We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort

Save Saved
You added Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riviere des Galets, Chemin Grenier, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL RATES
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Chemin Grenier
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we were recently at shanti maurice (in november for 6 nights) for our honeymoon. if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing and comfortable vacation it is the perfect location. hotel facilities are great, staff is very polite, friendly and helping. there are no disturbing crowds or loud music etc. perfect privacy, just the sound of waves breaking at the reef barrier and birds. we were at the spa only once and it was fine. food and drinks at the restaurants are very good, the only negative comment I can make is we were on bed and breakfast and extras were a little bit expensive but when you compare to your overall stay it is worth it. fish and rum shack barbeque is very nice, great food and a nice evening experience with traditional dancers and coctails in a beautiful atmosphere by the beach. shanti maurice is located at the southern part of mauritius where it is the most secluded part away from too many tourist attractions and crowded resorts. but if you also wish to see those you can easily rent a car from the conierge and drive around the island. we rented a car one day and drove by the shore to the capital city port louis. we also took a catamaran tour full day, both days we had a really nice time. and we spent the rest of our honeymoon just relaxing and enjoying ourselves at this beautiful resort. definitely recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ayse D,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

Is rewarding to me and to my Team to learn that you have enjoyed your honeymoon in our resort.

Thank you for sharing your experience with our reviewers in our trip advisor page, is our aim to make everyone experience and holiday a memorable one.

Hope to meet you soon back here in Shanti Maurice.

My best regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    51
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
56
194
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and me have stayed 10 days in november in this beautiful resort for our honeymoon.. It has been a great stay but there is as well room for improvment.
When we checked in we were told that the hotel is full and we can't get our upgrade which is actually advertised in their catalogue. Despite that we did not want to ruin our honeymoon by disussing it with the agent at the desk. when they took us to our room the agent mentioned if you would like to complain about the room you are welcome to talk to the Managment about it which we decided to do at a later stage. The room was good with a nice little garden overlooking the sea. All over the room was clean but it looks like its time for some refurbishment as it seems to be a bit used up already. Still nothing to let you down i know i'm very picky in these things. We went for dinner right after and i have to say the food was great and the service was friendly and professional, we had Breakfast lunch and dinner in this restaurant. Despite this if i would stay for more than 2 weeks i think i would have had a problem with the variety of food but for the time we stayed it was great. Unfortunatley for us The special Rum shack bbQ was canceld due to rain during our stay but that can happen. The Spa is just great a bit on the pricey side but its worth it.
The Beach is amazing and walking around the whole resort makes you feel total relaxed.
After 7 days of stay we decided to talk to the managment about the issue with the upgrade and went to the reception to ask for the GM but they told us he is in a meeting only to see 1 min later that he is sitting by himself in the bar smoking a cigarette. i guess that is more important than talking to your guests. After this we did not try to talk to him again. Its definetley worth it to spend your honeymoon or vacation there , its a great place with great staff,we will go back for our anniversary one day , despite the little flaws which happened .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Christine S,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

Thank you for posting your review in our Trip Advisor page.

I am concern reading about that your upgrade was did not materialize while you stayed here, we definitively wish to accommodate every commitment as sometime is based on availability.

I am not sure about the fact of asking to see the previous General Manager, however I am sorry that this matter was not taken care.

On another note is good to learn that your experience was positive overall, that you have enjoyed the resort settings, the food in particular.

I hope to have a chance to met you personally next time and do something about the small miss accrue on your last visit.

Warm regards

Guido Farina
Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This must be one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Wonderful staff, very friendly, polite and service minded. And due to it's size (only about 44 rooms in total), you get the perfect intimate feeling, never crowdy, always a joy!

The food at the restaurants is decadent, very tasty, amnd super fresh with herbds and vegetables from their own garden. A la carte breakfast with lots of choices.

The junior suites are spacious, tastfully decorated, have great views over beach/sea, and with a nice garden/,mini lagoon at the backside.

All in all a fantastic hotel, with the perfect atmosphere, top notch and high end, but still with the personal and relaxed touch.

Great for couples, but also for families as they have a childrens club.

Room Tip: I think all suites are sea facing, but the ground floor ones have direct acces to the beach, whereas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear kn1901,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

It is a great pleasure to learn that you had great time while staying in our resort, thank you so much for appreciating the amenities in particular the food and the specious room as well as the direct view to the sea.

We do hope to have you back soon in our resort.

My best regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It's been a while since we stayed at the Shanti (April 12) and we can only tell you the best about this wonderful resort. First of all it is the people who make the difference! Duarte and his team made our 14 day stay an unforgetable experience - thank you very much again! We stayed at a Beach front Junior suite and the value for money is just great. Large Bedroom with front view to the sea - incredible marble bath with outdoor shower and a little veranda for privat breakfast in the morning.

