We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By The Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added By The Sea to your Saves list
By The Sea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7/6 Moo 6 Soi Bor-Rae | Sakdidech Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Talk about being on the beach. The cafe and pool are right next to the beach. The sea water is warm and still. The pool has good sun in the morning hours and early afternoon. Plenty of loungers on beach and by pool. Good drenching shower at the transition from beach to pool area.
The resturant is right next to the beach as well with tables almost in the sand but sitting on a deck. The food is good and breakfast very well persented with a good choice. Service was excellent and prompt most of time...I think it was the kitchen that slowed the process. But everything I ordered was wonderful, so I'll wait a little longer. They have sort of a happy hour food menu most of the day, everything is 99TB. Fav was egg rolls everyday for sure along with a cold beer. I stayed for dinner the night I arrived, it was a buffet with a chef station to mix a Thai hot plate for you. I even was able to get behind the wok myself as it was not very busy when I showed up...that was a kick and the staff took pics. It is fun to become part of something and enjoy the people and what they do...also I feel it is a compliment to them if you join in, laugh and apprecite their service.

The property is on a steep slope and has a garden roof for each section of rooms below. I was on the top street level rooms which provided a fantastic view. A golf cart was available at a moments notice to take you down to the beach area and back up again, a very nice service. The hotel had a wash room with machines at reasonable prices.

The pool water was pleasant and cooled you off after a hot day of adventure and tours. I had the manager set up my day tours, he spoke English very well. I suspect the prices were a little higher than doing it on my own, but not much and it was what I wanted to do not a set tour.

The room was great. Front room with TV,couches and coffee table, off to the side a 4 place small dining table, with a kitchen. assorted coffe and tea plus some tastey cookies each day along with the standard of two free bottles of water in the refer. There was a mini service bar as well with reasonable prices. The bedroom looked out across the lawn and across the bay. Small patio with chairs and table. Read many chapters in the morning before breakfast. The bath had a shower and tub and yet again no place to hang damp towels. This bath had a central hot water supply system which worked very well tucked up under the sink counter which fed the shower, tub and sink plus the kicthen sink. The maid service was always done when I was not there..never ever saw them. Amazing not even a cart.
The place is well maintained and the grounds folks are always doing something keeping it tidy and attractive. i also like using the hotel to set up things as it can be added to your check out billing using a credit card just once saving on transation service charges.
By the sea IS by the sea. It is a nice place to stay, but not central to town. You need transport. If I was staying long term I might rent a scooter or a car to explore. I can highly reccomend this place.

Room Tip: Take the view rooms up higher on the garden roof level, no need to be by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByTheSeaPhuket, General Manager at By The Sea, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear CaptPJ,

Warm Greeting from By The Sea.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination and I am delighted to read that your overall stay was a relaxing and memorable.

Thank you once again for staying with us.

It would be my pleasure and also my team to welcome you back to By The Sea for a future visit to Phuket.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    98
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
95
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is nothing like you would expect if you have only been to the main resorts in Phuket. It is QUIET and BEAUTIFUL! The huge rooms are a short walk to the pool area and restaurant, with direct access to the idyllic beach. The staff are so kind and helpful, the food is great and very inexpensive for the standard. I honestly cannot fault this hotel in any way, it was perfect! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByTheSeaPhuket, General Manager at By The Sea, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Jesse265,

Thank you for your review. It is great to read that you had a memorable holiday with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back here again soon to By The Sea.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We (4 adults) have stayed on By The Sea Resort, from the 8 of March till the 2nd of April 2014. From up on our arrival until our departure the staff off the resort has done everything what’s possible to make our feel home on Phuket.

The resort has a wonderful restaurant where you can eat superb/fresh Thai & western food. The cooks in the kitchen are cooking on a very high level and are always prepared to change something on your dish if you have special dishes. On Monday, Wednesday and Friday the restaurant serves a beautiful buffet by the swimming pool. Breakfast is a buffet with Thai & western food. Everyday fresh and tasty.

The restaurant is located on the beach so you always have a great view from breakfast till dinner. The swimming pool is located by the restaurant and the beach. Wonderful pool. Because the resort has not so many rooms the Pool and restaurant are never crowded so the staff has always the time for their quests.

The rooms are spacious and have always a nice view. 80% of the rooms has a direct view to the beach/sea. The whole complex has free Wi-Fi. This means also Wi-Fi by the swimming pool and on the beach. If there is a problem with the internet (what always can happen in Thailand) the staff of the hotel does everything to solve that problem.

