We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to chill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kantary Bay, Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kantary Bay, Phuket to your Saves list
Kantary Bay, Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cape Panwa
South Coast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is at the far south of the Island so be prepared to travel a little if you want to do trips or even get in to town. I chose this hotel for this exact reason, i did not want the tourist noise and tat shops like in Patong or south Pattaya (which i have been to both so i can judge)

On arrival there was a quick check in with a cold drink and cold flannel to freshen you up which is pretty standard in Thailand but greatly appreciated.

The room was a very good size with a sea view and descent balcony. The bathroom was also of good size with a seperate bath and shower unit. The kitchen was a normal small self catering type unit, microwave oven, duel electric hob, toaster, kettle and a sink. All kitchen ware suplied. The balcony we had was big enough for the 2 of us with a table and 2 chairs. The living room/TV area was cumfortable and the sofa was very wide. I managed a few afternoon naps on the sofa as it was very comfy. There are a few UK film channels as well as BBC news.
There is a safe in the wardrobe which you can programme yourself but its not huge. The wardrobe was good for our few clothes and shoes. The area with the beds is plenty big enough. I had a twin room as i was traveling with my brother and the beds are inbetween a single and double. To be honest, the beds are probably ther most comfortable beds i have had while traveling.

Breakfast was what i expected, Not great but good enough. I do not have milk when im away (im just fussy) but there are several cereals to choose from an assortment of fresh fruits, breads and pastries with your normal Tea & Coffee. The hot food was home made baked beans (not good) chicken sausage (i didnt try) fried potato's which where ok, Crispy bacon which would of been fine if it was hot, normal soft bacon which again would be fine if it was hot and an omlette station. The omlettes where what we had every morning with toast and HP sauce. Dairy and ham in Thailand is extremely expensive so to have an omlette station with cheese and ham is very good. there is also a fried rice and a Noodle selection which where nice but sometimes a little too heavy for me.

The swiming pool on the roof has nice views and you get a lovely cool breeze. The main pool near reception was very nice with plenty of chairs and shaded areas. towls are available from both pool areas but in off season (not sure about peak season) there is no drink service so take something with you.

The gardens are small but very tidy and looked after every day. There are benches around a small fountain which is in the centre of the garden.

The hotel has an on site shop which is very reasonable considering its location. there is not much you cant get in there and i found it to be very handy.

The coffee shop is also part of the hotel. though i did not have any drinks or food in there i did have a few ice creams, Its italian style but its not really as good. Im only saying that because i was in Italy 6 weeks before Thailand and it was still fresh in my memory.

There are tours available from the tour desk in reception, These i found to be really expensive but i know some people are happier buying there tours from the hotel.

There is a free shuttle to the sister hotel and you can use everything there for free (excluding the spa) The san is stunning, its more like talc but the water though warm and clear does have a lot of rock and broken coral so watch your feet.

There is also a shuttle in to Phuket town costing 200B but there is also a local bus from the Aquarium which is only 30B, i will let you do the Math.
The shuttle in to Patong is 400B but i would save your Baht unless you like the idea of a Thai Benidorm. Sorry but i have always loved Thailand and places like that boil my blood.

The hotel is getting old so do not expect a new luxury hotel. the grout in the tiles needs sanding back a bit and there is paint drips in places but who cares? if you want luxury then pay for it! if you want a very comfortable hotel in a great location then this is perfect.

I would rather pay for this hotel and use the facilities at the sister hotel then pay the extra several hundred to stay at the sister hotel. The other hotel might be a little bit smarter but its not going to make me sleep an better!

Now for the down side. The hotel is used for one night guests that are on trips. We found that they turn up between 8 and 11 then make a lot of noise. The people in our building occupied several rooms on the floor and instead of knocking on doors to speak to people they shouted down the coriddor. Doors where slammed a lot andTV's where loud. I did make a complaint to reception and they got there rep to phone them. The noise did stop, i know people like to have fun on holiday but a little respect for others does not cost a thing.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
The Kanary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your informative and descriptive review of your recent stay. Your mention of our sister hotel and use of its facilities is appreciated while your feedback should assist other readers planning a stay in Phuket. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    223
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
178
498
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

just got back from another fantastic stay at kantary bay.the staff and management never cease to amaze me,every time we see them they are so welcoming and happy to see you.nothing is to much trouble for them.the only problem we had this time was the fact we could only stay for 12 nights this time,cant wait to go back,oh and the breakfast is still just as good.

