We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back tomorrow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to your Saves list
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Certificate of Excellence
GP,MI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We would go back tomorrow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We can't say enough about this more than friendly hotel! The staff was always willing to do anything we requested. Always with a smile! The setting, the grounds, the amenities were fabulous. It was an easy ride up to town, either with the hotel shuttle or the cable car. We had our own car and when we called for it, it was at the front door before we arrived at the front desk. Angela and the consierge and all , were always willing to help with directions, maps, and suggestions for places of interest. The dining room overlooked the beauty of the Sicilian coast. We have been to all the Italian lakes, the Amalfi coast, and the Italian riviera. They are all breathtaking, but Sicily tops them all. The food was exceptional as was the staff. We looked forward to our evenings. Toto, Roberto, Oracio, Anna, and all made us smile (laugh) more than we can say. After dinner-twenty feet away- we could have an after dinner cafe or cocktail, or nothing and sit overlooking the sea and lights ,listening to their VERY INTERESTING LOOKING piano player. This was a wonderful place to stay, and we will be back. Thank You for making our first trip to Sicily enchanting.

Room Tip: Any room with a terrace overlooking their beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    32
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
166
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We booked this holiday as a special treat & were not disappointed. Our room overlooked the bay & had a lovely view. It was clean with plenty of amenities & very comfortable. The 'room pixies' visited twice a day & ensured all was in order.

Breakfast was a excellent buffet with freshly made hot food to order. You could have it in your room if you wanted at no extra charge which I thought was a nice touch, but the breakfasting terrace was so lovely we went every day.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times & had plenty of advice as required.

The cable car to Taormina is just across the road which we tended to use as it was easy & convenient, although the hotel does provide a courtesy service to the sister hotel, Timeo, which is in the centre of town.

This hotel is lovely, and provides everything you could possibly want, however it does all come at a price-cocktails were 14-20 euros, a lunchtime pizza 12-15 euros & one days parking 20 euros plus VAT. Even a DVD from reception was 8 euros for a night, which we only discovered when we got the bill on check-out, but for a little touch of luxury, it does not disappoint.

If you are looking for a romantic moment, we'd recommend an evening cocktail (at an even more exorbitant price) on the terrace at the Timeo overlooking Etna at sunset. An unforgettable moment.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a dream place (unless you are a Yacht and Helicopter type of person) has great service and dream rooms. We had Suite 477 with a sea view and opulent interior. Both bathrooms had views onto the bay and private part of the beach, down the incline past the hotel. The breakfast is very good and the setting mouth watering (obviously dont dribble thats not a good look in any grand of hotel) Its a bit of a treck to the main town, but they put on a shuttle bus, or you can get the cable car for three Euros. The sea is clear and amazing to swim in... which I did every day.

I'd go back if I could. I stay there 365 days a year if I could.

Room Tip: Sea view or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a beautiful place! Newly renovated, our junior suite was an absolute delight. From our little balcony, we overlooked the bay/sea and it felt like watching a 50s movie - beautiful landscape and lots of water activities.

The general manager and the concierge we very helpful and ensured a wonderful stay. An added bonus was the complimentary shuttle bus to the sister hotel Grand Timeo, as it saved us 2 taxi rides every night. And the cocktails from the Grand Timeo terrace prior to dinner were an absolute must! The views are breathtakingly beautiful!

The house beach is very Italian and busy, but comfortable and the staff ensures a great service.
Don't miss the boat ride along the coast offered by the hotel.

The only improvement we would suggest is breakfast. The beautiful buffet is closed at 10.30pm sharp. And guests are left without doubt that it is time to finish breakfast. A great shame for a holiday hotel, where guests should be left to enjoy the morning a little longer. I never saw anyone eat lunch on the terrace before 1pm!

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank You so much for taking Your time to write us Your feedback. I am pleased to learn that You enjoyed your room, our private beach and above all our staff.
I will share Your delightful comments with all our colleagues working in our hotel, whose goal is to make memorable every day of our guests.

