We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2.5 star hotel aspiring to be a 4 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocotiers

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cocotiers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cocotiers
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Baie du Tombeau, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Baie du Tombeau
Withernsea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“2.5 star hotel aspiring to be a 4 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Do not believe the bad reviews about this hotel! My husband and I have just returned from a lovely relaxing 2 weeks there.
Firstly there are some negatives. Every room had a fantastic plasma TV, but often there was no signal. Admittedly you don't go way to watch TV, but it is nice to keep up to date with world news on the BBC channel.
The food was limited in variety and was not always hot, but the Chefs are very accommodating and will cook some thing else for you freshly prepared. We were All Inclusive and did not have a great variety, at Lunch Time there was 1 dish, no starters such as soup, and no desserts, although the staff were happy to serve ice cream or cake, and they would make a salad or an omelette for me. There were birds in the restaurant, but all the food was well covered up, and we did not have a problem with this as is some thing we have encountered before on our travels to the Caribbean and Sri Lanka.

The beach did have a lot of pebbles and you cannot swim in the sea, which is something the Management are trying to address. But it was nice laying on a sunbed at the end of the day watching the locals on their fishing boats as the sun went down.

The hotel is not in a touristy place, this may be a positive or a negative to some people, there was no where to walk on a night, or along the beach, but local buses passed nearby and were plentiful and cheap. Also taxis from outside the hotel.

The positives - rooms were spotlessly clean, of a decent size, towels and bedding changed regularly, good shower, plenty of hot water, and a lovely comfortable bed, and a view over the beach and sea.

Staff from the Management Team to Warren in Reception cleaners, bar and waiting staff, absolutely fell over themselves to help you. As did the Maintenance staff and Gardeners who did a fantastic job in keeping the Gardens neat and tidy, and were always smiling.

Management Team you should be totally proud of your staff.

We visited in winter (June) and the hotel was very quiet, there was only 1 other English couple there(Hello Sue and Stu, we enjoyed our time with you!), but to me this was a positive as it was peace, quiet and relaxing. It was like having your own personal Chef and Waiters, the service was impeccable

We were very sad to leave this hotel, but left with some lovely memories and we will hopefully be returning again in the not too distant future. Can't wait!

Room Tip: W asked for a quiet room, and we got this, over looking the beach Good hotel for people with mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a positive review on our hotel and staff. We are really glad that you were fully satisfied with the service at Cocotiers.

We are also delighted to read that you have spent great holidays with us and that you appreciated the quiet and relaxing atmosphere of our hotel.

We are happy to know that you are planning to come back at Cocotiers and we will all be present to welcome you for your second stay.

Best regards,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    76
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
31
56
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gomersal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel. The service is absolutely fantastic, staff cannot do enough for you. If there is nothing that suits us for evening meal, they will cook to order....I've never experienced that before & I have travelled all over the world....Asia, Caribbean, America's, Europe.
The rooms are cleaned & maintained to perfection as are the gardens, pool area, restaurant, bar & reception.
The only downfall is television reception is bad, but this is not the fault of the hotel. I can live with no tv for 2 weeks. Internet is free & good reception even in some rooms. Our room is on the beach, a beautiful setting:-)
The hotel is small & personal & set in beautiful grounds. If you are looking for plenty of activity then this is not the hotel for you, it is very peaceful & relaxing. there is not anything nearby outside the hotel without taking a bus or taxi but it is perfect for a relaxing, chilling out holiday.
The hotel offers a massage service which is excellent.
Sun beds are wood with mattresses on & are really comfy & sun beds are provided on the beach, they are plastic but have mattresses on them. Pool towels are provided free.
The beach has broken coral & some rubbish & could do with a clean up but local fishermen use it & leave their rubbish so that is not really the hotels responsibility.......maybe the local council or similar.....
There are dogs on the beach, some which belong to nearby houses & one which the hotel 'adopted'. They feed her & she acts as a guard dog in return, she seems to know who stays at the hotel & who is trespassing. She is lovely & friendly & is always pleased to see you as she is with the night security guard who patrols the beach & grounds.
We found 3 puppies in an abandoned boat on the beach just up from the hotel. One disappeared & the manager said someone asked if they could adopt the other 2. The other then reappeared, very thin & obviously malnourished. I kept him in a box on our balcony wrapped in my towel. The night security guard was extremely helpful in getting me phone numbers for 'Pose' animal rescue & a local vet in Port Louis as were the staff at reception in assisting me to call them. The manager was also very good, he didnt object to me looking after the puppy as some hotels would. I was up every hour through the night giving the puppy water as he wouldn't drink, in the morning I rang the vet who came to the hotel & treated the puppy & took him to give to a friend who wanted to adopt him as his dog had recently died....... I cannot thank the hotel staff enough for the help & friendship they have given us throughout our stay.
There are a lot of stray dogs all over the world & a lot of hotels in many countries won't entertain or help them.....this is certainly not the case at Hotel Cocotiers, Baie du Tombeau.
Thank you.....I would definately give this hotel 4 stars. :-)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Vicki,

