We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort to your Saves list
Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riviere des Galets, Chemin Grenier, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Discount
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemin Grenier
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We recently spent 9 days at heaven on earth! We fell in love with this extremely well-kept hotel and will definitely be back. The pool villas were booked so we opted for a junior beachfront suite and were far from disappointed. The room was extremely spacious, the bathroom was huge, the outdoor shower was a nice touch, and our maid Anjaeen Soniah was particularly delightful and thorough. We heard the sound of the waves crashing against the reef 24 hours/day and the view was spectacular! Rooms are cleaned once a day and there is an evening turn-down service where fresh towels are brought and a little tidying up occurs. We spent most of our time reading and dining on our porch or laying on the beach which was literally a few feet from our porch. Service was far beyond our expectations at all times - Norbert the concierge, Priya and Deepa at the restaurant, Clyde at the beach at the restaurant! The staff goes out of their way to accommodate every single wish. For example, we both came down with colds after the all-night flight and in addition to calling a doctor for us, we received multiple calls from management and the spa doctor to ensure we were okay.

One friendly piece of advice - keep the screen-door closed once it starts to get dark and bring some cream for mosquito bites just in case. :-)

We had several spa treatments which included some of the best massages we have ever had. The atmosphere in the spa is an invitation to relax and the staff, manager Novie Jones, and the doctor Dr. Arun are most helpful and highly competent. I tried eyebrow threading for the first time with lovely Varouna and was very impressed! Everyone seemed to take a genuine interest in each guest as an individual and service at the spa and everywhere else in the hotel came from the heart. We booked our treatments before arrival and were able to get the times we wanted. They do offer daily specials however and there were some very good deals.

We had half-board and the food was excellent and great value for money - how nice to not have to fight over bread at a breakfast buffet. One orders breakfast from a menu every morning. For dinner we could choose between two restaurants and there is cuisine to suit every taste (meat and fish, curries, great pizzas, pastas etc.). An appetizer, main course and dessert are permitted on half-board and there are no restrictions - the whole menu is open to half-board clients. We were usually able to get a table outside with a view but table reservations are not permitted so it is a bit hit or miss. We actually had a lot of meals on our terrace and the room service was excellent!

It really was the little things at Shanti Maurice that made such a big difference - cold towels on the beach, free bottled water in the room and on the beach, a Nespresso coffee machine in the room, the occasional drink or snack on the beach, and a parting thank-you note and flower from the roomservice colleague Sweetie. One day we accidentally left the safe open and the maid reported this to the manager who promptly found us at breakfast to do an inventory. Upon arrival they greeted us and spent a lot of time explaining details about the hotel and showing us our room. Without us saying a word, they noticed that the slippers provided might be a bit small for us and within a few hours they returned with the right size.

For those who prefer a little more action there is always something going on - lectures, herb garden tours, yoga lessons, and even some of the water activities are free of charge. Excursions can also be booked through the hotel. We were looking for total rest and relaxation so never left the hotel.

We were also able to check-in early in the morning and check out late in evening which was wonderful - we could enjoy Shanti Maurice up until the very last minute. This makes such a big difference and sets the hotel apart from so many we have been to!

This hotel sets a new benchmark in terms of both service and beauty. We are counting down the days until we can return and would definitely consider staying for 2-3 weeks upon our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear KristenGermany,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

How beautiful and detailed is your review, seems that you have explored all the areas and you have find everything to your liking.

From the room settings to the restaurants and culinary delights up to the Spa I am glad to learn that all the amenities were well delivered.

Thank you for mentioning the name of you colleagues of mine, I will make sure to share with them your fantastic review.

We hope to meet you again soon, with best regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    54
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
68
238
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Shanti Maurice was a wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting. The junior suites were incredibly spacious and well appointed. We were in a good location right on the beach - which made for easy sunlounger access and also meant we could run inside quickly during one of the rare rain showers! There were lots of helpful members of staff on the beach throughout the day - our sunglasses were polished and we were provided with complementary water and fruit juice at various times of the day. The 3pm sorbets were also well received!

The staff all deserve a special mention - polite, friendly and knowledgable - nothing was too much trouble. They are a credit to the Shanti Maurice. We arranged a private beachfront dinner for our wedding anniversary. Unfortunately it was high tide that evening so we had to move to another location, but our private chef and waiter were absolutely fantastic. The food was wonderful and cooked to perfection. I am not a big seafood fan, but even I was enjoying the giant prawns and sea bass. We were given a lovely bunch of flowers and a special anniversary cake - we were too stuffed to eat the cake on the night, but it was placed in a chiller for us to enjoy the next day. When we returned to our room after dinner the hotel had lit lots of candles in our bathroom and filled the bath with rose petals. A wonderful and unexpected touch.

The food in general was outstanding. I don't think either of us had a meal we didn't enjoy. The only thing I was disappointed about was the fact the menu did not change throughout our stay. I don't know if this is because the hotel wasn't full or if they just like to use the same menu for a long period of time. The hotel runs various "theme" nights throughout the week at an extra supplement and perhaps they prefer not to change the menu so that guests pay the supplement for the theme nights. A relatively minor complaint really!

I had a couple of treatments at the spa - I hadn't believed how big the spa was - but it really is huge. Both of my treatments were brilliant and I could have stayed there all day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear carly1383,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

Thank you for posting your review in our Trip Advisor page.

