We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week at Jalsa Beach Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius to your Saves list
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A week at Jalsa Beach Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just got back from a week in Jalsa Beach hotel and Spar.
Very quiet and comfortable hotel, nice friendly staff and lovely weather.
Disappointed that it is on a lagoon so I would not recommend it if you want to swim in the sea and do some snorkelling as it is just not suitable.
The food in the hotel heavily leans to the Indian clients and offered curry most days , but if you ask the staff they will try to prepare different meals for you.
The hotel is immaculately clean and the gardens are beautiful.
Generally good value peaceful holiday hotel though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Dg002,

On behalf of the Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team I would like to thank you for your feedback and kind words. Your review has been shared with the entire Team. Naturally we wish that your overall impression was at a greater level of satisfaction. However, we have taken note of your comments.

The hotel is indeed located on a lagoon which as you correctly stated offers incredible beauty but a lack of deeper water. There are numerous parts of the lagoon within a short walking distance which does allow for free swimming but most guests have always preferred the pool. I am sure the Rum Point Bar has a lot to do with that.

We thank you for your compliments regarding the service, cleanliness, value and general environment.

Most importantly we thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday destination and send you our best wishes for wonderful travels ahead.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    184
    48
    20
    22
See reviews for
66
350
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just returned from this hotel after 2 weeks. This review is about the hotel but must first say our holiday was completely overshadowed by the fact that it was impossible to swim in the sea directly in front of the hotel because although you could walk out for what seemed miles the water still only came up to your knees. If we had been made aware of this we could have taken a driving licence and hired a car. We were told by reception that it would cost about £25/£26 for a cab to take us to a public beach and wait to bring us back - approx 1 hour trip. Too much to do everyday. We blame Mercury Direct for not including this information in their brochure.
The hotel itself is great (unless you have room 122, which we had for 1 night), we were given a temporary room for the first night but then moved to 223 on the 1st floor for the rest of the 2 weeks. Lovely big room with large balcony overlooking the sea, walk in shower, 7' bed and very well appointed. All the staff could not do enough for you and went out of their way to be helpful and make your stay as happy as possible. I noticed in a previous review someone complained the Indians were a problem, we did not find this but some of the French guests were extremely loud and obnoxious and there seemed it be quite a lot of kids running about and screaming in the pool at one time. We understand we hit the time of the half term school holiday on the continent! Having said that, for most of the time it was very quiet. A few days after we first arrived the music from the pool bar began to get on our nerves, especially the bass constantly booming but after having a conversation with Richard, the manager, this was immediately turned down and we were not bothered by it anymore.
Although the food in the restaurant sometimes got a bit samey, you would not starve and we had some very nice meals. Our real problem was with the desserts, not enough light, mousse, fruity things they were mainly cakes and pudding heavy things, not quite what you want after curries etc. The Chef Baithoo was always on hand and happy and willing to make you something special if you didn't fancy anything on offer.
The hotel and grounds were very well kept and we had a lot of pleasure from the beautiful flowers and birds around the gardens.
In conclusion, if you are not bothered about swimming in the sea (we don't like pools) then this is the perfect hotel to come to (out of school holidays) for a quiet, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid room 122 if you have a mobility problem. Difficult to get in the shower as it is in the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Maggie N,

It is always difficult to respond to a review from a guest whom I have come to know well during their visit. I have had the privilege to discuss the matters in your feedback in person and do not wish to repeat myself here. However, saying thank you for your recommendation and kind words is most certainly due. Five out of five serves as a wonderful compliment to the Team you have come to know well. Your review has been shared with all the Team Members.

The Team sends their best wishes for wonderful travels in 2014!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

It was our honeymoon trip and we stayed in Jalsa for a week. Over the days we fell in love with the resort.We had the sea + pool facing room on the first floor. The rooms are big and the aesthetics in the room was brilliant. It had a small balcony where you can sit and just gaze at the beautiful blue sea ,the stunning pool and the palm groves.

The pool is very well maintained and the water was clean through out our stay. It has a Bar in the middle of the pool where one can sit and enjoy a drink in the evenings.
The restaurant is an upkeep with good food at reasonable rates. Although the breakfast was similar on most of the days but the quality and taste was good.Could have been better if they tried a few new things on the break fast menu.

The resort also has a scuba diving facility . It was our first scuba diving experience and we got a little training session in the pool before we were taken into the sea. The trainers are experts and they know what they are doing. Although we did not see much of the underwater wild life but the experience in itself was mesmerizing.