By the reception desk is an air condition room with an Apple computer (free for use) connected with the internet. If the Wi-Fi signal on the resort has a problem you can use this Apple computer for internet. Also is the Wi-Fi signal in this room so strong that it almost always works also when the Wi-Fi on the resort have problems.

To walk from the reception desk to the restaurant/swimming pool there is a steep walk. Do not worry about this steep walk because the resort has a golf car that will bring you to the restaurant or from the restaurant to the reception desk.

The resort is located in a very nice and quit part of Phuket. Don’t let that bother you to stay in this resort. Taxis are extremely cheap and bring you in no time to all the highlights of the Island. Within 45 minutes you are in Patong beach. After visiting Patong beach you will be happy to be back again in your safe, clean By The Sea Resort. Twice a day the resort offers a free taxi service to Phuket Town.

For 1000 – 1200 bath (+/- $25,-) you can hire a taxi driver for a day. So don’t let the quite location being a reason to not visit this resort.

Everybody on the resort from the gardner, cleaners, restaurant staff till the managers Mr. Montree & Mr. Jack are 24/7 doing their best to give you a warm and welcome feeling.

I hereby would like to recommend By The Sea resort personally to everyone who is visiting Phuket. There is no better place to stay then this place.

Best regards,

Mr. Richard van Huizen

Room Tip: The rooms who are located on the groundfloor by the swimmingpool have less windows. All the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByTheSeaPhuket, General Manager at By The Sea, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Richard van Huizen,

Greeting from By The Sea.

Thank you for your review.

I am delight to read your comment based on your experience with us and I am really proud of my team to make both of you have a great time.

I already pass your comment to Mr. Montree, Mr. Jack and my team.

Thank you for choosing By The Sea to be part of your holiday destination and looking forward to welcome you back again in the future.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just back from a month long stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful views, right on the beach, of course the water is tidal, but wonderful warm water swimming and if the tides too far out there's always the pool until the tide returns. The staff are wonderful and very friendly and accomodating. We were upgraded to a lovely 2 bedroom, huge unit. We also were offered a 4 night stay at their sister Hotel Andaman Seaview in Karon Beach. We enjoyed the change of pace there and the standards and service were excellent as well. The beds are indeed firm and could benefit from perhaps a soft mattress cover. If you're looking for a nice quiet holiday away from the hustle and bustle would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByTheSeaPhuket, General Manager at By The Sea, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear anita v,

Thank you for your review. it is much appreciated to read that you have a great time with us both By The Sea and Andaman Seaview Hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back to By The Sea again soon.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Relaxing, beautiful scenery with large rooms. staff very good especially at the restaurant / bar. we had a great stay and would have stayed longer but they were booked up. we moved to a 5 star hotel in the same area, but overall this was better. breakfast on the beach, you can't beat it. only negative is the tidal sea which goes out in the afternoon to soil the view a bit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByTheSeaPhuket, General Manager at By The Sea, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Steven W,

Warm Greeting from By The Sea.

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and I am delighted to read that your stay was a relaxing and memorable.

It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you once again for your future holiday.


With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have just had 2 wonderful nights at this hotel and the photos does it no justice. The hotel is exactly on the beach and what one reviewer mention about the low and high tide is correct. Whilst I was there I had high tide, but the afternoon I was leaving the tide was very low that I saw people walking out very far to get to the sea. The staff and management are very accommodating and friendly. I found the food satisfactory. My room was very spacious and there is a shower and a bath. You are given everything including a beach bag and towels for the beach. There is a laundry room which was £2 including the washing powder and conditioner. The only downside is that there is a slope to walk down to get the amenities, however there is a buggy that can be use which is based at the reception area. I would highly recommend this hotel if you just want to relax and do absolutely nothing, but if you want nightlife and other activites then this hotel is not for you, because it is far from everything including a hour drive from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel is right on the beach. Whatever mentioned in the website, it is the same, no flake like other hotels. We stayed at this hotel from Jan 31-Feb 2. We booked 2 rooms but did not get connecting rooms as requested. As we have 4 small daughters, finally the hotel managed to upgrade my rooms to a 2-bedroom suite with seaview. We were very happy. the room is spacious and clean. The staff are very helpful. We would recommend this hotel to any one and will be back again. Love this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea

Address: 7/6 Moo 6 Soi Bor-Rae | Sakdidech Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By The Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel Cape Panwa
By The Sea Cape Panwa, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.