We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an escape-from-it-all romantic honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison D'ete Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Maison D'ete Hotel to your Saves list
La Maison D'ete Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for an escape-from-it-all romantic honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We started our honeymoon at La Maison d'Ete before spending the second half of it at the Sands resort. We would have loved to spend longer at La Maison d'Ete but sadly it was fully booked and we missed it very much for the rest of our honeymoon! Next time we will miss out the Sands.

It is very calm, with beautiful views over the ocean. Marie Michele and Jean-Claude were very kind and welcoming throughout our stay (very friendly without imposing on you at all and allowing you complete freedom and privacy while being there for you should you need any advice/information). This lovely couple are also multi-lingual.

Our bungalow was great. Well looked after and extremely clean. It had everything we wanted (no TV but we didn't need one), and the ceiling fan was great for maintaining comfortable temperatures.

We really appreciated that fact that there were two pools. During our stay, only adults ever used the pool by the restaurant (which wasn't very often) and toddlers appeared to use the second pool, which was out of sight. This was a real bonus as the pools are not very large, so children splashing about would have been annoying.

The hotel is remote but easy to use as a base to explore the island via taxis or bikes that are provided. This is not the place if you want evening entertainment/bars etc. Big supermarket quite close by to buy drinks etc..and a good restaurant on site. Breakfast was simple but fresh and of good quality (some pastries/croissants would have been quite nice) and Patrick who looks after guests during breakfast was utterly adorable. The cleaning staff were joyful, efficient and discrete but very friendly too.

All in all this was a beautiful, safe place, where we could thoroughly relax. And excellent value for money compared to the Sands (where you pay a hefty premium for the advantage of spectacular sunsets and which we felt had far less character). Thank you to all at the Maison D'Ete for a fabulous welcome to Mauritius - and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future x.

Room Tip: Bungalow number 3 seemed to be the most private but just ask we were in 2 which was private enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    26
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
156
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights. You need a car to get around because there is no village near by. Because the villa rooms were fully booked we stayed in a bungalow room which we found very small and we missed an AC. The beach is quite small but the 2 great pools are compensating this. The restaurant serves breakfast (very basic), lunch and dinner. The service was great. Overall it is a good place to relax and do nothing for a few days.

Room Tip: Try to get a villa room because bungalow rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have stayed in a big resort and another GuestHouse on the island but my stay at Maison D'Eté was definitely the best. Great relaxing atmosphere, they let you use their bikes if you wish to take a tour, just genuinely nice people and it's practically on a deserted beautiful beach..Great memories!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Fabulous 3 days at La Maison D'ete. Very comfortable room with kettle, fridge and spacious bathroom. Able to sleep with doors open if you wish to hear the sea, which we could see from our bedroom. Magical setting with two pools overlooking the beach/sea. Stunning location - much preferred to hotels around the island. Lovely friendly, helpful people. Free internet access - nothing too much trouble when we asked. Even got fresh coconuts chopped down off the trees to drink! Stayed at 3 different venues while we were in Mauritius and this was by far the best. As mentioned by other reviewers only disadvantage if you dont want to just chill out, is the distance from other worthwhile trips and the cost of taxis. Sorry I didnt have the courage to hire a car, but not much in the way of good maps in Mauritius and was a bit concerned about getting lost. Fabulous brioche for breakfast! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

For a first impression of Mauritius, it was the best way to be introduced to the culture, beaches and wonderful, kind and friendly people. My Mom and I stayed at La Maison D'ete for 6 days and each day was better than the last. The view of the sunrise and sunset was unbelievable and the idea of literally saying by the beach drew us to the Hotel. The service was fantastic, the people were so friendly and kind and willing to help with absolutely anything.
I would definitely recommend the beautiful Hotel to couples, friends and family. It was great for some Mother-Daughter bonding time!!
The room we were in even had a kettle, which is fantastic for those who are early morning risers.
The location of the Hotel is fantastic if you just wanted to relax on the beach but for those wanting to travel or shop through out Mauritius, it was a bit difficult to get to places such as Grand Baye or Port Louis. Even though we didn't, I would recommend hiring a car, I think it was for 30 Euros a day, as the taxis can be expensive and quite demanding.
Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Between your new spouse and the La Maison D'Eté, you'll find everything your looking for on your honeymoon!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

What do you say of a hotel which is way too far off from everywhere. Where the only way to reach the market is to take a bus or a cab. Where the beach is too small and the sea is full of corals and sea-weeds and sea urchins and you did rather walk in it than swim. And when the wind blows, it blows hard.

Well in spite of all that it is a lovely hotel – there is nobody at the beach, the pools are always empty for you, the view from the room at sunrise is simply wonderful.

The food is great and the silence very natural. You can hear the waves and you can hear the birds – the hotel just works. And if you get Kishaan as driver - the holiday is truly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison D'ete Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison D'ete Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison D'ete Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet address along the wild coast, North-East of Mauritius, is a well kept secret only spread by word-of mouth among insiders.1 unspoilt beach, 14 rooms, 2 swimming pools, 1 restaurant, 1 lounge bar, 1 little spa...In praise of simplicity, is not true luxury ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your La Maison D'ete Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison D'Ete Hotel Mauritius/Poste Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison D'ete Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.