We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, Love, Love this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Panwa Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Panwa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Wangi Wangi, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

After some early issue re our room which were quickly sorted out, the rest of our stay was awesome. The rooms are beautiful and roomy. Stayed in a Signature Cape Suite which gave a fairly uninterrupted view of the Andaman Sea. Very quiet hotel and the grounds are immaculate. Take the travelator or walk down to the private beach with loads of sun lounges or lay by the beach front pool or stay uphill and lay by the pool in a cabana. The restaruant at this hotel are all good and the food and drink prices were very reasonable. Most rooms appear to have outdoor jacuzzi and sunbeds. Shuttle runs from the hotel to the little town area every 20 mins. This hotel is well away from the maddening crowds so if your not into relaxing, swimming and reading a good book be prepared to pay for taxi into shopping areas.

Room Tip: If you can afford a little extra and are looking for a nice view go for the Signature Cape suite. o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased that you took the time to give us your informative thoughts on your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing and serving you again on your next stay with us. Thank you for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    396
    147
    57
    30
See reviews for
294
846
34
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at Cape Panwa at start of August and had a great time. Spent a week in a family suite as travelled with 2 children. The suite was enormous and very spacious. Hotel grounds are very well maintained and it looked as if the sun loungers next to the pool have all been renewed. Breakfasts were very good as was the food at the beach cafe where we had food most days. It is a quiet resort but after a few Hectic days in Bangkok it was a great place to chill out on the fabulous beach. Had some rainy days but we were in the rainy season. We will certainly stay here again if we get the chance to come back to Phuket again in the future.

Room Tip: Go for a cape suite, block f very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The airport welcome in Phuket said: welcome in paradise!. This seemed true for cape Panwa Hotel, but not for some of the places we saw on the island. Definitely avoid Patong resort- it's disgusting and food expensive. Panwa hotel has a beautiful hilly setting, very remote from any hustle and perfect for relaxation. The private beach is out of this world and as it was the low season we were nearly on our own there. I had a Thai massage on the beach in the rain- and nobody was around apart from the only wild monkey, called ' home alone' .The British manager was very helpful and practical in his approach. The other staff did not have the typical Thai friendliness we came to love during our stay in the north of Thailand. The food was good, but slightly boring and repetitive. I could not have eaten it longer than a week. The rooms looked very European standard like and we were missing the Thai ambience. Gorgeous place when the sun shines, but as we had some rainy days there is not a lot to do, especially with teenagers.

Room Tip: get a room toward the private beach. Ours looked onto a port and industry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, notes your informative commentary which should be helpful to other readers. Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Wonderful staff but some minor details such as renovating the balconies and just a general paint would make this hotel top class! Further more the house keeping could do with a few cleaning pointers, as they just tidy up rather than actually clean. The positives are this is a wonderful hotel with kind and pleasant staff who always give there best with anything thrown at them. Would recommend anyone to stay here just makesure you stay in a cape panwa suite if you want a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for recommending our hotel while your stated appreciation of our attentive, friendly and helpful staff has been shared with them. Your suggestions have also been noted and discussed with the housekeeping department. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a very quiet part of the world. If you want action and bars this is not the place to come. However if you want somewhere to relax this is excellent with a gorgeous private beach, best of any. The only problem was the remoteness when ill!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your feedback and looks forward to seeing and serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My fiancée and I are planning for organising our wedding ceremony in Phuket next year so we are having a pre-honeymoon trip to Phuket this year to check out the venue of the ceremony. Cape Panwa definitely gave us the best impression of all places that we visited.

Due to the unpredictable weather in Phuket during the monsoon season, we changed the meeting date a few times (just can’t inspect beachfront wedding venue in heavy rain). Aom, the sales manager, was most accommodating to our request.

Eventually we fixed a mutually convenient time for the visit. Once we stepped into the lobby, we were warmly greeted by Aom. We went through the wedding package at the coffee shop, followed by a one and a half hour walking through all the possible ceremony and banquet venues, including the beach front, the garden, the Panwa House and the top of cliff restaurant. The itinerary was so well planned and we have to chance to check out some of the guest rooms which looked really comfortable. It was good that they have got a small cable car connecting the main buildings of the hotel to the beach, which would be very convenient for elder people (my grandparents towards their 90s will join the wedding as well).

What’s more impressive is that we made a reservation through Aom to try out the food at the Panwa House another night, and everything was so well organised.

