We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding expectations - on a second visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius to your Saves list
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exceeding expectations - on a second visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

It was wonderful in 2010 but visiting for a second time in 2011 gives you a clear view on the improvements that have been made by this very receptive and responsive management team. The arrival of an experienced International Chef has dramatically improved the quality and variety of the food from good to excellent.
Having listened to what entertainment their guests would like, manager Richard satisfied all tastes with a well chosen programme which ranged from Sega on the beach and atmospheric reggae (from the talented Jean Luc) to an accordian player for the French guests and nights of peaceful chat over coffee and drinks - all ending at 11.00pm - a time which suited this cinderella who loves a good nights sleep!

The atmosphere is more akin to a family run hotel with staff keen to satisfy your every need - we were remembererd from last year and our table from the previous year was already set up and unofficially christened the Coy/Jackson table. Get to know the staff by name as this personal touch recognises their excellent service.

You need to be "All inclusive" as the hotel has the most wonderful, quiet position with fabulous views over the lagoon and beaches to walk on either side of the hotel's beach. Racehorses train in the lagoon early mornings, cane fires are lit in the evenings and the mountains finish this remarkable backdrop. But there are no local bars or shops close by.

Rooms are generous and well serviced with great beds. Many people liked the ground floor rooms with their terrace leading straight on to the gardens and pool as well as large bathrooms. We loved the third floor rooms (good lift avaialble) with their generous balconies and in our case - Room 319 - a very large terrace in additional to the balcony (not to mention the glass bathroom!). Small quibble - more furniture needed on the terrace to maximise its potential and hooks on the inside of the bathroom door along with a slightly cooler air conditioning system.
The mix of guests this year was slightly different - French tour groups, Indian Honeymoon Couples and English couples travelling independently - but all enjoyed the ambience and facilities provided; lovely pool, free canoes, kayaks and pedaloes along with the on-site spa and gym.
As well as the organised trips, use the local buses for the experience and visit Centre Flaq market on Wednesdays - hire a car and enjoy exploring the Island while driving on the left hand side of the road and loose your shirt at the Saturday horse racing in Port Louis.
Visit this hotel - you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the sea have the best view - 317, 318 and 319 on the top floor Ground Floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    199
    56
    23
    23
See reviews for
71
382
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

My wife and I returned to England from a 3 week stay at the Jalsa Beach a few days ago. The trip was arranged through Mercury Direct and the transfers and trips arranged by their agents Cathay Tours. The hotel is situated in a quiet location on the east coast from where you can walk in either direction along the beach for miles without anyone pestering you. The guests during our stay were split pretty evenly between European and Indian nationals. After an efficient and pleasant welcome by reception we were shown to our deluxe sea view room (223) which was spacious, clean and well equipped. The room had a lovely view from the balcony and contained a huge double bed and equally large shower.
The hotel sits in nice gardens which border directly onto the beach, the pool is a reasonable size and is kept spotlessly clean. (The chap in charge of the gardens and pool is one of the nicest people you could wish to meet). During our stay there was never a problem obtaining a sun bed which are sited around the pool and in the gardens overlooking the beach. In the corner of the garden overlooking the beach is the boat house which has pedalos, kiaks, etc. which are free to use. The hotel also has a nice spa with a good range of treatments and a surprisingly well equipped gym.
We were on an all inclusive deal which provides; breakfast, lunch, pancakes around 4pm and dinner, plus drinks from 10am to 10pm.(Drinks are confined to local beers, wines, spirits, juices and water). The bar staff are brilliant at making cocktails etc. which are covered by the A.I. The restaurant is arranged so that you can eat inside or on the terrace, with the service usually buffet style. The food was very good with a mix of European and Asian cuisine, chef is eager to please and will try to oblige with any special requests you might have. The restaurant staff are very attentive and pleasant as are the staff throughout this hotel.
The hotel is quite small (66 rooms) which is to its advantage meaning the guests get more individual attention. It will best suit people looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday in a lovely climate and location.
We would certainly be pleased to return.

