We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Stay Outstanding Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kantary Bay, Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kantary Bay, Phuket to your Saves list
Kantary Bay, Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 stars 822 Reviews
Cape Panwa, Thailand
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay Outstanding Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The Kantary Bay Hotel just gets better and better. The staff here are just outstanding and go the extra mile and you are always greeted with smiles from reception down to the cleaners. The rooms are spacious,. clean and have everything that you could need .I like to have a top floor room over looking the bay. The breakfast buffet is substantial and superb with plenty of choice and a fresh egg station. You have plenty of dining options in the hotel and the retsaurants are superb.You also have plenty of outside dining options. The beach is just fantastic and one of the nicest beaches in Thailand very picturesque. The Coral Island boat trip is a lovely day first time for me on this trip with the hotel should have done this previous years a great day out on a classy boat. You have to use the shuttle to get to the beach and up to the Cape Panwa Hotel for the shared facilities but it does run all day backwards and forwards the most I ever waited was 5 minutes. I found the taxi guys at the front of the hotel reasonable and they do have a board with costs of fares 1 way and return. The Natural Restaurant in Phuket Town is still one of my favourites and a new one this year was The Chalet who will come and pick you up free of charge great food reasonable prices and also bring you back. The Sunset Bar run by Russell and his famous cocktails is where many spend a delightful evening. Cape Panwa to me is my paradise spot in Phuket it has loads to offer, fantastic views of the islands and the best of them all The Kantary Bay.

Room Tip: Top Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    212
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
164
465
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Kantary Bay is away from the main West coast beaches of Karon and Patong etc.
It is in a much quieter setting, fairly out of the way from the rest of the island, but charming and and distinct.
The hotel is very good, with lovely friendly staff, very nice rooms and set in an attractive bayside location.
Unfortunately the hotel does not sit on a nice beach. It does have a promenade in front of the hotel, from which there is a very pretty seaward view of the islands with lovely sunsets. The seaward side of the prom is rocky at low tide and there is no beach at low or high tide.
However, the sister hotel, The Cape Panwa Hotel, (which is easily accessible by the wonderful free shuttlebus service), has a magnificant private beach which more than makes up for the lack of beach at Kantary Bay
The hotel is not as swish as it's sister hotel, the Cape Panwa Hotel, but it has it's own charm.
If you are awash with money then the Cape Panwa Hotel would probably be a better option.

Room Tip: great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Currently staying here , and it has been a great choice , linked up with its sister hotel , you have great swiming , a great beach , and fantasic staff .

We have gone half board and the food is worth every penny , high quaility and great service .

Hotel is spotless , and has a good vibe about it everywhere . Can recomend it if you need to recharge your batteries . Currently in lobby its 80 degress using free internet.

on arrival we were upgraded for free to one bed studio , and it was very large and spotless

overall 5 stars for our stay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

All staff friendly and helpful we had a large studio with great views we watched the sun set daily. The facilities using both hotels good. Hotels full but didnt feel busy plenty of sunbeds and space on beach and around the pool. The tour operator in the hotel cheaper than outside and helpful, ask about hire of a long tail boat and taxi for the day cheaper than trips and not alot of hanging around. It well worth the short but almost vertical walk (from the back steps of hotel) up the hill to James resturant the food is excellent, hot,cheap and the views superb, you could have your feet nibbled to.
Loved the resort very quiet but ideal for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Check the hotel tour operator for prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We have the pleasure to stay at the BAY for another holiday, we spent 10 weeks in a well equipped apartment,nice kitchen with new microwave, fridge/freezer,and hob,not that we cooked.The lounge was comfortable with T V,music centre and D V D. The view from our balcony and windows were stunning The bathroom was adequate[ could do with updating] The STAFF are unbelievable, Friends for life! We are sorry 2 reception girls have left. We will miss them on our next years visit. We have made many friends there and also at The CAPE [sister hotel, 5 minutes away] Tim that with known ,from our 13 visit sto the Cape,is always helpfull and always ready to arrange and advise. As Guest Relation Manager, takes sometimes all the flac but we would like to Thank him for his services over the Years. As we stay on bed and breakfast basis, the breakfast room can sometimes be abit hectic! But the Staff are always smiling and helpfull. We wish the bread ,cakes,and fruit was as nice as The Cape hotel. The beach at theCape is secluded and kept clean by hard working Staff [always fun to talk too] Sandy Jenny and Somchai,are fantastic[ if they ever left the place would colapse]. We have booked our stay for next year! We hope to travel from Bangkok , via Chomporn, by train, should be fun?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Just spent a week staying at the Kantary Bay Hotel at Cape Panwa, Phuket.

The hotel was well laid-out and immaculately clean and well-presented. Staff were extremely friendly and spoke good English (which was a relief!). On arrival, we were pleased to receive a free upgrade on our room. The room itself was clean and provided all necessities you would expect.

Kantary Bay Hotel is twinned with Cape Panwa Hotel, which is a 2 minute bus ride away (it is possible to walk, but up a very steep hill!). The hotel offers a free shuttle bus which goes from one to the other from 7am to midnight. The longest we ever had to wait for this was probably about 5 minutes. Access to the other hotel and its facilities means you have a lovely private beach, and the hotel even operates a free cable car to save you having to walk down.

The hotel itself has several restaurants and bars (it is worth checking which bars have 'happy hour' when to benefit from the BOGOF offer). All of the ones we went to were lovely, and reasonably priced. There are also a few other restaurants around the hotels. In addition the hotel has its own 'supermarket' which has quite a lot of basics - snacks, drinks, postcards, souvenirs etc. and in the evening there is a few market stalls that set up outside the hotel.

Whilst we were staying at the hotel we didn't do many organised tours, although we did take the hotel shuttle to Patong Beach and back (300B per person). This took about 40 minutes to get to. It was definitely worth visiting, but a little manic for us, and we were extremely glad to be staying somewhere much calmer! We decided to get a taxi into Phuket Town, then that we would find another cab to make our way back. In retrospect, this was a BAD idea!! There was not an awful lot to do (we went in the evening and the night market was really too far to walk to from the old town). We then found it VERY hard to get a taxi home - our cab driver who had offered to come back was not answering his phone, and we ended up with a tuk tuk! In all this cost us 800B, whereas had we taken the hotel shuttle we would have paid 160B each.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our month at Kantary Bay hotel, and received very good service throughout our stay. First room we were allocated had no balcony or view, despite being very spacious and pleasant, but we were soon moved to one of the excellent studio rooms with fabulous views of the garden and of Panwa Bay.
As we were all inclusive we were able to eat and drink at the Cape Panwa hotel as well as at Kantary Bay, and the choice of restaurants was very good indeed- Thai food, Italian food, Themed buffets, Fish restaurant, and top knotch dining at Top of the Reef restaurant. Staff always friendly and helpfulI.
We also loved the beach at Cape Panwa with it's palm trees and beautiful white sand. Beach bar offered great food too!
All in all a perfect holiday in paradise!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantary Bay, Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.