We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just keep coming back again and again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kantary Bay, Phuket

Save Saved
You added Kantary Bay, Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Cape Panwa
Maryport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We just keep coming back again and again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We first came to the Kantary Bay/Cape Panwa resort in Phuket in 1999 and have been coming back on a regular basis ever since. On our few visits we stayed in the Cape Panwa Hotel and it was whilst we were staying there we learnt about it's sister hotel the Kantary Bay Hotel just over the other side of the hill and the fact that you are allowed to use all the facilities in both hotels plus the free minibus that runs every ten minutes to and fro the hotels.

For value you just can't beat the Kantary Bay Hotel. From the moment you are met at the airport the staff will try thier utmost to help you in every way and with the biggest smiles I have seen. On arrival at the hotel you will be met again at reception with a beautiful smile and you can immediately feel your body going into the relax and wind down mode as you sip a cool drink and have room service take your suitcases..

The one bedroom apartments are amazing consisiting of your bedroom, bathroom and shower room, lounge area, dining area and a small kitchen which consisted of a double ring hob, microwave oven, rice cooker, fridge freezer and our room even had a washing machine it was great. We also had a large balcony with a fantastic view over the bay which gave amazing sunsets most nights. Breakfast is also included and has an excellent choice set in a lovely restaurant.

The hotel has two swimming pools with one of them being on the roof top and again the views are spectacular. Everything from the swimming pools down to the toilets are immaculately clean but of course with the hotel being in the tropics you will see some ghecko's scurrying and insects flying about. The only thing you need to do is put some mosquito repellent on in the evenings, oh and don't forget your sun tan lotion you will need that when you are laid on the fantastic beach at Cape Panwa.

The beach is beautiful and it really is paradise with it's soft white sand and palm trees and totaly private. You won't get pestered by people trying to sell you trinkets or trips. There are plenty of sunloungers and umbrellas It has the bamboo bar that sells food and drink and further down the beach the original Panwa House that serves meals in the evenings in this delightful romantic setting.

The food in the hotels is excellent especially the theme nights in the Cape Panwa Hotel and then afterwards a relaxing drink in the 'Lighthouse' bar or 'Piano' bar. The Cape Panwa hotel has a resident band. Next to the Kantary Bay Hotel is 'Uncle Nans' restaurant which serves excellent food. I also likes the fact that you don't need to carry any money with you as you can sign for everything in both hotels. Then every few days nip to reception and check on your bill.

There are a few restaurants in the local area and a bar just around the corner. There are no noisy disco's or night clubs and that only adds to the beauty of this place. During the day you can totally relax in the peace and quiet and in the eveing have a nice relaxing meal and a drink. If you want a bit more life, no problem. You just simply book a seat on the hotel minibus and within 40 minutes you will be drinking and dancing in more disco's and nightclubs than you'll be able to walk around in the amazing night life of Patong. It has hundreds of Bars and Restaurants and the famous 'Bangla Road' with it's famous night life, well worth a visit.

If you want a day off from sun bathing there are plenty of actvities to do and see around Phuket Island. Back in Kantary Bay you can have a massage in the local area or dip your feet in a tank of fish and have them nibble away at your feet for just £3.50 for 45 mins and not £35 as charged in the UK. Or simply sit down, relax and just people watch.

The fact that we and lots of other couples keep coming back says it all. Last trip we even met people we've met on previous trips. I 100% recommend this hotel and it's wonderful staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    499
    200
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
145
425
35
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Very good location, the plus is that you can use the Cape Pawna resort facitilies. The taxi service was very good, with a fair cost you can visit all the island.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Good front desk receptionist with a smile,good room service & overall an enjoyable stay at your concern

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

During our stay at the Kantary Bay Hotel, we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and the facilities, including a well equipped kitchen, were excellent. There is a shuttle bus between the Kantary Bay hotel and the Cape Panwa Hotel which operates frequently and all clients can use the facilities at the Cape Panwa Hotel. The highlight of our stay at this hotel was the beautiful sea view from the balcony. There are elevators in most blocks apart from one where ramps are used between floors, so this could be a problem for infirm people. Taxis are available outside the hotel and there is a local bus service to Phuket town operating every half hour. The food at all the restaurants of the two hotels is first class. We would highly recommend the trip to Coral Island which operates from the Cape Panwa hotel. This year was our second stay at the Kantary Bay Hotel and previously we have stayed at the Cape Panwa. We prefer the Kantary Bay hotel because of the spacious rooms and location.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Rubbish. We arrived and were disappointed with the location of this hotel. Pictures are deceiving and there is very little around the hotels location. We were told at check in that no room was available and they were full, even though we had paid for 3 nights. We also paid a taxi 1000 baht to get there. They offered us a dingy signle room and after complaining, eventually they offered to move us to another hotel which we took. Would not go there again. Hotel overlooks a dirty pier/beach that you could not walk on, and we were please to leave. A bad experience.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

On arrival our room was upgraded which was a lovely surprise, i even had a washing machine in the kitchen which was a great help. no dirty clothes to take home is always a plus. The room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels and clean bedding put on. i even had a vase of fresh flowers! the on site restarants were good value and good food too. try nans and the clockhouse bar. Also please be sure to go to sunset bar which is just around the corner, there you will find a lovely little bar with a friendly atmosphere and a big thailand welcome . A good place for familys or just couples of any age. enjoy your stay im sure you will.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed in the Kantary Bay Hotel for 2 weeks in June/July this year and had a brilliant time. The staff are all excellant espeically the girls on the recpetion and our lovely room attendent. They could not do enough for you. Hotel itself was lovely, with a rooftop pool and all. Their own Italian restaurant has great food and a huge breakfast buffet every morning. Totally enojoyed our 2 weeks there even if it was their quiet season, Phuket itself was only about 10 minutes away in a taxi. I really cant praise the staff enough, always smiling and actually did take great care of their guests, great to see that there are still people like that inthe world. Brilliant place
C & M, Longford, Ireland

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantary Bay, Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.