Thank you for your very positive review posted on Trip Advisor.

We wish to thank you very much for your appreciations towards the hotel facilities and the staff, as well as for the generous rating, we are truly honoured.

We are really happy to read that you have spent great holidays in our hotel and we therefore hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Cocotiers in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

my wife and I have just returned home after a fortnight at this hotel , prior to our stay we had a few reservations regarding the hotel but as far as we are now concerned they were completely unfounded .

there are some negatives associated with this hotel , the beach at the rear of the hotel is poor and the reef is not good for swimming in , you have to travel about a mile away from the hotel to find a part of the bay where you can swim and sunbathe if that is what you wish to do . the food is reasonable but is lacking in choice , and the swimming pool is quite small , but everything else is of 4 star standard , this is where les cocotiers excels !!! .

the hotel is small and intimate ,the staff are amongst the best and friendliest we have ever encountered on our travels , the rooms are cleaned to very high standards 7 days a week , the fittings and furniture in the rooms are of a good quality , the pool and bar areas are beautiful and clean , the sunbeds are plentiful and of a good quality, the gardens are beautiful and maintained every day and the paths are kept clean , reception is very good , the staff who man the reception area are very efficient , courteous , and friendly , personally I cannot see what more could be done to improve the place .

because les cocotiers is only a small hotel entertainment is low key and was only provided on 2 nights a week , there are no activities at the hotel as such , so evenings tend to be quiet and intimate and centered around the bar and pool areas .

if people want 5 star luxury then les cocotiers is not the place , if people want a good holiday at a reasonable price then les cocotiers is not a bad choice for some .

as stated in paragraph 3 the staff at this hotel are top quality , every one of them , as we departed last sunday afternoon both my wife and myself were in tears , we had grown so fond of them all , TO PUT THINGS IN PERSPECTIVE I AM A WELL TRAVELLED 59 YEAR OLD MAN AND MY WIFE WAS 58 WHILE WE WERE ON HOLIDAY THERE , WE HAVE HOLIDAYED MANY TIMES IN THE CARRIBEAN AND IN DIFFERENT PARTS OF ASIA AND AFRICA , SO WE HAVE A REASONABLE IDEA WHAT HOLIDAYING ABROAD IS ABOUT , THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THIS HOTEL AND IT IS OUR INTENTION TO RETURN TO LES COCOTIERS IN THE FUTURE .

Room Tip: just ask , if they can accommodate you they will , if they are not full up they will also let you ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a warm review on our hotel Cocotiers and staff.

We are delighted to read that you appreciated the hotel facilities as well as the service.

Rest assured that your review will be shared with all my team.

