We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sicilian little diamond the true italian job” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to your Saves list
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Third Night
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sicilian little diamond the true italian job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The st Andrea hotel superb service and delicious italian food served by brilliant knowledgeable staff in a small beautiful property made this as romantic as it can get.Still not many Brits go to sicily but it's worth it go now before it's too late .we hired a trendy citreon convertible much more comfy than a mini and great for touring try it SOON

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the hotel’s location "romantic" and I am glad to learn that Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea has left a lasting impression with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    30
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
157
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Friendly staff, quaint little beach. we rented a sea kayak and paddled around the peninsula to the house built in the rocks. the spa was excellent, we had a half day of couples treatments. the restaurant is great and the terraces are relaxing. you can ride the funicular up the side of the mountain, or take advantage of the hotel's shuttle van which goes between the sant' andrea and the hotel timeo every half hour. Go to hotel timeo one night for lunch or dinner, the restaurant is beautiful. we loved our weekend getaway!

Room Tip: We loved our suite, which was detached from the main hotel just up the walkway from the fitness cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for complimenting our staff as being "friendly". This is our utmost reward.

Thank you again for this great feedback and I look forward to your next stay.

Best wishes,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Mananager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is excellent. Location is perfect and restful. Gardens are a delight and very well kept. Cuisine is very good. Service is warm, helpful and personal. All the staff seem to be happy to work here and that makes a difference. The restaurant manager in particular stands out. The shuttle to the sister hotel is a godsend-very convenient

Room Tip: Sea view is a must. Room with a terrace ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

It was our pleasure that you recently chose to stay at Belmond Villa Sant’Andrea. We would like to thank you for the feedback you provided following your stay and are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments were much appreciated.

On behalf of the entire team, I hope that we may welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea is a gem of a property. First class in every sense of the word. The level of service provided is rare to find these days. The property is gorgeous, the staff is superb and the location is heavenly. Take advantage as well of its sister property, The Grand Timeo and enjoy drinks and/or dinner from its terrance which affords you the opportunity to see Mt Etna smoldering each night...bellissimo!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the hotel’s location "heavenly" and I am glad to learn that Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea has left a lasting impression with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Villa Sant'Andrea is perfect if you want to relax in luxury surrounded by a helpful and dedicated staff. You have to be willing to spend but tis well worth it. Italy ( Sicily) in this instance, is often a difficult place to find the right 5 star/ luxury hotel that fulfills its promises. This one does.

The hotel is perfectly located, beautiful view, quiet surroundings...yet fun as the beach, the bar, the restaurants are always buzing. Great piano bar and pianist who will play just about anything you can think of. Superb and attentive staff at all meals.Fun also because you are 10 minutes by cable car away form the town of Taormina, filled with shops ans restaurants. Yes touristy indeed but then again what am I ?...there are good little restaurants and terraces. Go for a before dinner drink at the other Belmond property right in the center of Taormina.

Serene because you can basically ask for anything and the concierge and staff will make it happen.
Get a room with a view overlooking the little bay should you no get one ( difficult in the summer months - July and August) opt for a garden view.

Worth the expense... I would say yes indeed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

We truly thank you for your kind feedback and are happy that you so much enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be happy to share your words with the whole team.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future.

In the meantime I send you my best regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

From the moment we arrived we knew this would be a special place. Everyone is friendly, helpful, accommodating and happy. If you not happy here than there is something wrong with you.

During the summer the nights can be noisy if you are close to the beach area as there are weddings & parries that go on. The Italians love fireworks & we had a great fireworks show around 1 am. This area is alive and vibrant!!

The access to the sister Hotel Timeo is easy and it is a wonderful compliment to the Sant Andrea. It is great to have the use of both. You don't have to do too much research the concierge and MARIO will lead you the best.

Miss this hotel and its working family!!

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the beach closer to the main lobby with 2 private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and I am delighted to hear that you could not have been more pleased with your stay.

Your comments were much appreciated.

We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have to admit I was at first skeptical when I booked not really knowing what we're in for . We were referred to this hotel by its sister property in Taormina , Grand hotel Timeo , which was fully booked so I immediately assumed the better one is full .
We're we in for a big a pleasant surprise!! This turned out to be the high point of our vacation :)
I usually search for modern and newly built hotels and steer clear of "historic properties" , a personal choice . Again , the team at Sant Andrea proved my whole criteria completely wrong .
Folks , you haven't seen good service till you stay there . Everything was perfect and immaculate . The level of details the staff look into is beyond textbook and you appreciate it even more when you realize the hotel shuts down 6 months a year which means re-training staff year in year out yet ....everything is perfect .
I can't even start by mentioning the little things that make the big difference . I know a thing or two about hotels not only because I travel a lot and visit many luxurious properties but also because I am in the business of building 5 star properties .
Martin and Mario at the Concierge are spot on with their recommendations . They make you feel like they've known you for years ...actually everyone at the hotel is so friendly and warm you have a hard time checking out . Mr. Daniele , the restaurant manager is also phenomenal .Definitely looking forward to returning there , our kids are already asking when can we return .
So in a nutshell WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR JUST GO AND ENJOY .
We visited the grand hotel timeo , a bit stuffy and colder . If you are for a very classy hotel with resort style friendliness I recommend Sant Andrea .
Just to note this is after all an old property so nothing major to mention except that keep in mind that some things do break down but they are swiftly fixed in a matter of minutes .
We are now very fond of Belmond , a chain I had never even heard of less than a month ago .

Room Tip: We had 3 suites , 2 in the main building and 1 across the lobby above the spa . All were lovely but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the review you posted on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience in our hotel. We have made sure to pass on your kind comments to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Your sincerely,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Bay of Mazzaro, the hotel boasts a prime position in the heart of Taormina's seaside district. It is perfectly positioned between verdant, subtropical gardens and the dazzling Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.