We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful holiday and that starting from the junior suite to the food up to the spa everything was nice.

Thank you for mentioning about our staff performance and the fact that they deserve e special comments, I totally agree with you that the staff make up the soul of the place, so important.

That said we hope to meet you again soon here.

Kind regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Perfection is divine. This what came to my mind during my 11 day family stay with at Shanti Maurice. Apart from one glitch which was room cleanliness (and this is now being taken care of by their newly recruited manager from the Jumeirah group) everything was simply stunning .. The BMW seven series that was waiting for us .. The polite and courteous gentleman Krishna who was our tour guide later .. The marvellous build and decor of the hotel, lobby, reception, restaurants, landscaping, scenery, beach, rooms .. Everything. The staff is extremely kind, helpful and friendly. Their conierge will make anything happen including shipping a cat my kids fell in love with back home! Truly this hotel has the potential to be paradise. A simple walk around the hotel is breathtaking. Their spa was amazing .. The foot reflexology drove me into deep sleep on the spot .. Their restaurants (while limited in choice) offered great tasting dishes. Don't miss the lamb shank ;) hats off to their chef! Will we be back. Definitely .. But this time in October to make use of some warmer weather.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Beebosk,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

Than you for your comments, appreciate it that almost everything went well and that we were able also to fix the small issue that you had.

We hope to meet you soon and wishing you all the very best.

Kind regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

If you are looking for something special in your life, this is it. We stayed at the villa for more than a week: Service is grate, all the staff are very welcoming and feels that they provide service from the heart. We had a wedding ceremony at this place, despite the weather we were really happy with it anyway.

You can find all that you need at this hotel and even more if you ask any member of a hotel.

Breakfast, is something special.. I have tried all the dished of the menu - only the best!
Lunch - can be improved, however of a good quality
Dinner - I had the best Curry makhani in my life.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Alexey Y,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

WOW, also...nice to read your review and thank you for suggesting to improve our lunch, is something that we appreciate from you and will look into.

I wish to have a chance to meet you again soon in our resort.

With best regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

stayed in the luxury pool villa for 7 days of our honeymoon in complete luxury and first class service. We left the resort once and hurried back, because it is the best spot on the entire island and the food, service, drinks, and grounds are incredable. Highly recommended and loved every minute. Definately for people that are looking to relax and unwind and be pampered. We had the half board deal, so had breakfast and dinners included, which is highly recommended, otherwise those costs would add up quickly.

Room Tip: villa with own pool made this very special and allowed you to stay in and around your room all day w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear evan w,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

On the occasion of your honeymoon it seemed that you have find the perfect nest here in our resort.

Thank you for such a wonderful review and we hope to meet you again soon here.

Best regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I recently spent a week at your hotel and it was my perfect stay! I travel a lot and have stayed in many lovely hotels but the Shanit Maurice truly exceeded my expectations. Starting with the accommodation which was superb - loved our spacious room, the huge bathroom and the balcony looking onto the sea. The staff were incredibly gracious and helpful; they could not do enough to ensure we were content and comfortable. We enjoyed the spa immensely; the facilities and treatments were all incredible, I loved yoga in the morning - we only wished we could have enjoyed their delicious lemon and ginger tea elsewhere in the hotel! A cycle ride to Rochester Falls was definitely a highlight, as was our failed attempt at kayaking and the terrific service from the guys who manage the beach - the cold towels, drinks and daily sorbet was a lovely touch! Last but definitely not least … the food! The food was fantastic!! I was thrilled not to be assaulted by a buffet - breakfast and dinner were amazing, we will be craving all the seafood, the incredible Indian food and especially my morning dosa!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Sam_Peter_12,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

How nice to read your review, the fact that you have enjoyed the settings of the room and the food in our restaurants is very rewarding and we are pleased to learn that.

Is about attention to details and we will not stop to look for additional amenities to offer to our guests as we always aim for something different to offer to the experience of our patrons.

Hope to meet you soon here at Shanti Maurice.

Kind regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I spent a very pleasant time in this very fine establishment, where luxury, friendliness of staff and quality service has no equal to the quality of its food. The chef had concocted a meal tailored exceptionally shrewd where the flavors mingled a subtle way. I'd actually wanted to stay longer in this haven of peace.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, General Manager at Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Rodolphe L,

Greetings from Shanti Maurice!

Nice of you to mention your experience here in our resort, from the quality of service to the friendliness of our staff.

We hope you are coming back soon, I will be delighted to meet you in person.

Kindest regards

Guido Farina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort

Address: Riviere des Galets, Chemin Grenier, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Chemin Grenier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemin Grenier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanti Maurice is a luxury lifestyle resort comprising 61 suites and 17 villas on the untouched south of Mauritius. The Nira Spa set in 75,000 sq feet of tropical gardens, provides traditional Indian Ayurveda and international spa treatments. Dining options include Stars, with contemporary Cape cuisine; Mauritian dishes and Wellness cuisine at Pebbles, or beach-side dining at The Fish and Rhum Shack. Shanti Maurice welcomes couples and families perfectly catering for weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Maurice a Nira Hotel Chemin Grenier
Shanti Ananda Maurice Mahebourg
Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort Mauritius/Chemin Grenier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.