We are delighted to hear that you made the most of your holidays while staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Let me start off by saying that the hotel is 2 star hotel and on a tropical island thus the rooms need a lick of paint, the restaurant is not air conditioned to death meaning that inevitably there will be some flies and the hotel is on a public beach so there are some dogs, one cat and occasionnally a local fisherman or two to watch as the tide rolls in. All in all, the staff were super friendly and, by and large, fell over themselves to help us in any way they could. We spent a great week here using the hotel as a lovely base from which to explore beautiful Mauritius. The bbq night with local band and dancers (Sat) was absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Cocotiers Hotel.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your time in Mauritius while staying with us and are grateful for your kind comments on our staff and local night.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Cocotiers,

Warm regards

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

When i arrived to hotel, they informed me some rooms had problems and they couldn't give me a room, they sent me to a different hotel for 1 day, then i came back to this hotel the following day. The other hotel was much better than this hotel. In this hotel, guests are not good, mostly native people, they are very noise, also neighbour of the hotel is not good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We have taken good note of your comments and are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.

Cocotiers is a good-value for money 2.5 star hotel, however, as you were upgraded to another hotel for the first night, we can understand that your expectations may have been altered by your first night stay.
We regret not to have been able to change your opinion during your stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

An area in fully covered.
reception of your customers who are hot enough, every moment in the entire complex is full of surprises.
the room, the pool area, the restaurant to the beach and all those working in the bandmembers always willing to be of service.
THANKS
An area in fully covered.
reception of your customers who are hot enough, every moment in the entire complex is full of surprises.
the room, the pool area, the restaurant to the beach and all those working in the bandmembers always willing to be of service.
THANKS

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for your warm appreciation of our Hotel and personnel: it was a pleasure welcoming you in our ‘home’ and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your holidays in Mauritius while staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you again at Cocotiers,

Kind regards,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay with beach very near. We had been there in May 2011. We reached noon and we were too hungry after 2 hours of travel from Airport. It was a grand welcome for us with Fruit Juice and flowers. The aura was good. We requested for a room in the first floor to view the Ocean. As expected, the converted rupees into dollars were less and the food is costlier (as we were on the Breakfast and Dinner package). The Breakfast and Dinner was very tasty, very much Indian. Blend of North and South Indian food.

We had Moon Light Dinner specially arranged for the couple on the beach. It was awesome and can never forget that. The staff is supportive and really thank Mr Jean Francois for the arrangements at the beach.

The room was clean. But it was raining from the second day, so had to call the sweepers quite often to clean the dampness.

On weekends, an African group was dancing and singing and really cool to watch

Overall experience was very good and I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room on the extreme left side of the hotel. This room is little bit far from the pool, but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Jean-François and all the team members of Cocotiers join me in thanking you for your positive feedback on your stay and warm recommendation to other travellers.

It was a pleasure to welcoming you once again in our Hotel and we felt privileged that you chose Cocotiers for your Honeymoon in Mauritius.

We are happy to know the special attentions of our personnel helped make this moment one to remember.

We wish you a lot of Happiness ahead,

Warm regards,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cocotiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocotiers

Address: Royal Road, Baie du Tombeau, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Baie du Tombeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Baie du Tombeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cocotiers 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach, along the north west coast of Mauritius, Les Cocotiers is a human size hotel with a friendly atmosphere.Close to the capital Port-Louis and to several popular tourist spots, this 2 star Sup hotel is an excellent starting point for a business trip or a holiday as an individual, a couple or a family.The 48 rooms are simply decorated, air-conditioned and well-fitted. From the restaurant and bar overlooking the lagoon, guests can watch the comings and goings of the fishermen’s pirogues, the beautiful sunsets as well as Port-Louis slowly lighting up at dusk.The warm, welcoming and thoughtful staff does everything possible to offer a relaxing stay to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cocotiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cocotiers Hotel
Hotel Cocotiers Mauritius/Baie Du Tombeau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocotiers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.