The SPA is one of the best - if not the best we have ever been to (and we travel a lot). In terms of food, you have the choice between two restaurants (Indian and Cape Cuisine) as well as different theme evenings (don't miss the fish and rum shak as well as Grandma's kitchen). The quality as well as the presentation was always top and the chef (Austrian origin) will always prepare something which is not on the menu - on request.

Overall - an experience which should not be missed and we will definately go back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear YandUG,

Greetings form Shanti Maurice!

Thank you for sharing you comments in our Trip Advisor page.

My Team and I are delighted that you have find our resort suitable to your liking during your 14 nights stay.

Is rewarding for us to learn that the Junior Suite along with the food and the Spa were the highlights of your stay without forgetting the extra touches given by Duarte and his Team.

I hope to meet you soon on your next visit.

With best regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely resort - fab rooms, great food in the restaurants and on the beach.
The Suites are amazing - large rooms with own pool and great views of the beach. The house salad is to die for. Great water sports for adults and kids- the team that ran it were very helpful. Also learnt to paint

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Alison J,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

Thank you for taking time to write a review in out Trip Advisor page.

I am glad that the overall experience was indeed great! From the food in the restaurant to the beach settings as well as the Suite allocated for your stay.

I do hope to have you back in our resort in the near future.

Warm regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I am actually not sure how to find the words to describe how amazing this resort is. It was THAT GOOD!!

From the moment we arrived to the moment the car picked us up to leave we felt like royalty. Free massages on arrival whilst the staff are checking you in, everyone knows your name and room number after a day! They just couldn't do enough.

Food - great selection and of a michelin standard. Themed nights every week. Definitely visit the Fish and Rhum shack!

Room - huge huge rooms, with amazing balcony and a bathroom bigger than our bedroom at home! The room was cleaned daily and our bed turned down every night.

Beach - fabulous! Plenty of padded sun loungers under palm leaf umbrellas. Waiters on the beach fetching you food and drink all day. Also free fruit juice in the morning, cold flannels at lunch time and fruit sorbet in the afternoon. Lots of beach activities available, snorkelling is a must!

Spa - you must visit the spa! Even just to use the facilities (which are free) We had a Sega massage and a couples shanti touch massage. Both were amazing and sent us to sleep.

The staff are phenomenal. They cater to your every whim and are so friendly and chatty.

We felt so at home here we didn't want to leave. A very emotional car journey to the airport was had :)

Room Tip: Go for a beach front room. Our room was more like an apartment it was huge and right on the beach fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Sarah B,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

Your review is indeed amazing and we are delighted that your honeymoon will be remember for long long time.

All the credit to my colleagues for executing to perfection all the job and being so dedicated to such a high customer service.

Hope to meet you here soon again, warm regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i went for my honeymoon in August to several destinations, We went to Zanzibar, Kenya and Mauritius. We spent 5 days in the shanti maurice in one of their villas which was worth every bit of it. The driver Krishna is the best driver to have you drive you around and if you haven't booked pick you from the airport. He is very professional and pleasant to be around he has a nice calm demenour. We really enjoy food and consider ourselves semi-food critic's but the food at the hotel was impeccable. You should always do deserts when there. The waiters know what to recommend and the hotel has a nice wine list. The scenery is perfect we really loved Mauritius the perfect destination for a honeymoon. Before I forget we really loved the orange juice and we come from a country that produces oranges and a lot of citrus fruits. We both had five glasses each on our last day before we headed to the airport. I cannot say how fond memories even writing this brings. The hand lotion was one of the best I have ever had. I really dislike lotions by the way so when I say it was a nice lotion am not exaggerating. If you making a choice and go anywhere else better you best let me know, coz I have not seen better service and ambience.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Kugu M,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

I am again pleased to read that we are keeping up with our service and guests like you are going away from our resort with such a good memories.

Thank you for highlighting many positive things and mentioning about Krishna, proud to have him as part of our Team.

Hope you are coming back for another visit in the near future, looking forward to meet in person.

Kind regards

Guido Farina
Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort

Address: Riviere des Galets, Chemin Grenier, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Chemin Grenier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Chemin Grenier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanti Maurice is a luxury lifestyle resort comprising 61 suites and 17 villas on the untouched south of Mauritius. The Nira Spa set in 75,000 sq feet of tropical gardens, provides traditional Indian Ayurveda and international spa treatments. Dining options include Stars, with contemporary Cape cuisine; Mauritian dishes and Wellness cuisine at Pebbles, or beach-side dining at The Fish and Rhum Shack. Shanti Maurice welcomes couples and families perfectly catering for weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Maurice a Nira Hotel Chemin Grenier
Shanti Ananda Maurice Mahebourg
Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort Mauritius/Chemin Grenier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.