We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kantary Bay, Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kantary Bay, Phuket to your Saves list
Kantary Bay, Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had a good stay at the hotel, staff were very courteous. Maintenance was good at the place. Had a good welcome every time we approached. Neatly maintained placed, nice location along side sea and private beach nearby.

Had wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to have met your expectations and looks forward to your return for another wonderful stay with us. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    223
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
178
498
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I recently stayed for a week, the first of my 3 week holiday. The hotel itself is quite old but is very clean. My room was cleaned spotlessly every morning at the same time while I was having breakfast. The service at breakfast was excellent, on the first morning I asked for some lime for my tea and from then every day after that the lime arrived as soon as I sat down.
The pool on the roof was very good for swimming and most days I was there by myself. My only concern is that I never saw any staff testing the water.
I used the gym which was ok although a little cluttered, no room for stretching.
There certainly were a number of elderly British people staying and I was reminded of the film "The exoctic Marigold hotel"!
Close to the hotel there were a number of restaurants,a money changer and many massage places. I went every day to Sabai massage which was just up the hill on the left, run by a mother and daughter.Fantastic oil massages for 300 baht.
The walk up the hill to the sister hotel only took a few minutes, it was good to get the heart pumping as it is a very steep hill. There is transport regularly for those who don't want to walk.
All up it was a relaxing week with excellent service although not sure I'd go back because I did miss taking long walks on the beach which is not possible at this location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your feedback and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon for another ‘relaxing stay’ with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 3 weeks and enjoyed every minute of it, the apartments was large and clean. As for the staff they were all very friendly and could not do enough nothing was too much for them, they even remembered my birthday which was really nice. And I am so looking forward to going back next year we also got the use of there sister hotel Cape Panwa, the restaurant nearby where all very nice indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to have met your expectations during your 3 week stay with us and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great self catering rooms. Great hotel size and facilities (you can use the sister hotel next door which is 5*). Cape Panwa is quite far out from all the rest if Phuket. You need to use their shuttle which isn't free and the timetable isn't always ideal. Taxis are not cheap to get around. Food isn't cheap either. This is a tourist area.

Service of hotel is strange. The girls in the front reception are always saying hello but at the breakfast restaurant they tend to ignore coloured people. They spend all their efforts on the retired British pensioners who stay there for weeks (sometimes months) at a time.

Not much to do there after 5 days. Gets a bit boring.

But worth it for a week in the sun as long as you bring enough spending money!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, appreciates your sharing your thoughts with us and our readers after your recent stay with us. We hope to see and serve you again.
Thank you for your feedback which has been shared with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Marshall, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

just got from a holiday in the kantary bay hotel in cape panwa Phuket.what a lovely hotel,we had a studio apartment with a sea view it had everthing you could sensibly need for for good holiday.but the real ace up this hotels sleeve are the staff,they made you feel like old friends and it was all off them from the chamber maids to the manager.highly recommended,would go back in a heartbeat,if someone will lend me the money.

Room Tip: studio room with a sea view,air con,tv,cooker if you really want to.great value,big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is very pleased to learn that your recent stay with us was enjoyable, pleasant, and met your expectations. Your thoughtful mention of our staff has been shared with them. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is situated in a quiet part of phuket. The cape is a quiet location. We stayed here in sept and had a wonderful time . We had a very spacious room, which was cleaned daily. The breakfast had so much choice you could not get bored . The sister hotel was a 2 minute ride on the free shuttle bus. The private beach was great with loads of sun beds. I would consider going back to this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your favourable commentary and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lovely hotel, fantastic views. great room. nice service.brill beach with great beach bar.We had a balcony overlooking the sea. Breakfast was good, not bad, not brill just good. But dont shop in the shop next to the hotel, they are double the price than the shop 200 yards along the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket is pleased to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantary Bay, Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.