The resort is not situated near the town and is almost 2 hrs drive from the airport. If you need to go some place then one can tell the hotel reception to arrange for a cab. You can even walk outside the resort and there are some real nice and calm beaches adjacent to the resort.

Overall our stay was amazing. We would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Take the sea facing rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Traveller Fareast,

On behalf of the Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team I thank you for writing such a wonderful review and positive feedback. As a well-travelled guest with multiple contributions on Tripadvisor your review serves as a great reward. Be assured that your review has been shared with all members of the Team who take great pride in having been part of a memorable holiday experience.

We appreciate your recommendation regarding the room and view. Most certainly the upgrade to a Deluxe Room with sea view was an excellent choice. Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is located in a very beautiful part of Mauritius and the Deluxe Rooms provide the ability to enjoy all which nature has to offer from sunrise to sunset.

We thank for your positive feedback on the pool and Rum Point Bar. The Rum Point Bar has always been a popular venue with our guests. It is the perfect setting to unwind with good company while sipping on an exotic cocktail. We are also pleased to read that you have enjoyed the menus on offer and have taken note of your comments regarding the breakfast menus.

Furthermore we are pleased to read that you have taken advantage of the Boathouse services as well as ventured to the nearby towns. Mauritius offers wonderful experiences within close proximity and with ease of access. It is highly recommended for guests to enjoy the complete experience as you have.

Most importantly we again congratulate you on the bond you have created and for sharing these memories with us. We send you our best wishes for an abundance of happiness and hope to welcome you again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

It is a very good hotel. Staff was very friendly, honest and always ready to serve. Hotel property is good.

Cons:
Food was horrible especially veg. food. From welcome drink to Dinner buffet food was horrible.

Room Tip: Two types of room are available i.e Standard & Deluxe.. Doesnt make any difference.. Deluxe may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Darsi007,

On behalf of the Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team I thank you for your feedback and positive review. We also thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday destination and for recommending the hotel to potential travellers. Be assured that your review has been shared with all members of the Team.

Your comments on the menus on offer have been noted. Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa offers a fusion of local and international flavours thereby allowing our guests to experience Mauritius also in taste. Should a guest have any specific dietary requirements then our Chef will always do his absolute best to prepare that something special from home. The strength of our success has always been the ability to provide service according to individual needs of our guests.

Lastly and most importantly we again congratulate you on the bond you have created. We send you our best wishes and hope to welcome you again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the JB Hotel for 2 weeks in February 2014. Initially we were a little hesitant at going to the JB Hotel as although many of the reviews were in the main positive, some were mixed. But you cannot please all of the people all of the time and some folks standards do seem to be unreasonably high.

This is a remarkably good hotel. Low key with quiet activities and a great location overlooking the lagoon.

The rooms both private and public were spotless and the gardens were immaculate. The beach is not terribly large but very adequate for the number of guests. Go to the boathouse and go out on the speedboat for a great spin around the local waters. Great fun and very competent staff make you feel safe and secure.

For us the restaurant was intimate, friendly and the food and service was excellent. Many dishes are served at every meal and please be adventurous as the range of vegetarian/non vegetarian is really exceptional. Quality of food preparation is spot on, and whilst Chef will pander to your individual needs without any problem we felt this was not necessary as the food suited us just fine. But if you fancy something that is not on the menu, if Chef can do it, he will happily.

Our room was one of the deluxe rooms with great views over the lagoon. No issues with staff if you asked for extra pillows etc. all was carried out in great time and very ably. The room was kept very clean.

The management team do seem to be eager to listen and we believe they do take things on board and we thank them for that.

The bar is well staffed with a wide variety of local and branded drinks available. Smiling and saying thank you to the staff goes a long way at the bar and there are no real issues in relation to service at all. The AI ends at 10pm.

Comments about the the staff overall at the hotel is that they are it's greatest ambassadors and they are sincerely enthusiastic to assist. We thank them all. Also, Mr Sanjay thank you. You light a mean cigar!

Our only broad suggested comments for improvement are that there should be a wider choice of wine when you are on the AI package and perhaps the hotel should consider a small shop selling basics such as sun cream. But the benefits far outweigh any minor criticisms.

As for Mauritius we got around with a hire car for our last week. Driving is okay and is no more challenging than any UK town or city. Suggest you get a Satnav though. There are less potholes there than here at home in the UK. Lots of great places to visit with Pampelmousse Botanic Garden and Ganga Talao being our highlights.

