We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of By The Sea

Save Saved
You added By The Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
By The Sea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7/6 Moo 6 Soi Bor-Rae | Sakdidech Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Cape Panwa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a wonderful small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Booked for a long-stay. What a beautiful hotel.wonderful views of the bay. Good quiet beach. Great breakfast. Staff make you feel part of the family. They can't do enough for you. Hotel is super clean. Beautiful flowers everywhere. Where else can you get a knock on the door and anonymous flowers appear ? Never mind the towel swans and puppies on the bed after a long day of diving ? Small touches of special everywhere. Didn't want to leave. Would definitely return. Thanks to ALL the STAFF.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    84
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
75
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel has some great pros and some off-putting cons to consider, but overall for us was wonderful. First off, it is very far away from the main touristy areas such as Patong or Kata beaches. For us, this was wonderful. It meant peace and quiet. There are also some great beach front restaurants/bars nearby where one can take in the spectacular landscape of Chalong Bay, and the restaurant at the hotel is a really great dinner spot (though the breakfast buffet was sub par.)

We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite, which was more than we needed but certainly appreciated. Our room was very clean, though a bit dated. I can't imagine being in a room near the top of the hotel, as there is an imposing walk uphill before even getting to the stairs. The staff was helpful in booking our island hopping tour (not to be missed, by the way), accommodating our very early/late airport transfers, and even packed us a to go breakfast upon departure, as we left at 5 AM.

The main problem I had with this property was the beach itself. Most, if not all, of Phuket beaches are tidal, meaning they are not as accessible during low tide. The problem with Cape Panwa Beach is that the beach is only swim-able at the highest of high tides, and is a muddy/rocky mess during low tide. The beach itself is also fairly rocky and a bit on the dirty side. We didn't swim much, and were lucky that the tide was in when we wanted to be in the water, so it worked out for us.

If swimming and walking down a powdery beach is what you are looking for, this is not the beach for you. But if a brisk walk while taking in the views of the bay are what you're after, this is the spot. Overall the rooms were clean but somewhat dated, the staff friendly, and the hotel does have a good number of places to eat/drink around it, even being as isolated as it is. If a quiet beach retreat with wonderful bay views is what you're looking for, I would highly recommend By The Sea. If you want a more stereotypical white powdery beach, I recommend you look to one of the more touristy areas like Kata or Karon.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that you don't have to walk upstairs to get to, though I think in general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We enjoyed our 5 nights there immensely, We were upgraded to a lovely big two bedroom two bathroom apartment on arrival with an amazing view out to the ocean. There was a terrific balcony which ran the full width of the apartment which was on the 4th. [top floor]. There was a adequate kitchen but no utensils at all. But when we brought this to their attention every thing we needed was soon provided, We had a great buffet breakfast each morning at the restaurant which was only a step off the beach, The beach was very calm but found it best to swim in the morning as the tide goes out after lunch which then exposes quite a few rocks, The free shuttle bus twice a day into Phuket Town was very handy for shopping as there are no supermarkets near the resort. There are two or three good local restaurants right on the beach two minutes away, good food, good price,As the resort is built on a hill from the beach it may be a bit hard for people who have a walking problem as reception is near the road [up the top] and restaurant and pool are down at beach level. I suppose this could be overcome somewhat by booking a room on the bottom level beside the pool and beach. The little lounge beside reception had a small library of book which was good and which we took advantage off. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would not hesitate to return in the future.ROY AND MIYUKI VODDEN AUSTRALIA.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lystrup
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights. We were upgraded for suite on topfloor with beautiful wiev from the balcony. They have at big and delicious breakfast buffet with good coffe :-). We did not try the restaurant for dinner, because we found it too expensive. There were some nice restaurants at the beach, nice and cheap. The beach is right in front of the hotel with lots of space and sunbeds. It is not the best beach, but ok. The poolarea i in the shadow most at the day, and there is not much space around it. The hotel offers shuttlebus to the biggest shopping center in Phuket, Phuket Festival 2 times a day with pickup 3 hours later. There is no city nearby in walkingdistance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadym
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

no recomends, everything is good. kithen is Ok. The sea is close. Shuttle is very usefull.

Room Tip: b sector is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This fantastic resort provides the excellent services and paramont sea view. This is a very good place for the family and children who can swim in the pool and the sea, with parents sitting relaxed in the beach with sunset in the afternoon.

The quiet beach gives the whole family lots of fun, strolling along the beach feeling like little fish town with quiet and lovely people. Kids playing soccer along the beach, adults enjoying the food and the pancake in the little town...

If we ever come back to Phuket again, we will be sure to stay in this hidden gem again.



I

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trelleborg, Sweden
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My plan was to stay at By the Sea, Cape Panwa just a week. Then go around and visit different places. For two days I travelled around. Then I realized thtat I left a great place. I missed the quiet, beautiful environment. The friendly and helpful staff. The great breakfastbuffé, which satisfied a picky breakfast-eater like me. So I returned. In addition the hotel restaurant The Following Sea have a wonderful kitchen, with good and beautiful food in high class. By the Sea meets all my requirements.
I combine the trip writing, relaxing and convention. Read my blog that is published.
I can really recommmend this hotel and restaurant.
Gun-Marie Larsson Sweden

Room Tip: .The room is like a appartment, big and nice. The view is excellent. Everyting is clean and in a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea

Address: 7/6 Moo 6 Soi Bor-Rae | Sakdidech Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By The Sea 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel Cape Panwa
By The Sea Cape Panwa, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.