We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kantary Bay, Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kantary Bay, Phuket to your Saves list
Kantary Bay, Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Lymm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at Kantary Bay. My room was large with a fully equipped kitchen with large fridge freezer and a washing machine. The location is ideal for a quiet stay. There are several restaurants all within a five minute walk and two supermarkets - the cheaper one is about a five minute walk near the naval base. The little bus travelled constantly between Kantary Bay and Cape Panwa hotel so there was very little waiting time. The breakfasts were good with plenty of choice. The staff, especially those on reception, were absolutely fantastic, always smiling and going out of their way to be helpful. My room was cleaned to a very high standard each day during my stay. Thank you all for a brilliant holiday

Room Tip: The higher up the is the better the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is happy to know that your recent 2 week stay with us was a brilliant holiday. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon. Thank you for your mention of attentive, friendly, and helpful staff, some by department, which has been shared with them. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    223
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
178
498
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
leicester
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a wonderful month at the Kantary Bay, room upgrade without asking, friendly smiling staff who could not do enough for you. It is one of the few hotels where the staff assemble to wish you "bon voyage" on your departure. The icing on the cake came today with the unexpected arrival of a birthday card from Somjai and Staff to bring back those happy holiday memories.
Many thanks,
Peter

Room Tip: A sea view and sunset will add to your enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to learn that your stay with us was a wonderful month and we look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.
Your thoughtful mention of our friendly smiling staff, some by name, has been shared with them. We anticipate future happy holiday memories with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here last summer after 2 previous visits to the sister hotel Cape Panwa. We much preferred this hotel, especially as it is such great value. Since the refurbishments to Cape Panwa, the prices went beyond our budget. We were a bit dubious about Kantary as it was so cheap. We need not have worried. The 1 bedroomed apartments were spacious and comfortable with lovely sea views. The staff were amongst the friendliest and most helpful we have encountered, especially the reception staff. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied and whilst some have said there isn't the choice, I can't say I noticed any difference between the two hotels. The roof top pool is small but very quiet and with stunning views. Don't miss the sunsets over towards Big Buddha from the pool. It is great to be able to use the facilities at Cape Panwa, especially their private beach. It is tidal, but most days the sea is in for most of the day. I like to see the coral and fish when the tide is out, take swim shoes though. We enjoyed having an icecream from the café at Kantary Bay each night and strolling along the prom, watching the locals fish. Our favourite restaurant Seabreeze is right outside the back gates to the gardens. We loved it so much we are returning again this summer. If you like peace and quiet and the traditional thai culture, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, looks forward to welcoming you back again this summer and thanks you for your helpful and informative review which should assist others seeking great value, peace, and quiet. Your thoughtful mention of attentive, helpful, and friendly staff has been shared with them while the advice on swim shoes is very useful. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is our third stay at this hotel and our friends came with us. The Manager and staff welcomed us like long lost friends and made our holiday extra special as always. Nothing is too much trouble. I personally think that if you are looking for a tranquil place to stay, with great people, this is for you. Thank you Kantary Bay for another great stay. We have already booked for our 4th stay at your fab hotel and look forward to seeing you again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, looks forward to your soonest return for your 4th stay with us. We are pleased to learn that your recent stay was another enjoyable and pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We nearly decided to stay at cape panwa the sister hotel but so glad we chose Kantary Bay instead. First impressions here were lovely, just by the sea, with a more rustic charm and friendly helpful staff. Yes you had to go to their other hotel to use the beach but was always nice to come back to this resort. Our room was more like an apartment with living area, kitchen and balcony and was really good value for money.

We ate at the Italian restaurant and enjoyed our welcome here, the food was really lovely there and service with a smile! Which we didn't get at other resort. BB was very acceptable.

I'm guessing this hotel gets repeat custom as I can see how comfortable people felt and content they were.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view in building by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to learn that you have discovered the secret charm of our property which is why so many of our returning guests have bonded with our staff, other guests, our property and location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your favourable commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Recently we have had a family holiday at Cape Panwa. We have chosen the hotels due to the good remarks in Tripadvisor. Well, all the good remarks are definitely justified.
Friendly staff and service-minded. Rooms (booked 2) were nice and spacious.
We actually were sorry to leave after 1 week of holidays.
Especially nice was that the staff really made really an effort to keep one comfortable and soon greeted us all by names.
Perfect holiday hotel for families in a quiet and wonderful holiday area. Do not expect a SPA or kids club or other fancy add-ons. This hotel makes sure that all the basics are in place and well attended to.
Will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Depends on your likings. Sea-view is certainly a good choice. If you need completely darkenend rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to learn that your recent holiday stay with us fully met your expectations and was enjoyable and pleasant. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having stayed at Cape Panwa for the last 3 years we decided to stay at Kantary Bay for a change of scenery and i wished we would have made it a 4th stay at Panwa, room not available on arrival(11:00 am) until 2:00 pm not a good start but never mind,breakfast was poor with most of the hot foods were cold so far we have made the chef, waitress's and reception aware and still cold food asked if we could eat at Panwa but unfortunately we were told no. Roof top pool take your own drinks as there is no service up there, sun loungers around main pool resemble a bed from a 1960s hospital, clock tower bar closed until further notices so if you want food or drinks you need to leave the hotel,staff at the Kantary Bay are very polite and if it wasn't for them I think I would ask for a transfer , I realise its low season and things are a little quiet and maybe we were spoilt at Panwa. Looks like cereal for breakfast from now on.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, apologises for failing to meet your expectations and has shared your concerns with our team. Your favourable mention of our staff has been shared with them. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantary Bay, Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.