Room Tip: The deluxe sea view rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I visited along with my wife and son. Had a pleasant stay. Rooms were neat and tidy - Housekeeping is good. Was upgraded to deluxe room, which has the best view - must choose.
Pro -
- Beautiful view
- clean and spacious rooms
- Nice boat house, to rent for free - kayaks, paddle-boats, snorkeling sets etc.
- Most of staff are friendly (except restaurant who seem to be overloaded and less responsive)
Cons -
- Top floor room AC wasn't effective (but table fan in every room)
- Restaurant menu very repetitive.
- No entertainment & limited TV channels.
- Limited room service.
Mauritius is the place to have fun and enjoy watersports. Must see - Ile Aux Cerf, Undersea walk, Submarine ride, Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling, boating in hotel

Room Tip: Must Select Sea facing rooms, Deluxe rooms are the best value for Money. If you get room closure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Worth spending money on that. After reviews cm on travel advisor few were horrible as I ws worried however as soon as reach the place and the way de have greet us follwed by beutiful view od beach, clean n tidy rooms and superb interiors amaze you. Food quality is excellent. Chef of the rest personally cm n ask for the tast n quality of the food which is good gesture.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I had booked my honeymoon package through travel agency Cox and Kings and Jalsa was included in the package. We stayed for six nights at Jalsa. On our arrival at Jalsa, we received very warm welcome at the reception. Our room very neat and nicely decorated. The sea view from the room was majestic. The surroundings were very beautiful. The hotel beach was clean and offered a nice view. The bar at the swimming pool was good though the pool was small. The menu at buffet breakfast and dinner was good. But it lacked variety on different days. The non-vegetarian food was always good, however, vegetarian food was not always good. In our package, a candle light dinner was included which was not organized very well. However, on complaining about the same, their restaurant manager organized a nice dinner for us. Overall, it was a good experience to stay at Jalsa.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Had booked my honeymoon package through Make my trip and they recommended Jalsa.Was a little apprehensive due to the mixed reviews at trip advisor.had a six night stay there and my experience is summed up below.
Pros
1.Nice, clean and spacious rooms with all facilities.
2.Good food if for Non vegetarians,but in case of veg options are limited and not good.
3. Nice view of the beach from our sea facing room.Beach itself is clean and you can do some activities from the hotel boat house.
4. Nice clean swimming pool
5. Friendly staff
Cons:
1.Far off from the main town,no shops close by.
2.Water is very expensive,we got 6 litres from Super market at 80 MUR while in Hotel they charge 80 MUR for a Half litre bottle.
3. Breakfast was repetitive and gets boring in two three days.
4. Bathtubs are designed in a weird way no privacy and water splashes all over.
5.No entertainment in the hotel.

So summing up if you want a relaxing holiday far away from everything this is the place for you, but if you want to enjoy the night life of mauritius look for other hotel close to the main centres.

Room Tip: Opt for the Sea facing deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Hochet, Pamplemousses, Mauritius
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

When we arrived in a group of 20 friends...We got a warm welcome and was helped by the hotel staff to find our rooms...The service was really great!!!! We were there for a closing ceremony of a project and we were provided with all the facilities to conduct the latter...We had a great experience, the food was awesome!!!! Even if some of us was having hang overs exceptions were made to spare breakfast for them!!!!

We were allowed to have all the fun without a single interference and we also enjoyed a lot if the unlimited sports activities available at the hotel!!!

A fabulous experience indeed!!!

:)

Room Tip: Connecting rooms are the best when you travel among a huge group of friends!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 023
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the gentle shores of the Indian Ocean, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa overlooks a turquoise lagoon with stunning mountain scenery. Found along the North East coast of the tropical island of Mauritius, at Poste Lafayette, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect choice for those looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalsa Beach Hotel And Spa - Mauritius
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius Poste Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.