We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Panwa Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Panwa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have just had my 5th visit to Cape Pawna. I have written 2 other reviews in the past but thought I should write another as it is some time since I wrote the last one and hotels do change.

All I can say is we had another fabulous stay. We had a Cape Suite which had an extremely comfortable bed and soft pillows (there is a pillow menu if you would prefer something different). The room is beautifully decorated and the bathroom huge plus a large balcony with an amazing view towards the beach. Cleaned to a good standard every day ( due to previous reviews I looked for dust but couldnt find any!)

The beach is my favourite spot. Coconut trees provide lovely shade and ambience, the food and drinks tasty and I noticed there were more than double the number of lounge chairs of previous visits, so many that I think every single guest would have to be there for you not to get one. The staff at the beach were efficient, the food and drinks good quality, work whether it be cleaning or organising chairs etc always happening but I do agree with others, compared to the rest of the hotel there was an air of disinterest unlike previous years where a laugh or a joke was always happening, I can understand this being critisized. Maybe the staff were just tired?

Breakfast was plentiful and fresh and catered to all tastes. I fail to understand how anyone could not enjoy the range and taste. There is now a station for freshly made pancakes as well as eggs. Staff work hard to clear tables despite the mess some people leave, seriously leaving the pile of egg shells and food you didnt want on the table rather than the plate is just bad manners (I am sure they wouldnt behave like that at home!). Dinner at night in the Cafe Andaman was amazing food all served quickly and with a smile. Yes its a bit more expensive than the wonderful small cafes around the village but the food is also of a higher standard. Try the fresh fish or tuna...divine. I was actually disappointed with the favourite local restaurant this time (Sawasdee) not sure what the problem was there.

Yes some of the staff dont have a total grasp of English but there was always someone around that did who you could go to if there was a problem. I am really tired of reading that this hotel and that hotel had staff who didnt speak perfect english...can they speak perfect Thai or what ever language of the country they are in? Isnt it all part of the travel experience going somewhere totally different? If you cant cope with taking a bit longer to communicate than you would at home maybe you should stay at home? And shouting and standing right in the face of people (as I witnessed this huge man from Europe doing to this tiny Thai lady who I take my hat off to for keeping smiling) is no way to behave or resolve a problem..do people leave their manners at home just because they have paid for a holiday? Sorry for the rant but its just so wrong.Be nice, smile, learn hello and thank you in Thai .....and amazing things happen.

Yes there are geckos (which eat the mosquitos btw), occasional ants, after all it is the tropics! Get some bug spray from the supermarket, ask the staff for assistance, its an easily resolved problem.

I love the spa, yes a bit more expensive but so luxurious, a real treat whilst on holiday and the staff extremely well trained and friendly. I wish i could remember the name of the lovely lady who did my body scrub...she was outstanding. The local massage shops are also good value. There is nail shop called the 3 monkeys which is just over the crest of t he hill, sitting in the chair having my nails done with a view of the bay and islands, think I was in the best seat in the world.

We also had some tailoring done at the second tailors from the hotel. Barrys of London. We took some clothes to be copied and they did a great job at half what I would pay at home and better material. We have used this guy before and all our clothes are still in perfect condition.

Happy hour at the lighthouse is always fun, even when there was only a small group due to low season. Pretty lights, hilarious service from Simon ( I cant spell his correct Thai name!) and the band makes for a fun few hours.

