We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Divino" -- and the Entire Staff Here Wears Invisible "Angel's Wings"!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to your Saves list
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Super Saver
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“"Divino" -- and the Entire Staff Here Wears Invisible "Angel's Wings"!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Where to begin? This is a beautifully maintained, top-flight hotel in a spectacular setting, and we stayed here for one glorious week in early July 2013. Nearly every detail is perfect -- from the gorgeous, deep-blue sea vista from the patio of our room; the flower-filled public areas and meticulous grounds; the lovely, open-air setting and the abundance of our delicious daily breakfasts; the warmth and efficiency of the waiters and beach staff, anticipating nearly every "need" of their guests; the high level of cleanliness of our room and the public areas executed each day by housekeeping; the excellent cuisine at the Restaurant Oliviero -- I could go "on and on."

What truly distinguishes this property, in our minds, however, is the incomparable and truly stellar level of service, from management, to the hotel, concierge, beach and restaurant staff members and maintenance employees. We are frequent travellers, and over the years we have stayed at "top" resorts and hotels throughout the United States, Europe, the Caribbean and Asia. The professionalism, courtesy, high-level competance and warmth we experienced, on a daily basis, at this marvelous hotel (without one hint, from anyone, of "negative attitude") is, unfortunately, exceedingly rare these days. From the moment we arrived, when we were greeted at the door by Mario, the guest relations manager, Daniela, the concierge, and Angela at the front desk. we were treated, at the same time, like old friends and visiting dignitaries. Management and staff members strike the perfect balance in their gracious, kind and professional treatment of all guests. The staff takes the time to learn guests' names -- and the fact that we can remember their names (because they each contributed to a truly memorable vacation), is extraordinary. Our heartfelt thanks to Giovanni, the hotel manager, Mario, Daniela, Marika, Angela, Martin, Enzo, and numerous others, for our fabulous experience.

Further notes: the Sunday Sicilian beach barbecue is "not to be missed;" the small fitness room is spotless, and contains the equipment (treadmills, elliptical and free weights) most guests are looking for; my husband enjoyed his massage treatments at the Wellness Center; the free WiFi, though sometimes finicky, largely worked extremely well; our day excursion, arranged by the concierge, to Mount Etna was memorable; the complimentary boat excursion to nearby coves was fun and worthwhile; while it's true that you will need flip-flops for the volcanic, dark pebblestone beach, the setting is magnificent, beautiful and unique; the cable car (funicular) is just steps away and will whisk guests to Taormina in three minutes; there is a clean-as-a-whistle hotel shuttle, complete with a courteous driver, to the Grand TImeo (sister hotel) as well.

Please note that prior to booking this trip to Sicily, we debated long and hard about whether to stay at the Villa Sant'Andrea or the Grand Timeo -- we are extremely delighted with our choice. Small, "nit-picky" suggestions to managementl: please consider including additional bottles of complimentary water in the rooms -- two small bottles were left at our bedside each night, but two more bottles during the day, left after the morning housecleaning, for example, would have been appreciated, as well; the addition of a small hair/nail salon at the Wellness Center, or some other space, would be lovely.

Again, we had a superb experience, and we look forward to returning in the future. We WILL highly recommend this marvelous hotel to all of our friends and family. It's most definately "a rare slice of heaven" on earth!!

Room Tip: We had a first floor, deluxe room, with a patio, facing the sea. Marvelous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Friends,

Thank you so much for complimenting our staff as being "divino". This is our utmost reward.

Thank you again for this great feedback and I look forward to your next stay.

Best wishes,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Mananager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    29
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
152
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I'm writing this review while I'm still staying at this hotel!
I'd give it a 6 star if I could!!
We had 2 deluxe oceanfront rooms and since the moment we arrived we realized that we would have a wonderful experience!!!
Having breakfast outside with ocean view is quite amazing!!
Food, service, everything is flawless!!! Staff is wonderful!!!
Sicily is amazing and staying at Villa Sta Andrea made it more special!!!
A good tip? Bring or buy a pair of "sea shoes". Beach has no sand, only little rocks which made it quite difficult to walk. Specially for the little ones!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such positive a feedback.

I thank you for pointing out the attentive staff all over the hotel. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such high standards of service.

I am glad to hear that you have loved your breakfast outside with sea view.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you arrive, you realize that this seaside hotel is someplace special. Fabulous views of the sea from every room,wonderful service and Sicilian cuisine. We would give it not 5 but 6 stars if possible!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us!