Although we didn’t really stay at the hotel, but the service and the dinning experience we had really deserve a 5 stars rating. With the high quality of service, my fiancée and I are seriously considering organising our wedding with Cape Panwa Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your feedback and looks forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks for your mention of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff. We look forward to helping with your special day and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We bought our 2 adult vouchers (S$299 x 2) from deal.com (excluding taxes) in July for a 3D2N stay in their Junior Suite. Since we are here to celebrate our son's first birthday, we extended our stay to 6D5N and upgraded 3 of the nights to Cape Suite (bigger area with an outdoor whirlpool). Upon arrival, we were glad to find out that they have upgraded the other 2 nights to Cape Suite as well. The cost of this stay added up to almost S$1900 for the 3 of us.

Initially we were given a pool-view room. As we have a baby with us and preferred a quieter one, Tim (caucasian gentleman) assisted us immediately by changing our room to L212. He explained that all the rooms are sea-facing versus our understanding of pool view and sea view rooms. Those higher level rooms are more sought after as they offer better view and more privacy. Do take note that there are no lifts here. Between different levels, there are ramps for you to make way to your desired room level with your luggages and strollers.

We researched before our trip and observed that the price difference in Agoda between a Junior Suite and Cape Suite could be as little as S$7!

In our own views, most of the staff here only understand very basic English. We remembered in one of the evenings where we called the housekeeping to request for cotton pad to wash our son's face. The lady at the other line replied that they do not provide pads (sanitary) in this hotel and that we have to buy our own from the family marts if we need them! At the end, we realized that they called them by Vanity Kit, where each box includes 4 cotton bugs and 2 cotton pads.

However, when we made the same request 2 days later (they did not replenish all the amenities daily), the lady said she would send her housekeeping colleague to our room and we could show her what we wanted.

At their front desk, we observed that smiles were lacking and service levels were not consistent, with only some seem to be more willing to help. We were not given the 2 x 30% discount vouchers for their Cape Spa (you should try!), neither did anyone check with us when would we want to go for our half-day Coral Island trip which is included in this package.

During breakfast, we requested for both coffee and tea. The waiter did not acknowledge but only told us a while later that they were available at the buffet line. It was nice of him to still serve them later. Before we left, we heard the same waiter asking a Caucasian couple how was their day and if they would like to have some coffee or tea.

The quality and spread of their daily breakfast buffet is reasonable and nothing to shout about.

Nevertheless, we did meet a few nice and friendly people from the hotel. One of the waiters, Nitikrai who stopped by once in a while to play with our son. There was another skinny uncle who also played with our son and offered him a few small bananas.

The hotel is nice to extend our checkout till 4p on our last day as our flight is 8.10p. However, it would be better if they could have taken the initiative to re-program our room keys instead of us walking back to the front desk again when we returned from lunch at 3p. There are a few restaurants nearby the hotel that serves nice local food. If time permits, we will write some reviews on the nearby restaurants eg Uncle Jame's Restaurant, Sea Breeze, Sabai Sabai and Sawadee, etc. FYI, Uncle Nan's Restaurant in their sister hotel (Kantary Hotel) which is 5 mins away and accessible by free shuttle serves nice Italian dishes.

Kindly take note that if you are travelling with a baby/infant, you could request for babycot (condition is quite worn out) and high chair. You might also need to bring along umbrella (there are 2 provided in the hotel room) if it rains as you or your little ones might get a little bit drenched, when you make your ways to places like Top of the Reef/Otter's Bar (where we were given 2 vouchers to redeem for our welcome drinks there).

Top of the Reef offers a very nice view of the sea (similar to The Cliff in Sentosa, Singapore) but no bermudas/shorts are allowed in the air conditioned section of the restaurant. Otherwise, the outdoor area welcomes you.

Last but not least, if you plan to walk around on your own, it might be a challenge (esp if you are travelling with infants, kids and old folks) as after you walk out from the hotel, there is a steep slope uphill followed by a steep slope downhill. However, by the side of the slopes, there are many choices of massages (typically 300THB for 1hr foot reflexology) and small local restaurants.

We had a great time relaxing ourselves and enjoying our family moments. We have no plans to come back here in the near future, as we wanted to explore and experience other hotels/resorts.

Room Tip: Request for higher level whereby you have a better view of the sea (instead of facing the coconut tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for choosing to stay at our hotel and taking the time to write an informative review. We appreciate all guest feedback and apologise for not meeting all of your expectations during your stay. This is definitely not up to our standards as we are constantly striving to provide excellent service to all of our guests. However, we are pleased to learn that you had a great time relaxing with the family and sharing many special moments together. Your appreciation of staff, by name or position, has been shared with them. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world’s most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the hotel is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive beach. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated, sea facing suites and pool villas. A part of the Cape Collection, Thailand's premier luxury chain of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, the Cape Panwa Hotel is a little part of Paradise. Cape Panwa Beach-Perfect for year around Phuket’s south western winds blow from May until October making the seas on the west coast quite rough. However, the seas on the east coast, especially at Cape Panwa, are sheltered and calm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Panwa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.