sea view with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
Dear Guests,

We truly thank you for your kind feedback and are happy that you so much enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be happy to share your words with the whole team.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future.

In the meantime I send you my best regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

If you didn't know this word before you arrived at the marvellous Sant'Andrea you soon will, it's the hotel where everyone knows your name and everyone makes you feel welcome.
Also the smallest of problems is resolved in the most wonderful way and in your lovely room the sea is so close you will hear it lapping outside your window as it lulls you to sleep in its sumptuous beds. Grazie e buonanotte.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Dear Guests,

Your note of appreciation is higly appreciated.

Thank you so much for complimenting the staff. This is our utmost reward.

Thank you again for your feedback regarding your stay and I look forward to your next stay.

Best wishes,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We booked a deluxe sea view room at this hotel for a 4 night stay to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and couldn't have chosen a better place. On arrival we were greeted by the front desk staff and checked in, only to be told we'd been upgraded to a junior suite. The room overlooked the sea, the bed was huge and extremely comfortable, high quality bed linen and towels in both bathrooms and Penhaligon and Molton Brown toiletries. We had a turn down service every night when a bottle of mineral water was left for each of us, toiletries were replenished as often as you used them and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. There is a private beach with loungers and towels and the beach staff will bring you drinks as required. The sun had disappeared from our part of the beach by 3pm but that was fine because across the road from the hotel is the cable car that takes you up into Taormina with all it's sights bars, restaurants and shops. Breakfasts had a wide choice including a cooked menu and catered well for coeliacs. The food in thr bar and restaurant was excellent with lots of local specialties. The concierge, Martin, was a mine of useful information whether it was a traditional trattoria for dinner or organising our trip to Etna. The only thing I would say is that this hotel is not cheap (€10 for a glass of wine) but hotels of this quality never are and we believe we had good value for money and look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: In this location it would be criminal not go for a sea view room although the gardens are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Guests,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea. It is always a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the time with us and that the location, the atmosphere at the
hotel and our team have created wonderful experiences you will never forget.

On behalf of the entire team, I hope that we may welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Bay of Mazzaro, the hotel boasts a prime position in the heart of Taormina's seaside district. It is perfectly positioned between verdant, subtropical gardens and the dazzling Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.