We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont beleive what you read .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocotiers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cocotiers to your Saves list
Hotel Cocotiers
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Baie du Tombeau, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baie du Tombeau
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dont beleive what you read .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

my wife and I have just returned home after a fortnight at this hotel , prior to our stay we had a few reservations regarding the hotel but as far as we are now concerned they were completely unfounded .

there are some negatives associated with this hotel , the beach at the rear of the hotel is poor and the reef is not good for swimming in , you have to travel about a mile away from the hotel to find a part of the bay where you can swim and sunbathe if that is what you wish to do . the food is reasonable but is lacking in choice , and the swimming pool is quite small , but everything else is of 4 star standard , this is where les cocotiers excels !!! .

the hotel is small and intimate ,the staff are amongst the best and friendliest we have ever encountered on our travels , the rooms are cleaned to very high standards 7 days a week , the fittings and furniture in the rooms are of a good quality , the pool and bar areas are beautiful and clean , the sunbeds are plentiful and of a good quality, the gardens are beautiful and maintained every day and the paths are kept clean , reception is very good , the staff who man the reception area are very efficient , courteous , and friendly , personally I cannot see what more could be done to improve the place .

because les cocotiers is only a small hotel entertainment is low key and was only provided on 2 nights a week , there are no activities at the hotel as such , so evenings tend to be quiet and intimate and centered around the bar and pool areas .

if people want 5 star luxury then les cocotiers is not the place , if people want a good holiday at a reasonable price then les cocotiers is not a bad choice for some .

as stated in paragraph 3 the staff at this hotel are top quality , every one of them , as we departed last sunday afternoon both my wife and myself were in tears , we had grown so fond of them all , TO PUT THINGS IN PERSPECTIVE I AM A WELL TRAVELLED 59 YEAR OLD MAN AND MY WIFE WAS 58 WHILE WE WERE ON HOLIDAY THERE , WE HAVE HOLIDAYED MANY TIMES IN THE CARRIBEAN AND IN DIFFERENT PARTS OF ASIA AND AFRICA , SO WE HAVE A REASONABLE IDEA WHAT HOLIDAYING ABROAD IS ABOUT , THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THIS HOTEL AND IT IS OUR INTENTION TO RETURN TO LES COCOTIERS IN THE FUTURE .

Room Tip: just ask , if they can accommodate you they will , if they are not full up they will also let you ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a warm review on our hotel Cocotiers and staff.

We are delighted to read that you appreciated the hotel facilities as well as the service.

Rest assured that your review will be shared with all my team.

We are delighted to hear that you made the most of your holidays while staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    80
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
34
61
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Let me start off by saying that the hotel is 2 star hotel and on a tropical island thus the rooms need a lick of paint, the restaurant is not air conditioned to death meaning that inevitably there will be some flies and the hotel is on a public beach so there are some dogs, one cat and occasionnally a local fisherman or two to watch as the tide rolls in. All in all, the staff were super friendly and, by and large, fell over themselves to help us in any way they could. We spent a great week here using the hotel as a lovely base from which to explore beautiful Mauritius. The bbq night with local band and dancers (Sat) was absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Cocotiers Hotel.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your time in Mauritius while staying with us and are grateful for your kind comments on our staff and local night.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Cocotiers,

Warm regards

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

When i arrived to hotel, they informed me some rooms had problems and they couldn't give me a room, they sent me to a different hotel for 1 day, then i came back to this hotel the following day. The other hotel was much better than this hotel. In this hotel, guests are not good, mostly native people, they are very noise, also neighbour of the hotel is not good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We have taken good note of your comments and are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.