Room Tip: rooms 302-305a are really good, great views nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is always pleased when one of our regulars shares their thoughts with us and our readers. Your appreciation of our attentive, friendly, and helpful, staff and management has been shared with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for a longer stay with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at Kantary Bay for 18 nights (Mid August - Early September) with my wife and two boys aged 15 and 3. We had booked two studio,s and they were both excellent rooms, very large, clean with great facilities. We also had excellent sea views from our balcony and we loved sitting out in the evening with a drink and watching the beautiful sunsets. We have stayed at Cape Panwa 5 times previously and this was our first visit to KB.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home and the staff did everything to make our stay an excellent one. They were extremely polite and courteous and went out of their way in making our little boy feel special. He was welcomed and spoken to every time he passed reception.
We had booked our holiday on a Half board basis, and were able to use all the restaurants including those at Cape Panwa. The choice was excellent and we made use of all the restaurants on the two sites. Breakfast was good.
We especially enjoyed Laem Panwa, which had the best Seafood and Thai dishes of all the restaurants. The seafood bbq platter was sensational.
Another favourite restaurant was Top of the reef. The quality of the food was always first class as was the whole dining experience. I cannot recommend this place more highly.
Cafe Andaman also at Cape Panwa was also a good restaurant and the Surf and Turf night on Fridays was incredible value for money. I would also like to single out Jaran a waiter of Cafe Andaman for his excellent service and general professionalism. We had chosen to dine at Top of the reef on a night which coincided with the Hotel's staff party. We were told that Top of the Reef would be closing and that we were too late to dine at 9 o'clock. We went to Cafe Andaman and were met by Jaran who informed us that we did not have to rush our meal and that we should relax and enjoy ourselves. He showed what true professionalism was. Cape Panwa should be proud to have such an excellent staff member.
The beach at Cape Panwa is what makes the Holiday special. It is a beautiful beach and with Jennifer looking after your every need, you are made to feel special and pampered. Jennifer again is another diamond, who really goes the extra mile for the guests.
A great holiday was had by all and we are all missing the very special location of Kantary Bay and Cape Panwa. My two children still talk every day about the great time they had. Thank you to all the reception staff at Kantary Bay for their friendliness and for making us feel so special.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is very pleased to learn that your stay with us and use of our sister hotel were enjoyable and pleasant. Your thoughtful appreciation of the professionalism of our staff, some by name, has been shared with them. Thank you for your informative review and positive endorsement. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have stayed at Kantary Bay in Jan/Feb/Mar (Winter/High Season) for three of the last four years and decided to return again this year in the middle of August (Summer/Low Season) for four weeks to see if staying in Phuket/Kantary Bay differed during the two seasons.
Arriving around 6:45pm at a surprisingly quiet Phuket Airport, we soon recognised the familiar face of one of the Cape Panwa/Kantary Bay drivers and, after a comfortable 50 minutes journey, arrived at Kantary Bay to the usual very warm welcome from the hotel reception staff.
We had expected the weather at this time of year to be hotter, more humid and wetter than early in the year but were pleasantly surprised as, for our first 3+ weeks, it was similar; temperatures a comfortable 26C -31C, sunshine, some cloud, a pleasant breeze on the beach and just a couple of short early evening showers. Apparently there had been a monsoon, with 3-4 days of heavy rain, a few days before we arrived. Towards the end of our stay, the weather did become overcast with more prolonged rain, torrential at times. However we heard from friends still at KB that after we left the rain had stopped and there had been 3 days of sunshine with higher temperatures.
The most noticeable difference we found was that it was much ‘quieter’ in Aug/Sep in that there were less people about the hotel, on the beach and in the local restaurants but enough to make you feel as though you were not ‘alone’.
During our stay, there were many groups of Chinese at the hotel who only seemed to stay a few days and spent most of the time away from the hotel on day-trips/tours.
Unlike early in the year when it is ‘busier’, there was never a problem finding an empty table in the restaurants and you could pick your spot on the beach. There was also more time to speak to and ‘get-to-know’ the local people, made easier if your wife is Thai.
Our favourite local restaurants were Sawasdee, Sea Breeze, Subai Subai (on the hill), Keang Lay and Tree Top.
We also tried the Friday night ‘Surf and Turf’ buffet at the Café Andaman, Cape Panwa. A lovely setting, overlooking the floodlit swimming pool, with a 3-piece Thai group playing western pop songs. A selection of starters and pasta, choose your meat and/or seafood (tenderloin, sirloin steak, pork and chicken fillets, rock lobster, king prawns etc.) and watch it being cooked ‘just as you like it’, followed by a delicious assortment of desserts. Return as many times as you like, very enjoyable and excellent value.
So, there were some differences between the high and low seasons but something that definitely does not change is the wonderful, warm hospitality of ALL the people at Kantary Bay.
I don’t think we can add anything to the many, many compliments in other reviews about ALL the happy, smiling, friendly, helpful, charming staff at Kantary Bay; everyone in reception, the chefs and helpers at breakfast, the room maids, the bellboys, the gardeners, the cleaners, and the girls and boys at the beach.
If they don’t say it to you first, just say hello (sawadee krab or sawadee ka) to any of them and they will respond in Thai with a very broad smile.
We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay of the year at KB, have already booked for two months early next year and are seriously considering returning next August. We can’t wait to return again to our ‘second home’.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, appreciates your sharing your thoughts on your 2nd stay with us and our readers, in favourable comparisons of both the high and low seasons at our property. Your informative review will assist our readers in choosing which season to stay with us or both seasons, like yourselves. Your appreciation of our friendly and helpful staff has been shared with them. We look forward to welcoming you back to your ‘second home’.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely 10 day stay at the Kantary Bay hotel. This is a good little hotel & great value for money, the staff are a true asset & we're so helpful & welcoming. The room a good size (bathroom was a little dated but ok) & kept clean daily. Hotel has good facilities, breakfast good & served till 10.30am. I would definitely suggest making use of the facilities at the 5* sister hotel,the Cape Panwa which is just a free 5 min shuttle bus ride away. It is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting with its own private beach a truly great place to relax.
If you are looking for a relaxing quiet holiday I would say he Kantary Bay hotel is a perfect place to say. If you want more night life it is not so good as not much localy & quite remote. They do other a shuttle bus in to patong beach of an evening (400bht per person) which I would suggest as it was nice to get out & see a more lively side to Phuket.
Overall a great holiday perfect for couples & if you want to get away & relax with beautiful views.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your review of your recent 10 day stay with us and our readers. Your appreciation of our wonderful staff has been shared with them, while your review should be helpful to other readers. Your soonest return is looked forward to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks back in June & found Kantary Bay exactly as per the reviews. So thank you for helping us make the right choice for our first stay in Thailand. There isn't much to say that hasn't already been covered but we had the most relaxing time ever but we able to get out and about and experience Phuket Island. We met two other couples & shared a taxi to Patong. Great fun but one night was enough, its mad. The only shame is that there could be just a little more nightlife outside the hotel, however there a some nice restaurants & one small English owned bar. We hired scooters from the lady around the corner from hotel, close to the Family Mart as other people had with no problems. However, you are not insured as you just pay her and take the bike so all is ok unless anything goes wrong. As long as you stay away from Phuket town the roads are quiet. As mentioned the staff are a credit to the hotel. At the airport we couldn't find our transfer taxi. We saw a man with Kantary Bay uniform on & asked him. Even though our transfer was nothing to do with the hotel he went out of his way, using his own mobile phone to track our taxi down. To sum it up. We intend to travel to Thailand again & wouldn't hesitate booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, welcomes your thoughts after your 2 week stay with us and looks forward to your soonest return. Your appreciation of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been shared with them. Thank you for your commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepstow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have just returned from a 7 night stay here. I was in Bangkok for 3 days prior so heading to the peaceful setting was just perfect.

