We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison D'ete Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Maison D'ete Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maison D'ete Hotel
Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Staying here is an amazing experience - the quietness, the ocean breeze coming up through the buidligns and the sound of surf pounding the distant reef. The rooms are great and we were even given a 'transit' room to relax in when we first arrived because we got in before check in time. That's service! All the staff are really friendly and attentive. You sometimes have to remember that this isnt a massive five star hotel so if you cant find someone it is just matte rof waiting a few minutes - this got me a bit annoyed at one point before I realised that this is a B&B, but one that is so good it vies with big top notch hotels.

The food is a bit expensive but it is good. If I had one gripe it is the lack of fresh fruit at breakfast. I am used to staying in hotels with a much broader range of options for breakfast (again, I had to remember that this place has 8 rooms only...).

We had a 18 month old child with us and to be honest, this might have been the wrong call for him. There are no real kiddy facilities for that age group short of some basic toys. This is an extremely romantic, sensuous sort of place and suits couples looking to really relax. Its also quite a good base for exploring the north / east from.

We did get excellent baby sitting though and our son got a lot of attention from the staff. We needed a doctor at one point as he had tonsillitis and the staff went into action really quickly on this.

If I had one real gripe its the open-ness of the B&B to the beach. There is no night watchman that I was aware of and security could be an issue. You see groups of youths lounging around the beach a lot. I may be being paranoid but I've lost items in similar circumstances. That said, they do have security cameras and good lighting.

This is said to be the best B&B on the island and I would agree but not because I have seen the others, just that I cannot imagine it being much better. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all as good as the others as far as I could see. We stayed ground floor in the villa which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    23
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
148
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Fantastic holiday. A real getaway from it all. We loved it for the peace and tranquility it offered. Great food, light quality fare, we did not want to over eat like normally on holiday, and it was more than sufficient. Unobtrusive staff making holiday relaxing a pleasure. The real star was our morning host Patrick who was efficient, helpful, welcoming and always with a smile!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked this place for my wife and I, predominantly on the back of excellent reviews and must say we weren't disappointed. We were picked up at the airport and driven to the hotel where we were met by smiling faces ready to show us to our room. Unlike most hotels, there was no need to go through the usual procedure of confirming the booking, swiping your credit card, etc. we were just allowed to go straight to our room - just what you need after a 12 hour flight.
The rooms are very nicely furnished and spacious, looking out onto the pool and the sea beyond. Our room had a large bedroom and a big bathroom plus another single bed in an ante room which would have been perfect for a child.
It's so peaceful here, it can almost feel as if you have the place to yourself as it's so well designed you don't really find yourself bumping into other guests.
In the evenings I would especially recommend the restaurant. It is in a nice setting, with a great menu. The food is delicious and service is good.
The only negative I could find with Maison D'Ete would have to be that it is in a fairly remote area with nothing close enough to walk to in the evening and it would be nice to have aircon, but that would be being picky as the whole purpose of a trip here would be to seek total peace, quiet and relaxation.
Try it, you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are probably on the better side of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailly France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had the address from friends, who have been to the hotel already 3 times...so we had to go to!
We were picked up at the airport, 1 h drive ( it will be faster next time, as a new highway is going to be opened in march) and the welcome was perfect. The rooms are nice, you can have a little kitchenette, or not, the restaurant is excellent, you have always a little plus, which makes the difference, and you are in a quiet place,excellent to take break. To circulate trough the island, we took the bus, very good connections, you need time,but it is fun.
The employees are very helpful, efficient,so you really should make a try....

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice 10 rooms, no notice just the sea...what else do you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Well,if you like holidays with many people arround you, you may better choose one "all inclusive "
big hotel,but if you wish to scape to a peacefull paradise (all the area is also very quite) i can really recomend this tastefull small hotel.I spent three days there and even if that was two years ago,i have a wonderfull memory of "Maison d´Ete",great people,very good food,fantastic ambiente.If once i should go to Mauritius again for sure i will return to this special place.

Room Tip: If you have questions or wishes just send an e-mail to the hotel,i am sure they will do their best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had this place recommended by friends and had already booked it based on the reviews on here. They are absolutely true, I find it difficult to find a single fault with this place.

We spent a relaxing trip here for 1 week initially and came back for the final week of the holiday, delighted that they had space.

The pools are marvellous and never crowded as the sets of villas each have pools. The rooms are really well designed, with comfortable bedroom / sitting room / kitchenette areas and a separate dressing room / bathroom. They are small yet feel perfectly spacious for 2 people and manage to create distinct zones for living. Each villa also has excellent secluded and private outdoor patio space where one can dine or just relax. It is particularly nice to sit there on an evening with a drink from the well stocked bar.

One of the lovely things about this place is that you can, if you like be self sufficient. As this was a 3 week holiday, eating out every night would have been tiresome but the kitchenettes were sufficiently well appointed to allow preparation of lunches / simple dinners. The only downside is that there is no close place to buy food. There is a brilliant local market in Flacq and a modern supermarket next to it however (short bus ride from outside Maison d'Ete).

The beach is not a strong point at Maison d'Ete, it is more a wild windy unspoilt beach than a manicured white sand one, but one could still easily lay a towel and relax. The snorkelling immediately outside the hotel is excellent though as there is a small living reef.

Whilst the East coast is quiet and less developed, it is still easy to get around Mauritius either by rental car, taxi or the totally brilliant public bus service (changing in Flacq to go anywhere).

Maison d'Eté also has good facilities to entertain. Well stocked library, Free wifi and computers, mountain bikes, kayaks and snorkelling equipment. All included in the price too…

The onsite restaurant is so good it is a destination restaurant for Mauritians and other tourists staying elsewhere. There is a wide range of international food, usually a recipe for disaster but it is all brilliantly executed from the pizzas to the fine fish dishes. The waiting staff are incredibly polite and well trained and learned your habits and preferences quickly.

Whilst we stayed for the 2nd week a new owner, a Parisian lady took over and I met her and had a chat to her, she was very charming and interested to hear our experiences. I told her to change nothing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

From the moment we arrived we knew this place was special an just what we wanted.

Personally I can't imagine anything worse than a huge resort style hotel filled with tourists and families and kids clubs: Maison D'ete is a ten room boutique heaven right on the beach.

Food was fabulous, staff were lovely and made such an effort - sandwiches in our room when we arrived late at night...

I don't often visit places more than once but I cannot wait to get back there!

Room Tip: they are all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison D'ete Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison D'ete Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet address along the wild coast, North-East of Mauritius, is a well kept secret only spread by word-of mouth among insiders.1 unspoilt beach, 14 rooms, 2 swimming pools, 1 restaurant, 1 lounge bar, 1 little spa...In praise of simplicity, is not true luxury ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Maison D'ete Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison D'Ete Hotel Mauritius/Poste Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison D'ete Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.