We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Save Saved
You added Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Third Night
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Mazzaro
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolute luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a great Hotel - the service is impeccable. We had a great room with a private terrace where we had breakfast every morning (included in the price). The setting overlooking the bay was stunning. The staff were exceptional, always pleasant and helpful with just enough attentiveness without smothering you. The hotel was one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in outside Switzerland. Rooms throughly cleaned and replenished without fuss even when we got up very late. The rooms are not generous in size - be sure to book a sun terrace as it makes all the difference.
The beach and terrace bar are real highlights again with staff anticipating your every need. We also took advantage of the shuttle service to have dinner at the sister Hotel Timeo high on the mountain in Taormina. The food and terrace views were even more exceptional.
Obviously this level of luxury comes at a price - but overall it is good value and if you search you can get deals on stays outside the main season.
The restaurant was good but there are even better available in Taormina.
Cannot think of any downsides except Catania airport which has the smallest VIP lounge in the world - standing room only!
Villa Sant'Andrea is throughly recommended

Room Tip: Make sure you book a sun terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    26
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
131
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our Junior Suite overlooked the beach from a lovely terrace where we breakfasted every morning. The bathroom had a bath and shower and separate toilet; there is also a walk-in wardrobe, a desk, small table and chairs and lounge seating area. Servicing of the room included floor washing and drying every day which impressed us for some reason! Turndown service in the evening. Altogether the hotel is spotless. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a terrace bar which also serves tea and coffee and is a very relaxing spot amongst the lovely hotel gardens and overlooking the sea. The courtesy bus is to the Sant'Andrea's sister hotel which is situated at the entrance to Taormina's main street, Corso Umberto, and beside the Greco-Roman theatre. It is also possible to walk to Taormina - a nice walk but uphill! - or take a chairlift. The hotel is in some ways very English - toast is served with the crusts removed!
The hotel's restaurant has a very good sommelier and the food is delicious though the 11 euro charge for a black coffee left us speechless and charging a 5 euro a head cover charge even though we were guests was, we felt, unreasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

From the moment we entered the gate the staff greeted us by name! We were offered to be shown around and then taken to our wonderful suite with two bathrooms, a seperate living room and walk in wardrobe, not to mention the lovely long balcony.

Each day the room would be cleaned twice and lovely touches in the evening from the staff, candles and flowers in the bath, petals on the bed - very thoughtful.

Fresh flowers in the room every day - really lovely finishing touches!

Beautiful breakfast and a huge menu to choose from, a lovely beach setting each morning to sit and relax and listen to the waves.

We took advantage of the courtesy bus to the Sister Hotel, and what a wonderful view! definately worth a visit, we went most days. If the bus was full they would call you a private car which would be with you within minuets.

Wonderful staff and hotel with great finishing touches and an eye for detail.

Thank you for a wonderful Honeymoon!!

Room Tip: We had a suite and was better than I expected, it was set behind the main hotel area so had a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GP,MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We can't say enough about this more than friendly hotel! The staff was always willing to do anything we requested. Always with a smile! The setting, the grounds, the amenities were fabulous. It was an easy ride up to town, either with the hotel shuttle or the cable car. We had our own car and when we called for it, it was at the front door before we arrived at the front desk. Angela and the consierge and all , were always willing to help with directions, maps, and suggestions for places of interest. The dining room overlooked the beauty of the Sicilian coast. We have been to all the Italian lakes, the Amalfi coast, and the Italian riviera. They are all breathtaking, but Sicily tops them all. The food was exceptional as was the staff. We looked forward to our evenings. Toto, Roberto, Oracio, Anna, and all made us smile (laugh) more than we can say. After dinner-twenty feet away- we could have an after dinner cafe or cocktail, or nothing and sit overlooking the sea and lights ,listening to their VERY INTERESTING LOOKING piano player. This was a wonderful place to stay, and we will be back. Thank You for making our first trip to Sicily enchanting.

Room Tip: Any room with a terrace overlooking their beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We booked this holiday as a special treat & were not disappointed. Our room overlooked the bay & had a lovely view. It was clean with plenty of amenities & very comfortable. The 'room pixies' visited twice a day & ensured all was in order.

Breakfast was a excellent buffet with freshly made hot food to order. You could have it in your room if you wanted at no extra charge which I thought was a nice touch, but the breakfasting terrace was so lovely we went every day.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times & had plenty of advice as required.

The cable car to Taormina is just across the road which we tended to use as it was easy & convenient, although the hotel does provide a courtesy service to the sister hotel, Timeo, which is in the centre of town.

This hotel is lovely, and provides everything you could possibly want, however it does all come at a price-cocktails were 14-20 euros, a lunchtime pizza 12-15 euros & one days parking 20 euros plus VAT. Even a DVD from reception was 8 euros for a night, which we only discovered when we got the bill on check-out, but for a little touch of luxury, it does not disappoint.

If you are looking for a romantic moment, we'd recommend an evening cocktail (at an even more exorbitant price) on the terrace at the Timeo overlooking Etna at sunset. An unforgettable moment.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a dream place (unless you are a Yacht and Helicopter type of person) has great service and dream rooms. We had Suite 477 with a sea view and opulent interior. Both bathrooms had views onto the bay and private part of the beach, down the incline past the hotel. The breakfast is very good and the setting mouth watering (obviously dont dribble thats not a good look in any grand of hotel) Its a bit of a treck to the main town, but they put on a shuttle bus, or you can get the cable car for three Euros. The sea is clear and amazing to swim in... which I did every day.

I'd go back if I could. I stay there 365 days a year if I could.

Room Tip: Sea view or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a beautiful place! Newly renovated, our junior suite was an absolute delight. From our little balcony, we overlooked the bay/sea and it felt like watching a 50s movie - beautiful landscape and lots of water activities.

The general manager and the concierge we very helpful and ensured a wonderful stay. An added bonus was the complimentary shuttle bus to the sister hotel Grand Timeo, as it saved us 2 taxi rides every night. And the cocktails from the Grand Timeo terrace prior to dinner were an absolute must! The views are breathtakingly beautiful!

The house beach is very Italian and busy, but comfortable and the staff ensures a great service.
Don't miss the boat ride along the coast offered by the hotel.

The only improvement we would suggest is breakfast. The beautiful buffet is closed at 10.30pm sharp. And guests are left without doubt that it is time to finish breakfast. A great shame for a holiday hotel, where guests should be left to enjoy the morning a little longer. I never saw anyone eat lunch on the terrace before 1pm!

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank You so much for taking Your time to write us Your feedback. I am pleased to learn that You enjoyed your room, our private beach and above all our staff.
I will share Your delightful comments with all our colleagues working in our hotel, whose goal is to make memorable every day of our guests.

I thank you for your valuable comments about the breakfast. We confirm that buffet breakfast is served in our restaurant from 7:30 till 10:30 am; as an alternative, our guests can also have breakfast delivered to their room (complimentary) from 7 till noon, and enjoy it in the privacy of their private balcony or terrace facing the bay of Mazzarò.

We look forward to welcoming You back soon in our Villa and in any other hotels, trains and cruises part of the Orient-Express collection.

Best Regards from Taormina

Giovanni Nastasi

General Manager
Hotel Villa Sant'Andrea, Taormina Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Bay of Mazzaro, the hotel boasts a prime position in the heart of Taormina's seaside district. It is perfectly positioned between verdant, subtropical gardens and the dazzling Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.