We were put into a 1 bedroomed appartment (not a studio as booked) which was a nice little extra to start with.
The rooms are very spacious which I found was brilliant if one person wanted a snooze you could just watch TV or sit on the balcony without disturbing anyone.

The view from our room was off the beach so perfect for watching the sunset and the occassional storm.

There is a bus which takes you to the Cape Panwa Hotel which it literally every 5 mins.
We used the ammenities of Cape Panwa mainly as you have access to the private beach which is alot cooler, there is also a pool and whirlpool at the beach also. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves again very peaceful.

The hotel is out of the way of any nightlife, there are about 4-5 restaurants locally. We ventured into Pantong one evening for food (although just ended up have a kebab and partying the night away instead) They offer buses and taxi services to a number of places such as patong & Phuket old town. These are all chargable but I personally thought the cost were more than reasonable.

**The staff are very welcoming and accomodatiing, the rooms where cleaned with fresh sheets and towels every day and the breakfast included was lovely. Omelettes maed to order, fresh pastries, continental, fruits yogurts and there version of a 'cooked breakfast' such as sausages fried bread ect. My boyfriend had it everyday!

I also went to a thai cooking class at Cape Panwa (adamand cafe) which was a great experience and I got to eat it all aftwards :) they also give you an apron & chefs hat & certificate as a momento which I thought was a great touch. We ate there the same evening and the food was lovely.
We also ate at the 'Panwa House' on the beach and the food here was absolutely exceptional one of the best meals of the holiday!

All in all I loved my stay thoroughly and would highly recommend this place if you want to relax and unwind after a few hectic nights in the busy parts of Thailand!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket , is pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us for 7 days and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Your positive mention of our amazing, attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been shared with them. Thank you for sharing your review with us and our readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantary Bay, Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.