I thank you for your valuable comments about the breakfast. We confirm that buffet breakfast is served in our restaurant from 7:30 till 10:30 am; as an alternative, our guests can also have breakfast delivered to their room (complimentary) from 7 till noon, and enjoy it in the privacy of their private balcony or terrace facing the bay of Mazzarò.

We look forward to welcoming You back soon in our Villa and in any other hotels, trains and cruises part of the Orient-Express collection.

Best Regards from Taormina

Giovanni Nastasi

General Manager
Hotel Villa Sant'Andrea, Taormina Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 9 days in early Sept. The property is beautiful, maintained to the max and the staff make each guest feel as if you are visiting their home, not their place of work. We took a superior deluxe room which had a magnificent terrace. The food was superb at every meal. With so little space we cannot thank everyone but thank you Andrea, Enzo, Antonio, Danielle, all the staff at the restaurants, housekeeping...

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you need in a room and if they can do it, they will.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel after 10 nights.

I have to say it was lovely, however if you are used to this level of hotel there may be a few things that you should be aware of, the rooms are small. We booked a classic room but in hindsight we should of booked a suite.

Our first room only had a shower and as I am broad shouldered I struggled to get in it! We brought this to their attention and they moved us the following day in to a room with a bath which was a lot better over all and the staff were wonderful about it.

The evening entertainment outside of the BBQ which had a wonderful trio of local singers and were wonderfully comical entertaining our dinner on the beech, however the usual entertainment was a gentleman who was a great host but his song choice was limited and very cheesy and I felt it lowered the class of the hotel.

We often took the trip to the Grand Timeo which was lovely and the entertainment, food and staff were very classy with wonderful views over Etna. The Sommelier added to the experience and always chose fantastic wines. Of which the Mille De Notte 1994 was the best of the holiday!

We spoke to may couples staying at the hotel and they were all disappointed with the hotel booking Da Ninos.... You will see on this site there is one at the number 3 spot, which is at the top of the cable car and to the left which is a wonderful Trattoria, however the hotel was intent in sending guests to a restaurant down the coast of the same name and from what we understand the food was poor in comparison.

The staff were wonderful and all great hosts adding to the occasion and couldn't do enough for us.

The pool is very small but lovely and tranquil with great views.

Overall we thought it was great value, with great food, wine, service and views.

Other restaurants to note outside of the hotel are Da Ninos for informal, Barronessa (Best steak I have ever had!) Antonios (Please book this yourself as there seems to be a few!) Metrolpole and of course the Grand Timeo.

Room Tip: Please choose a suites, if you are used to larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A beautiful hotel with a beach front and the flexibility of the use of the sister hotel in the town, accessed by a complimentary shuttle bus.
When we arrived the room we had booked was not available and we were offered an upgrade to a suite until it was free 3 days later. We were uncomfortable about moving as we wanted to unpack and settle and they simply offered us the suite for the entire 9 nights. It lacked the panorama of the sea that we had originally wanted but the view was nonetheless great and we soon learnt that you had a view of the beautiful bay pretty much everywhere you went so this was no loss.
The staff here work incredibly hard and make the effort to remember your name. Even the pianist in the evenings takes the time to chat to you and taught us a little Italian. Everyone goes the extra mile.
Be careful not to criticise the little things that look like an issue on arrival. Like the lack of tea and coffee making facilities. We like a certain herbal tea we struggle to get away from home and had brought some with us on this occasion (we're not 'Brits abroad' honestly!) The staff simply sent us hot water on request without the bat of an eyelid. The minibar is not some dreadful spring loaded affair but a fridge. So you can chill your own booze and water if you wish. You're a grown up and they're not looking to catch you out and charge you a few extra Euros. If you want something you can't see. Ask.
This place isn't cheap but that shouldn't be a surprise. However do get value. The senior staff here are present, everyone makes you feel like you count, the views are stunning and the facilities are good. We ate and drank well and had a wonderful memorable break.

Room Tip: This isn't a purpose built hotel but a converted old private villa so don't expect a large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Bay of Mazzaro, the hotel boasts a prime position in the heart of Taormina's seaside district. It is perfectly positioned between verdant, subtropical gardens and the dazzling Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Belmond, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.