We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth- Magwaza Family 504” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystals Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Crystals Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crystals Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Palmar Village, Palmar, Mauritius 230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Palmar
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth- Magwaza Family 504”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We came as a family of three and it was our first time in Mauritius. We had such a lovely time with friendly staff. Our rooms were big enough and clean with a great view, food was superb. We are coming back again for sure, we only stayed for 7 days, had it not be for the school opening I would have extended my stay. Crystal Resort, You Rock. 2015, here we come again!!!

Room Tip: Please get an all inclusive package- water is very expensive more esp if you buy it from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    77
    32
    32
    18
See reviews for
58
132
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

i don't whether my standards are too high or i am a spoilt brat - i have been to a lot of the hotels in Mauritius and i really believe that the reputation of Mauritius is a very good one and the hotel industry definitely contributes in putting us on the world map

I live on this island for goodness' sake so i should at least try em all - really working my way thru that list - there are over 100 of them - ill get there :-)

anyway coming back to this hotel - this is the very first time that i hated (yes actually hated) a hotel... i've been back home since 2 days now and i am still trying to get over that hotel and i stayed only 1 night (my parents stayed 3 nights - poor them! i feel super bad since i am the one who chose the hotel this year...grrrr)

what was wrong? well everything... oh goodie, i'll list them for you!

we arrived at the gate, we were let in and no one asked our names and purpose (any security?pfffttt who needs to be in security?!)
we reached the entrance, NO ONE to welcome us, we had to get our bags from the car ourselves...ok ok see why i say i cld be spoilt - they do it at all the other hotels i have been to, so i expect it, maybe i shouldn't

moving on, so we arrived at reception - there was only 1 lady at the reception desk ... ok ok I'll be nice, it was a sunday - so she asked us to wait on lumpy sofas in the hotel reception hall (did i mention that this hotel opened its doors in October 2012?!)
...we waited around 10mins and then she comes to us and asks us if she can help us...duh! (btw we had booked and paid 100% in advance 2 weeks before!) and no 'welcome to crystals beach and we are happy that we chose us etc etc...'

after registration, we were accompanied to our room - we asked if the rooms had wifi - the lady said that the newer blocks did have wifi but not all of them...NO wifi in the rooms, only at the bar - when we entered the room, not only no wifi but surprise!! no electricity and the room smelt dank and hooray, my allergy started

call me good ol fashion, i like to watch some tv before i sleep at night and the rooms have only android tv that takes u to youtube...good luck in trying to use it (my hubby is quite techie so he knew how to 'operate' it) but it still didn't work :(
even the reception lady didn't know how it worked..so all the best if u choose a rainy season to holiday there!

so we went to have dinner together with my parents - it was a cultural buffet, so they had all kinds of food from around the world - there was pasta but no parmesan! well who needs parmesan with pasta, right?
want some wine with your food, umm there is only some yucky wine and no wine list - BYO if you have some in your bags (you went through duty free on your way in right?) oh and pay a corkage fee..

unfortunately this hotel has such an amateur feel to it compared to other local hotels.. anyways, i'll stop here now as my bp is going up, just thinking abt it all again!

but seriously that hotel needs to get some BASICS right. it does have the potential to become a good hotel (i guess) as the overall architecture is not so bad and it does have a very nice beach/sea front

nevertheless, u'll have guessed it, i am never ever going back there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

After reviewing their website our expectations of this resort were quite high. The rooms are great and the location is super, but these positives are let down by really pathetic service and disorganization by staff who seem to be running around like headless chickens. We had no TV or in room entertainment for our entire stay. The food was equally poor with a buffet every night that never seemed to change or offer variety and can at best be described as tasteless. One also would not expect to be FORCED to wear long pants to dinner in a beach resort. The "all inclusive" option only operates from 10am to 10pm so may not be worth it and no swimming after 6pm.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent 7 nights at the hotel in December and of all my 14 holidays in Mauritius (staying at various resorts), this was one of the best holidays I have ever had! Having read all the negative reviews on Tripadvisor, we arrived with trepidation but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are lovely, spacious and modern with hundreds of movies to choose from on the tv (not that we ever switched it on). The beach is stunning, great facilities and the staff at the dive center were great and organised our diving and a stunning cruise on a catamaran to Il Aux Cerf. The food was suberb with a huge variety of dishes to choose from at the breakfast and dinner buffets and we loved the fact that we could have an a la carte lunch around the pool every day. We were on the all inclusive package and the drinks and cocktails were fabulous and they were certainly not shy with drinks or bottled water. We had excellent service all round and cannot compliment the Management team and their staff enough for a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My daughter returned to Crystals Neach for a holiday with friends of mine. I suggested they go there after our 2 weeks holiday there in July. But things were not at all the same...Suddenly milkshakes were excluded from the all-inclusive package. Service was bad as they waited more than an hour for drinks. There was no entertainment in the evenings and the children found it very ""boring"".... Worst of all is that my daughter came back with bed lice bytes over her whole body!! The swimming pool was so packed that you could only stand straight up - no swimming..... it really was a let down for the second time around!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently returned from a week holiday at the Crystals Beach hotel (arrival 13th December departure 20th December). We arrived very late and due to a large wedding taking place that eve, we were shown to our rooms in block 10. We were spoilt with a late supper consisting of snacks in our rooms which were superb. This has been my 18th visit to Mauritius and after staying in many hotels I can honestly say this was the best of all. The very next day after we arrived we were moved to block 5 by the hotel staff, and everything was done on our behalf. The staff are phenomenal, Citium (waiter) Diana event coordinator; Melissa guest relations; Khaphil one of the ops managers to name but a few. One and all went out of their way to make our holiday a dream one. My daugther got engaged there and we loved it so much that were are planning on having the wedding there in December 2014. Food is excellent, everything worked in our rooms and all i can say is wow!!! Keep up the good work, you are all amazing and the hotel is stunning!! Unfortunately due to plans we had made we did not get to meet Mr Mayepa the GM who wanted to meet us, but will next time for sure. Thanks everyone for working so tirelessly and always having a smile on your faces. We had a magnifique time!!!!!

Lorraine Coertse

Room Tip: Block 4 and 5 are extremely close to all amenities including beach and dining areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pta.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just came from a 10 day stay at the Crystals Beach Resort and Spa. The hotel is beautiful and has the makings of a great stay. The pool is bright blue and clean , the beach is perfect and the water sports availability are great. All round a great location in Mauritius. However, as beautiful as the hotel is, the service was really not up to par, and also the food were really not great. The problems we found were that although they advertised TV's in the rooms and wifi in all rooms this was non existent. The lack of entertainment at night? nothing happened and although we asked them they promised a program but after 3 days we gathered that no entertainment will happen at night and no program will follow. Although the staff are very friendly it is clear they are not trained at all. On two occasions we had to request them at 17:00 in the afternoon to come make our rooms? As the rooms were left as is.
breakfast and lunch very good but the buffets at bight very poor. Every night they "claim" to have a theme buffet but for 10 days we got the same food every single night. We noticed that they definitely had a shortage of staff and read in the local news paper that filed for liquidation? This made sense as it seems they have a cash flow problem. This will be a pity as the Hotel is absolutely fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystals Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystals Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Palmar Village, Palmar, Mauritius 230
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Palmar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Palmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystals Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crystals Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystals Beach Resort & Spa Mauritius/Palmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystals Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.