Cape Panwa is to me a unique and beautiful hotel in a quiet part of Phuket with a beach that you can swim safely at all year round (it is tidal, just read the chart left in your room and you will know the best swimming times). There are no noisy bars or a million shops. It is not a chain 5 * hotel where you wouldnt know what part of the world you are in until you left the hotel. It has charm and character. I have been lucky enough to travel around much of SE Asia in recent years and have stayed at many great hotels but this is the only one I return to as it has a special something plus the perfect beach and relaxing location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your balanced endorsement after your 5th stay with us. Your descriptive and informative review with your point of view and thoughts on your stays with us should be appreciated by experienced travellers as well as those planning their 1st stay in Phuket. Your mention of staff has been shared with them. We look forward to your soonest return for your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    396
    147
    57
    30
See reviews for
294
846
34
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is such a lovely hotel. There is access to a private beach which is lovely to sit at. There is a bar and restaurant located down there and staff to meet your every need. The rooms have been refurbished since my last stay, and they are really lovely. I LOVED the pillow menu, giving different pillow options. We didn't need to use it as the 70/30 feather and down pillows on the bed were just perfect. There are two swimming pools which were lovely and clean. Beautiful breakfast buffet available and up to eight different restaurants available both in the resort and nearby panwa village. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. We went as a couple but excellent for families, friends and solo as well.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room on the eastern side, bit all the rooms have a nice aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to have your favourable review and short informative description which should be useful to others planning a trip to Phuket. We look forward to continuing to seeing and serving you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel back in 2005 and decided to return and give it another try as last time it really was paradise,ie back to nature.My they say never go back,times and new developements have spoilt this area,no wildlife more massage stalls,more traffic and hotel standards have slackened off.Pool area although still lovely decking in need of refurbishment.Last time we were there main breakfast Amandian restaurant was netted off to protect food from birds etc.not this time dont leave your food on table as you will find it being nicked by birds,The staff really were good though working in a difficult area as renovation work on foyer area was on going.We stayed in room 223 room had great views,best we have stayed in only thing let it down was bathroom needed sprucing up decor wise as not very clean and few items were in need of repair did mention them to housekeeping but not very good.Beach area good still,spa excellent entertainment good food also worth a try for a first time visitor,only downfall qite a way out from other shops and nightlife if you require it average price for taxi 800 baht to Patong

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your feedback. There is no doubt the Cape Panwa area and surrounding area has changed over the last 8 years, but many guests select the area as it offers a quiet refuge away from the more developed tourist areas and nightlife. The new lobby is now complete. Thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Cape Panwa Hotel for 7 nights in October 2012 after purchasing a Scoopon deal.
We stayed in a Cape Suite which had lovely ocean views. The spa on the balcony was very relaxing after long hot days. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable.
The staff were always friendly and willing to learn more words to improve their English.
The rooms and grounds were kept clean and tidy. Each day staff would rake the beach to clear all the coral and other debris. Plenty of beach chairs were available.
The food was good, and the frozen mocktails were so good on the hot days.
Even though the Hotel is built on a hillside if you don't feel like walking up and down the hill to the beach each day you could take the little train that's runs up and down.
The beach bar has good food for lunch. You can't beat sitting back in your beach chair with a cocktail and burger at lunch watching the long boats go by....and staring out to sea...it truly is beautiful...and it's so quite down by the beach. You feel like you are hours away from anything sometimes. Adult pool by the beach is also relaxing and even quiter.
We hired a taxi to take us to the night markets in Old Phuket Town and then in Patong on a Saturday night. Although the hotel is happy to book this for you, we found it cheaper to book ourselves. You just see then drivers at bottom of hill and they will give you a better deal.
The restaurants outside the resort at bottom of hill were all very good.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here. Great hotel with friendly helpful staff.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to learn that your expectations were met, your stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant, and that you will return. Your informative feedback should be useful to other readers thinking of a stay in Phuket. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your soonest return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