We are delighted to receive such a lovely feedback and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best wishes,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a four night stop over at this divine hotel, from the moment we were picked up (Midnight) at the airport to being dropped off again four days later (5am), we experienced the most FANTASTIC customer service. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world - this is the standout - why? - THE STAFF. The Villa has all the 5 star facilities; beautiful gardens, pool, beach, EXCELLENT food, elegant meticulously maintained décor, shuttle van, location (a very short walk to the cable car up to the town centre) - all of this is expected at this level - but then add in the warmth, humour and care shown by ALL the staff and WOW! The Villa has a group of absolutely amazing, professional people, that make you feel WELCOME! Thankyou ALL for an amazing stay - we WILL be back.

Room Tip: Beware if you have mobility issues - many, many steps (absolutely worth it for the view) - I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guests,

I thank you very much for pointing out our "excellent" level of service all over the hotel. Indeed we genuinely love to pamper our guests and they can feel it.

I have passed on your words of praise to my whole team in order to keep on providing such high standards.

We look forward to many other visits.

Best regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As I stated in the heading – this is a 6 Star+ Hotel. Why do I say this because we have been staying here every two years since 2001 and when it was part of the Framon Hotel Group and taken over a number of years ago by the Orient Express Hotel Group.
From the meeting you enter and meet the professional receptionists – Angela and Marika and the rest of the team, you know that service is going to be exceptional. Onwards to the private beach were the charming Enzo will make sure that all your needs from towels, to cold Evian water sprays, fresh fruit make it a pleasure not to be anywhere else in Taormina during the day.
You always start the day with one of the most fantastic breakfasts served in a location that make you take a lot longer that you should. The staff here just smile a lot ….they must be happy in their jobs that is the only explanation that I can come up with.
The staff are headed up by the wonderful Giovanni Nastasi and his new deputy Mario. You will know Giovanni, he there early mornings, late nights and as he is the one who has his phone surgical glued to his hand to make sure that he can answer any queries that may happen during the day.
This is not a cheap hotel but you get what you pay for and it was either the Villa Sant’Andrea again to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary or two business seats to the Far East. Hoping to be back in 2015.

Room Tip: Save up and get the best room you cannot afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Friends,

I thank you for pointing out the excellent quality of service provided to you at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea.

I also thank you for mentioning our "amazing" staff. They are indeed a true asset for the hotel. We have a passion for our job and all of our guests can feel it.

We are just about to open up our gates again for a new and exciting season 2014 and would be happy to welcoming you back this year too.

Warm regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staff make the hotel. The staff here make this hotel unique,because the quality of service is so high. The breakfast staff were tops,the lunch time the bar staff the dinner time staff... each plied the quality to be the best ... They pre empt your next request,because they wish to please and
to ensure you are happy. Then of course the hotel is situated on a beautiful bay sidled into the
hill, overlooking a blue sea, like paradise... rooms are beautifully clean and well serviced by again class staff... the front desk obliging and wanting to go the extra ten yards... whoops age
ten meters ... any complaint ... hard pressed to think of one... maybe the layout a little difficult to
remember where your room was... and my pet hate a shower over the bath... rather than a proper quality shower.. something all of Europe still has an ongoing problem with making the leap into the 21st century on... these things were underwhelming in a dream hotel... we were a party of 14 ....would we come again ... yes sir...book now ... the ultimate place to chill out when the tide has been going the wrong way.... Would love to return in the future even from as far away as New Zealand ... oh yes ...when I was leaving the car service mixed up the details and were late... the front desk attendant tracked down the company by a series of phone calls... and they were there pronto... the type of service every company manager wants his clients to receive... only the best does here.

Room Tip: balcony facing the bay maybe 110 210 310... but it will not matter they are all tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly thank you for your kind feedback and are happy that you so much enjoyed your stay with us.

Your words of praise will serve as an encouragement to the whole team to keep on providing high standards of service.

We look forward to your next visits.

Warm regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have just come back from this hotel with my three year old daughter and her grandparents. We had the most fabulous week at this wonderful hotel. I cannot fault it. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Europe and this is, without question, the best. The service is truly exceptional - the staff are incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food at the restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) is varied and delicious and the service excellent. We had wonderful days by the pool with its idyllic backdrop of mountains and beach. What a setting! We very much enjoyed the boat trip, visting Taormina and the sister Hotel Timeo. The evening entertainment (particularly the piano player) was great and we very much enjoyed the beach barbeque on our last evening. Our two rooms (on the ground floor) were perfect with a joint terrace so my daughter could move between the two. The maids did an incredible job cleaning and tidying. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are delighted you left our hotel with the excellent impressions you describe.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we certainly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel once more, on many future occasions.

Yours sincerely,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Bay of Mazzaro, the hotel boasts a prime position in the heart of Taormina's seaside district. It is perfectly positioned between verdant, subtropical gardens and the dazzling Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.