We would happily return to this resort and thank you to all the people we met who made our holiday so enjoyable.

Happy travelling.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor in room 224 looking over the lagoon. Great at sunset with a drink on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear G1Wanderers,

On behalf of the entire Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team I thank you for writing such a wonderful review and positive feedback. Your review serves as a great reward to a Team dedicated to providing personalized service catered to the individual needs of our guests. As a well-travelled guest with multiple contributions on Tripadvisor this review means a lot to the Team!

Your feedback on the service and facilities on offer is much appreciated. Especially the feedback on the menus on offer. Our Food and Beverage Team always strives to meet the individual needs of our guests with regards to specific dietary requirements. We are very pleased to read that you have experienced the same.

We send you our best wishes and sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.


Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We went to Mauritius for our honeymoon in the month of Feb. Stayed in Jalsa for a week.
The experience was excellent. The resort was good, the food was excellent, the scenic beauty was awesome. The resort also provided water sport activities like kayak, snorkeling, scuba, kite surf etc.

i had also booked a travel package which included North and South Island tour and Ile aux cerfs island tour. To be honest,Ile aux cerfs island tour and North Island tour was good. One can easily skip the south island tour(nothing much to see, also hectic) and enjoy a day in the resort. The pool and its adjoining bar provides excellent place to enjoy a carefree day.

Personally speaking, as honeymooners spend more time in the resort than traveling to South of the island. The romantic ambiance of the resort, the lagoon with gentle breeze all the time provides one with some excellent together-time.

If you love water sport, i suggest take up the mid -sea snorkeling/scuba and speed boat ride offered by the resort. The rates here are cheaper than the ones in tourist places ( Ile aux cerfs tour)

overall an awesome place to spend your honeymoon or leisure trip.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor rooms have better view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Swarnabha R ,

On behalf the entire Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and wonderful review. We are pleased to read that Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa was a part of a memorable holiday experience. You can be assured that your review has been shared with the entire Team.

We absolutely agree with you that Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is a perfect destination for honeymooners. The hotel is reasonable in size with only 66 rooms which provides a very peaceful and relaxing environment. This enables the Team to provide a service which caters for the individual needs of our guests with sincere smiles and warm hearts.

We are also pleased to read that you have enjoyed many of the facilities Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa has on offer. The boathouse Team does indeed offer a wonderful service with multiple free activities as well as some additional paid activities for the more adventurous.

Most importantly we again congratulate you on the bond you have created and send you our best wishes for a wonderful future together.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

we have just got back from the jalsa beach hotel where we stayed for 9 nights. We arrived about 12 noon but had to wait an hour and a half for our room,the hotel is clean,great food and the staff helpful and pleasant. The manager has cocktails with the guests on a wednesday which is a nice touch and he and his staff will do anything to make sure you have a great holiday. Couple of issues regarding room,only two teabags which are vanilla, and the tv has 1 english channel which doesn"t always work. There is only 1 bar which is round the pool and does seem understaffed at times especially when the indian guests are there in their numbers,these guests will push in front of you,speak over you but also intimidate the bar man so that he serves them first,i believe the management should have nipped this in the bud straight away but didnt,the noise level in the pool while they were drinking and throwing a ball around was too high considering people go here for a quiet time. At the dining room young children were running around playing while guests were eating and waiters serving which was dangerous.Hopefully these were rare occasions but you need to be warned its not as quiet as you might hope.

Room Tip: rooms from 200 upwards are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Trevor S,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to see that despite the points discussed in your review you still rated your holiday experience at four out of five. These reviews are well read not only by me but by the entire Team on all levels. Your feedback has been taken very seriously.

Most certainly some of the points mentioned are not acceptable and I send my apologies for that. As per your comment this was indeed a rare occasion as mostly the hotel has a very tranquil/peaceful environment.

We thank you for having taken the time to point these matters out to the Team. My recommendation to any guest visiting Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is to rely on the assistance of the Management Team who remain at the disposal of our guests.

We send you our best wishes for wonderful travels in 2014.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 023
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the gentle shores of the Indian Ocean, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa overlooks a turquoise lagoon with stunning mountain scenery. Found along the North East coast of the tropical island of Mauritius, at Poste Lafayette, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect choice for those looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalsa Beach Hotel And Spa - Mauritius
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius Poste Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.