first to Jade M, seriously you are complaining because not all staff spoke perfect English, get real your in Thailand, Do you speak fluent Thai!!! In addition, maybe if you had opened your eyes you would have seen that when the weather is bad they advise of the change of venue for the meal and dancing. It drives me mad when people travel to these countries for culture and experience and then complain because its not what they are used to back home!
Anyway enough of that, all I can say this is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location with staff that couldn't do enough for us. so don't listen to the trivial moaner and groaners, just experience this superb hotel for yourself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, always welcomes responses from experienced travellers, such as you, to add balance to feedback and reviews from our guests. Having met your expectations during stays with us we look forward to seeing and serving you again many times in the future. Thank you for your positive support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently spent 7 nights in a Cape Suite at the Cape Panwa hotel, The hotel has a nice ambience the beach is sheltered and is ideal for a low season trip although it does get a lot of coral washed up onto it which the staff seem to quickly clean up after high tide. The breakfasts were excellent with a great selection of both Western and Asian food. The Danishes were the best I have ever had at a Thai resort and my wife could not believe that I needed to try every one they had on offer. The Cape suite was huge and well appointed, some friends that stayed in with us in another room did have problems with electrical gremlins after some monsoonal rain but our room was fine although the room we had had clear glass on the sliding doors to the bathroom rather than frosted glass which meant there was little privacy. The bed was comfortable and the TV was on a swivel so you could watch it from either the bed or the couch, the balcony was spacious but the spa’s never seem to be used, the view is spectacular. There are a lot of stairs and some steep hills at this resort so I would be wary in recommending it to people who have difficulty getting around, although there is a lift and the small tram which goes down to the beach. You do need however to walk down stairs to get to the tram. The lobby was being refurbished while we were there so the reception was in the round room, the girls in there were not as friendly as in some resorts but they seemed to be quite involved in all their paper work. The shuttle bus down to the Kantary hotel is a fun ride there are some nice massage parlours on the way and a nice restaurant on top of the hill with a great view out the back. The staff at the main restaurant were polite and friendly, but if you want to eat at the Top of the Reef restaurant you need to pack some long pants as they will not let you in with even dress shorts. We ate at the Bamboo bar for lunch on a few days and the food and service was excellent as was Uncle Nans Italian restaurant and Laem Panwa. We had dinner on two occasions at Panwa house once on the front porch and once inside the front porch would be my pick of the two, the food was delicious and the service was excellent. There is not a lot to do in the local area but day trips are easily planned, there are plenty of taxis down at the Kantary. Overall this is a great value hotel especially if you can get it on a discount rate from one of the many coupon deals. Tim the English customer relations manager enjoys a chat and is happy to sit down with you and give you the low down on what to do or the local traditions, even if he does prefer Marmite to Vegemite.
Anyhow in summary the Cape Panwa although not the newest of resorts offers great value for money and should be considered for your next trip to Phuket.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms will mean less stairs to get from the lobby to your room, and get a Cape suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates your favourable feedback after your recent stay of 7 nights with us. Your thoughtful mention of attentive and helpful staff has been shared with the team. We look forward to serving you again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our third stay at Cape Panwa and this time we took the family. Check in was fast and we were shown to our rooms which were Cape suites in F block. The kids were very impressed with their room which was part of a family suite as it had its own bathroom and balcony. The rooms were impressive and were kept to a high standard by the maids, one or two small niggles such as a leaking pipe under a hand basin and a basin which would not empty were dealt with on the same day. Breakfast was as good as usual with plenty of choice and no problem with tea or coffee service even when it was very busy, one morning even Tim the customer relations manager helped out! Had a few dinners there and once again both food and service were good and the prices reasonable. The children were treated very well by everybody especially Jennifer and Sandy at the beach café. We did have a few problems with language and wires were crossed a couple of times but you come to expect these things as guests from all over the world stay there and the staff surely can't be expected to communicate with everyone to their satisfaction. Reception was being refurbished but noise was kept to a minimum and free trips to Coral Island and free non-alcoholic cocktails were provided to compensate for any inconvenience. True that there was more rubbish than usual washed up on the beach but we saw it being removed twice along with a general clean up of the whole beach area.
We had to leave at 5.00 am to get to the airport and were allowed to check out the night before and just hand the key cards in when we left. A boxed breakfast was provided for each of us which was a pleasant surprise.
All in all another very nice holiday at the Cape Panwa especially the kids which loved the pools and the warm sea. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is always pleased to hear from one of our regulars and learn that your expectations were met for an enjoyable and pleasant 3rd stay with us. Your thoughtful mention of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff and management, by name, position, or location has been shared with them. We look forward to your soonest return and thank you for your informative feedback which should be useful to other readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world’s most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the hotel is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive beach. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated, sea facing suites and pool villas. A part of the Cape Collection, Thailand's premier luxury chain of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, the Cape Panwa Hotel is a little part of Paradise. Cape Panwa Beach-Perfect for year around Phuket’s south western winds blow from May until October making the seas on the west coast quite rough. However, the seas on the east coast, especially at Cape Panwa, are sheltered and calm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Panwa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.