We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kantary Bay, Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kantary Bay, Phuket to your Saves list
Kantary Bay, Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 stars 822 Reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really nice and wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It vary nice place, I choose this hotel for my rest time,holiday. The Kantary BAY Phuket, location of Hotel is very beautiful ,nice near Cape PANWA. Hotel is very clean,and Staff officer are very friendly,nice service. I feel vary happiness time when stay at this Hotel. I think this Hotel service is the first class, The Kantary Bay Phuket is very excellent Hotel in my mind. And also I have my aim to join in this Hotel again and again if I have holiday weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    212
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
164
465
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great family hotel. Our two bedroom suite was very spacious. Hotel is clean and quiet. Staff are very friendly. Breakfast is good. Two swimming pools, the rooftop one has great view of the sea.

Far from the busy part of Phuket, but it is definitely one of the most beautiful places in Phuket. They don't have a beach in the front, however there's a sister hotel - Cape Panwa - next to it where you can use their excellent private beach and swimming pools. There's a free shuttle bus service between the two hotels, if you don't like to walk about 7 minutes. There are a few restaurants nearby. Town is not that far either. Paton is a bit far. We also got free trip to the coral island in one of their boats, takes about 20 min.

Really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are pleased to learn that you really enjoyed your vacation stay with us at the Kantary Bay, Phuket, Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to give us your positive comments on your stay with us. We look forward to your soonest return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

i had to write a report to confirm how wonderful this hotel is, i have read a previous nasty review written about this hotel which i feel is grossly unfair, is this person getting paid to downgrade this hotel, after all it is NO. 1. iam going to this hotel in february next year for 30 days, i have been there on two other occasions, i find the staff the most curteous,helpful and friendly at all times, the cleanliness is first class and there is everything in the rooms to make your stay an enjoyable one. we are looking forward to meeting some really good friends we have met in previous years, and also the friendly SMILEY staff.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Many thanks for your positive endorsement of the Kantary Bay, Phuket, after your stay with us two previous times. Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to confirm what a wonderful hotel with a superb Staff, the Kantary Bay, Phukiet, is. We look forward to your stay with us for 30 days next February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked through Avios via Kuoni and left Heathrow T3 on 8th Sept for two weeks at this Hotel, on arrival at hotel after easy flight connections at Bankok to Phuket found that this early morning flight does not allow for accesable rooms on arrival at Hotel (unless empty the night before) Still this was not a problem really for the hotel who jumped into action and made up the room within 30 mts for us!
Our room in this hotel overlooked the sea and pool area which was quite good but i felt not the best view! we had a lounge, kitchenette including a fridge/freezer, hob, microwave and washing machine on balcony, bath/shower room and bedroom. ( Bedroom and Lounge with seperate Aircon) In lounge was TV DVD and HI FI system with good channels.
Kantary bay is possible not the best location as there is very little beach to use and you have to take the free shuttle bus to the sister Hotel in Cape Panwa. ( This is only 4 mts but the hill to get there is VERY STEEP!!!
Along from your Hotel There are a few very good resturants and usually lots of street food ( we didn't chance this due to this sitting there all day etc)
Outside the hotel we found a great taxi and a Chelsea Mad driver! Somboon with his Chelsea dressed Pickup wagon! Ask him to take you to the Ship Inn as they call him back to collect!
If you are going on any tours go and compare "Happy Tour" (Nam) with the Hotels service. Nam also does drop off laundry service before you go home so all you have to do is put clothes away as they are already washed and ironed for a small charge.
We went to the Big Buddah ( A1), Elephant trecking (A1), Coral Island (A1),Phi Phi Island (OK), The Phuket Simon Ladyboy show is very good, however beware of photos after the show...You have to pay for the ladyboys that are in the pic (All of them!!) we gave two of them 20 Baht each! this was accepted but some people gave 200 Baht each!!
Patong in the evening is a must, Bangla Rd and the various acts there is a must!! in the day the shopping here is great with all of the big names here with prices very good also ( don't forget your VAT reclaim reciepts) if you arn't really night owls then use the hotel taxi service as this comes back at 23.30, night owls/clubbers get a price from a taxi to take and collect!
Also trip day and night to Phuket to the market etc!
All in all Kantary Bay was an excellent Hotel and the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasant. 10/10 It's not 5* but is very comfortable an clean. Bed VERY BIG and comfortable!
Try the Light house Bar this has some music and Thidarat and Simon are excellent employees!
September is a little hit and miss... This year it rained 7 out of 14 days but it's over quickly even at this time of year!
Don't forget your Mosquito spray and maybe room plug in you will need it!