Cocotiers is a good-value for money 2.5 star hotel, however, as you were upgraded to another hotel for the first night, we can understand that your expectations may have been altered by your first night stay.
We regret not to have been able to change your opinion during your stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

An area in fully covered.
reception of your customers who are hot enough, every moment in the entire complex is full of surprises.
the room, the pool area, the restaurant to the beach and all those working in the bandmembers always willing to be of service.
THANKS
An area in fully covered.
reception of your customers who are hot enough, every moment in the entire complex is full of surprises.
the room, the pool area, the restaurant to the beach and all those working in the bandmembers always willing to be of service.
THANKS

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for your warm appreciation of our Hotel and personnel: it was a pleasure welcoming you in our ‘home’ and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your holidays in Mauritius while staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you again at Cocotiers,

Kind regards,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay with beach very near. We had been there in May 2011. We reached noon and we were too hungry after 2 hours of travel from Airport. It was a grand welcome for us with Fruit Juice and flowers. The aura was good. We requested for a room in the first floor to view the Ocean. As expected, the converted rupees into dollars were less and the food is costlier (as we were on the Breakfast and Dinner package). The Breakfast and Dinner was very tasty, very much Indian. Blend of North and South Indian food.

We had Moon Light Dinner specially arranged for the couple on the beach. It was awesome and can never forget that. The staff is supportive and really thank Mr Jean Francois for the arrangements at the beach.

The room was clean. But it was raining from the second day, so had to call the sweepers quite often to clean the dampness.

On weekends, an African group was dancing and singing and really cool to watch

Overall experience was very good and I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room on the extreme left side of the hotel. This room is little bit far from the pool, but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Jean-François and all the team members of Cocotiers join me in thanking you for your positive feedback on your stay and warm recommendation to other travellers.

It was a pleasure to welcoming you once again in our Hotel and we felt privileged that you chose Cocotiers for your Honeymoon in Mauritius.

We are happy to know the special attentions of our personnel helped make this moment one to remember.

We wish you a lot of Happiness ahead,

Warm regards,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My mother and I stayed at this hotel in October 2012 it was our 1st time to mauritus and everyone was very welcoming and friendly, the rooms were clean although we had a problem with our A/C they were happy to help to sort it out, the resturant was super, looking out onto the beach it was a delight and all the staff especially Rai who looked after us very well,
I would definatly go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest,

All the team members of Les Cocotiers would like to thank you for taking the time to recommend our Hotel to other travelers on TripAdvisor.

We are happy you enjoyed your time in Mauritius while staying with us and would be pleased to welcome you again for your next trip to our Island,

All the best,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ermelo, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Les Cocotier September 2012. It was our 3rd time in Mauritius, but 1st at Les Cocotier - what a pleasant suprise!! The breakfast and dinner super.......overall great! It was my birthday while we were there, and I received a lovely chocolate cake with compliments from the hotel (Thanks Jean Francois) I agree with "beniboo's" comment about the staff and coffee in the mornings - waited really long for coffee to be served and some staff were really not friendly at all....... but that's about the only negative comment about the whole stay!
You most definitely get your money's worth at Les Cocotier! See you next year again!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Giovanna Blin at Hotel Cocotiers, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Isca,

We thank you for your warm feedback on your stay in our Hotel : your kind words have been passed on to our team members, including Jean-Francois who was very pleased to hear you enjoyed his birthday chocolate cake.

We have well noted your comment regarding service at breakfast time.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Warm regards,

Giovanna Blin
Resident Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cocotiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocotiers

Address: Royal Road, Baie du Tombeau, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Baie du Tombeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baie du Tombeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cocotiers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach, along the north west coast of Mauritius, Les Cocotiers is a human size hotel with a friendly atmosphere.Close to the capital Port-Louis and to several popular tourist spots, this 2 star Sup hotel is an excellent starting point for a business trip or a holiday as an individual, a couple or a family.The 48 rooms are simply decorated, air-conditioned and well-fitted. From the restaurant and bar overlooking the lagoon, guests can watch the comings and goings of the fishermen’s pirogues, the beautiful sunsets as well as Port-Louis slowly lighting up at dusk.The warm, welcoming and thoughtful staff does everything possible to offer a relaxing stay to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cocotiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cocotiers Hotel
Hotel Cocotiers Mauritius/Baie Du Tombeau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocotiers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.