Room Tip: Choose a balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Your positive endorsement of your 14 day stay with us at the Kantary Bay in Phuket , as an excellent hotel, is appreciated. Your general description of the location, facilities, amenities, entertainment, side trips, pricing, and such will be very helpful to readers deciding where to stay in Phuket when they visit. Thank you for the mention of various Staff, and others, by name, which were of particular assistance. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to your next visit soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I had been with friends for 3 days. The location is nice, right in front of the beautiful sea. The staff at the reception are very friendly and courteous. We were upgraded to a nice big 1bhk from studio apartment on arrival. the check-in and check-out was smooth. However, the hotel is situated very far from the airport. It takes around 50 minutes to drive down to this hotel. You will have to spend around 700-800 Bht one way for it. Phuket city is also a bit far. The local bus service starts outside of the hotel from 8am and is available till 3pm for 70Bht per head. The hotel has a private beach at Cape panwa hotel. they provide free shuttle between kantary bay and cape panwa hotel from 7am till 11pm. They provide one complimentary drink to all guest during the stay. the options in the menu are very limited. They do not take al a carte request. not even if you just order for a simple french toast or scrambled egg etc. Its far from all shopping locations. The only best part of this hotel is that you have a very good indian restaurant round the corner and people come down to eat their from phuket town, patong etc. The hotel is far way from all shopping locations. You have to spend 300-400 bht each way to go to any place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments, which should be helpful to other readers planning to stay in Phuket, who might want a quiet place such as the Kantary Bay in which to stay. Your positive comments on our friendly and courteous staff, smooth check-in and out, room upgrade, and the nearby private beach at our sister hotel are appreciated. Shortcomings mentioned will be addressed by Management. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is gross and disgusting. My husband and I decided to stay here because of it's nice beach location coupled with the amazing reviews on trip advisor. We were absolutely shocked when we checked in. It is not a nice place. The lobby is dirty old and nasty. The people that work at the front desk were condescending and rude. I was appalled when we walked into our gross room and the smell of cigarette smoke overcame me. The bed linens were dirty and unwashed, there was mold in the bathroom and the furniture is old and ugly. It is appalling that the owner of this hotel is literally sitting on a landmine of a location and just letting his old hotel go to waste. It needs to be completely knocked down and renovated.

And so my nightmare continued. The people who worked at this hotel literally ruined me and my husbands first day of our vacation in panwa. We asked immediately if we could change our booking and switch to the "Cape Panwa" sister hotel because we were unhappy with the cleanliness and condition of the room, where we were given limitless attitude by the rude lady at the front desk. They told us we could switch hotels, but still be charged for our night (even though we didn't stay in the room for 2.5 secs). They told us to call agoda (who we booked through). We are from the US and didn't know how to use the phones so we asked if we could use their phone at the front desk- but they told us no and that we needed to go do it back in our room. Finally after 6 hours if trying to get out of this hotel , we were waiting in the lobby where the rude front desk woman called and asked for me and told me I owned her $360 baht for the phone call I made to agoda in my room to cancel our reservation!!!! They told me to go to my room to make the call so I would be charged and refused to let me use the free phone at the front desk!!! At that point I asked to speak to the manager who I voiced all of my complaints to and he literally did absolutely nothing. He is a terrible manager and his customer service team at Kantary bay is terrible and psychotic.

Urai K is the rude ladys name that was the worst person I have ever met in the customer service field.

Do your self a favor and do not stay at this nasty hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for sending us your comments regarding our hotel during your recent stay. We were sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations when it came to the quality of the room and also cancelling your online travel agent booking. The team at Kantary Bay Phuket pride themselves on providing a high level of service and we have noted your feedback and have addressed each point with the relevant hotel team.

We continually try to improve the service that we offer our guests and we appreciate your feedback as this is one of the best ways to improve our hotel. If we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us directly, and we hope to see you again at our sister property Cape Panwa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pantasaph, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

just a quick visit , our first time at kantary , prev at cape panwa .
very good value for money easy warm early check in to small but great room with views staff helpfull .
esp with mt teapot and fresh milk ,
may i thank the manager with my spa help , it was alovely afternoon .
well done great hotel and staff .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your positive endorsement of your stay with us at the Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantary Bay, Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.